WTF AFRICA-HUSBAND SEH WIFE A BIG SPENDER

A retired civil servant, Lawrence Adeyemi, on Monday, sought the dissolution of his 19-year-old marriage to Sadia before the Mapo Customary Court, Ibadan, alleging that his wife was a chronic debtor.

Lawrence, who lives in the Olunde area of the Oyo State capital, said his wife was a compulsive debtor.

The News Agency of Nigeria quoted him as saying, “The worrisome aspect of the issue is that she is fond of borrowing. My Lord, it is as if Sadia married me to pay her debts.

“The worst of it all is that she detests seeing the children I had before I married her. Sadia doesn’t take care of me whenever I fall ill.”

The respondent, however, opposed the suit and prayed the court not to dissolve the union.

She said, “Please my Lord, I love my husband, because he takes care of me and the children.

“The children he had with his first wife are the root cause of our problems, because they don’t want me to take the place of their mother.”

The President of the Customary Court, Chief Ademola Odunade, dissolved the marriage and granted Lawrence the custody of the three children produced by the union.

He ordered the plaintiff to pay N5,000 to the respondent to enable her move her things out of his house.