WTF AFRICA- HUSBAND SEH WIFE GIVE HIM EMPTY PLATE

She Starves Me Of Sex, Put Money In Empty Plate For Me As Food —Man

An Ado-Ekiti Customary Court in Ekiti State has dissolved the 21-year-old marriage between a couple, Kolawole Mathew and his wife, Ajoke Mathew over threat to life.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the marriage was dissolved on grounds of frequent fight, lack of care and threat to life.

Mathew, 59, a resident of No. 14, Ifelere Omisajana in Ado-Ekiti, told the court that his wife’s behaviour changed when he started attending different women’s clubs.

The plaintiff stated that any time he and his wife had a misunderstanding, she would starve him of both food and sex.

He told the court that, “If I give her money to prepare food, she will put the money on a plate and put it on the table for me.

“This habit gradually became a tradition. She constantly refused to prepare me food which sometimes went as far as a month.

“I once reported her to one of our neighbours, who is my friend; he counseled Ajoke but she refused to change.

“I was fed twice by my friend’s family and felt ashamed on both occasions.

“Ajoke once threatened to get rid of me within a week. Her parents felt horrified when they heard this and intervened in our differences but she remained adamant.

“There was also a time I felt sick and my girlfriend came to greet me, after she left, my wife and our son insulted me.

“Ajoke has stopped greeting me and this has been so for some years,” Mathew explained.

The plaintiff, therefore, urged the court to dissolve their union so that he could have peace of mind.

The respondent, Ajoke, 52, a resident of No. 14, Ifelere, Omisajana in Ado-Ekiti, denied the allegation brought against her that she refused to prepare food for her husband.

She told the court she was already a member of different women’s clubs before she met her husband.

ALSO READ: Nigeria Likely To Record More Cases Of Coronavirus, NCDC Says

Ajoke admitted also that when her husband`s girlfriend came to visit him, she refused to greet her and that she fought her.

“There was a time my husband`s girlfriend told me that my husband said if I do not leave his house, he will kill me.

“My husband and I once had an argument and I reported him to his sister, but she insulted me.

“Each time I greeted my husband, he would refuse to answer me and would always curse me.

The respondent, however, supported the separation of the union.

The court president, Mrs Olayinka Akomolede, observed that their marriage had broken down irretrievably.

Akomolede, consequently, dissolved their marriage.

According to her, their only child, a 19-year-old, Abayomi, is an adult and should therefore decide who he wanted to live with between both parents.

She ordered the respondent to ensure that their son apologise to his father for his unruly behaviour.