WTF AFRICA-WIFE SEH DI HUSBAND NUH PAY NO RENT

He Borrows Money From Me And Refuses To Pay, Made Me Pay Our Rent For The Past 13 Yrs’

A woman, Olaide Aderemi, has dragged her husband, Kazeem before Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State.

Olaide, a mother of two, alleged that her husband has proved over the years that he is irresponsible and unreliable.

According to the plaintiff, the defendant was indifferent to their survival.

Olaide in her divorce suit stated that she had been responsible for the running of their home since the outset of their marriage.

She told the court she was no longer willing to carry her husband’s responsibility and thus prayed the court to rule that they go their different ways.

Kazeem did not show up in court despite been served a court summon and also a court hearing.

The court president, Chief Ademola Odunade, giving his judgment after he had heard the plaintiff and considering the fact that the defendant failed to show up in court which, according to him, showed he was no more interested in their marriage, dissolved their union.

Odunade granted custody of their two children to the plaintiff and ordered the defendant to be in charge of their upkeep.

The defendant was mandated to give the plaintiff N10,000 every month for their children’s feeding and be responsible for their education and health care.

A copy of the judgment was ordered to be served him.

Olaide said: “My lord, I’ve been shouldering the responsibility of two people for 13 years. Kazeem abandoned his duties at home and this challenge I took up in order to sustain our marriage and hold our home.

“Kazeem has failed as the head of the home. He shows our children no care and likewise displays no affection or intimacy towards me. My lord, I went into marriage loving my husband with all my heart, but as at today, the love is gone because he has not dealt well with me.

“I have been running our home since the outset of our marriage because Kazeem failed in all his promises towards me.

“All that my husband knows to do is to boast that he’s the head of the family and demand to be respected but he detached himself from the responsibility that comes with the position.

“My lord, I’m the one who has been paying the house rent since we got married because Kazeem is not bothered if we are sent packing by our landlord.

“My husband did not know when and how I enrolled our children in school. He doesn’t even know their classes.

“My lord, after ensuring our children are well fed, my other priority is paying their school fees because I hate to have them sent home by their school. I, therefore, work round the clock to ensure these fees are paid as at when due,” she said.

The plaintiff added that: “Kazeem is in the habit of borrowing money from me and would fail to make a refund.

“He would promise heaven and earth and would swear by anything but when it was time to pay, he would start wearing a stern look and make himself unapproachable in other to discourage me from asking for my money.

“My lord, I believe it is best that you separate us because my children and I don’t feel his presence at home. It is better to be alone than have a nuisance like my husband hanging around me,” she concluded.