WTF AFRICA-HUSBAND SEH WIFE STONE HIM

She Accused Me Of Infidelity, Hauled Stones At Me, Almost Stabbed Me With A Knife —Man

Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State has adjourned a divorce suit brought before it by a man, Oluwatosin Bakare against his wife, Enitan Bakare.

Oluwatosin alleged that his seven-year-old marriage to his wife had been a turbulent one. According to him, apart from the fact that their union had produced no children, his wife had made life hellish for him. The plaintiff stated that his wife had no regard for him. He added that she was troublesome, violent and was always accusing him of infidelity.

The plaintiff, as such, prayed the court to dissolve their union so that he could move on with life.

Enitan, when the claim was read to her, refused to agree to claim.

“My lord, I’ve had enough of my wife’s excesses and atrocities. I’m no longer interested in staying married to her. I, therefore, plead for divorce before she kills me, “the plaintiff told the court.

“My wife doesn’t have trust in me and is always accusing me of infidelity. I once came home late as a result of the prevailing fuel scarcity experienced by the nation then. Rather than being sympathetic of my plight, she accused me going to sleep with another woman.

“My lord, she fought me that night and threatened to kill me. When I realised she meant her words, I locked myself up in the kitchen from 1:00 am to 4:00 am. She sat there in front of the kitchen door for the three hours raking and swearing to deal with me. She finally gave up when I refused to come out.

“I later made calls to two of my friends, pleading that they come to my rescue. They both arrived around 5:45 am and I went home with one of them.

“She reported me to our pastor in church who mediated in our differences and helped in reconciling us. My lord, not long after this, she again accused me of dating another sister in the church and fought me.

“I had to leave home and started sleeping in the church because she made our home too hot for me. She came to where I slept in church, removed my coverlet and slapped me several times, “he added.

“At another time, she ran after me into the street after we had just had a strong argument. She drew the attention of passers-by to me as she kept shouting and calling me thief on top of her voice. She alleged that I stole her handset. I was almost lynched by these passersby.

My husband wanted to use me, our 3 kids for rituals, divorce-seeking wife tells court
“I moved back to church again and she came after me. Being a violent person, she hurled stones at me and would have stabbed me with a knife but for church members who came to my rescue.

“She left but came back with her elder brother to destroy the church property and beat up members, “he concluded.

Giving her evidence, Enitan told the court, “My lord, I don’t accept claim my husband has brought against me because we got legally married in the registry.”

She added that, “My lord, my husband is a man every woman would pray to marry. The only problem we have with our marriage is his pastor who he allows to control our home. He told my husband to stay away from me and his extended family and he took to his counsel. This is one of the reasons we fight every now and then.

“His pastor once sought financial assistance from me which I turned down. It was my husband’s lover who lent him the money and he has since then stood against my marriage to my husband and has been encouraging my husband to contract another marriage with his lover. My husband and I fight day and night because of this woman. She once accused me of getting married to my husband through diabolic means.

“My lord, it is true I drew a knife at him. I did so as a form of self defense because he had almost snuffed life out of me.

“My lord, I also admit to hauling stones at him. I was retaliating after he beat me and I bled from the ear, “the defendant said.

Ruling after listen to the evidence of parties, the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Abgaje stated that more evidence would be needed.

Ruling, he adjourned the case till April 4 and ordered both parties to come to court on the next adjourned their parents.