INDECOM PROBING TEACHER’S DEATH

Dead-house-SLD
SANTA CRUZ, St Elizabeth — The Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM) yesterday evening joined the St Elizabeth police as they struggled to piece together a puzzle surrounding the death, apparently by poisoning, of Kerry-Ann Powell, a 30-year-old teacher at Park Mountain Primary School, just west of this south-central town.
Powell’s boyfriend (name withheld) — with whom she and her twin daughters shared a home in the Horizon Park housing estate in Santa Cruz — is in hospital in stable condition suffering from the effects of what appeared to be chemical poisoning, police say.
INDECOM said it was probing the incident because one of three suspects is a member of the police force.
The three suspects, INDECOM said, are in police custody.
Reports from relatives and friends of the victims say the two adults were up and getting ready for work and school some time shortly after daylight when, according to the boyfriend, two men and a woman entered the house.
The boyfriend, described by neighbours as a truck operator, reportedly said he was “sprayed” in the face with some sort of chemical and fled in panic to the bathroom to wash it off. He later exited the bathroom to find that Powell had been forced to ingest a substance of some kind.
Neighbours say both victims were heard crying for “murder” and “help”. They were reportedly rushed to hospital where she succumbed. The two children were not hurt, relatives and neighbours say.
The boyfriend was said by neighbours to have separated from his wife, who moved out some time ago. Neighbours said Powell had moved in with him in recent months.
Head of the St Elizabeth police, Superintendent Lanford Salmon, told the Jamaica Observer that his team was diligently probing the incident but that information was “sketchy” and confusing.
“What I can confirm is that a woman is dead and it seems to be connected to something toxic. I can also confirm that a man is in hospital in connection with the same incident,” Salmon said.
When the Observer visited the house in the early afternoon yesterday, a police forensic team was on hand.
And at Park Mountain Primary School, about a mile west of Santa Cruz, teachers and children were in shock and grief.
Principal Karlene Williams Heath showed the Observer graphic artwork done by Powell’s grade three class following news of her death. Most pieces carried ‘I love you’ captions with at least two appearing to depict their teacher in a coffin.
“The teachers and children are devastated. We are trying to cope, but it is very difficult,” said Williams Heath.
She described the deceased as “a pleasant teacher” and a team player. “She was excited about her students, someone who … you could depend on her, when she is given a role, she just wants to understand what to do, she will do it. She will be sadly missed…,” she said.
INDECOM has appealed to anyone with information that can assist with the investigation to call its Central Regional Office in Mandeville at 876-961-1542, or call its mobile number — 876-878-0167, or toll free: 888-991-5555 or 888-935-5550.

0 thoughts on “INDECOM PROBING TEACHER’S DEATH

1. Oh WOW, She moved in the house that the wife moved out of, Who knows, Maybe the Wife helped build the house with the husband. Whichever way, RIP Young lady.

1. :nerd, Wah u really ah seh Anon? People leave each odah all di time . di ex goodaz all innah ah house weh a next man and fi exwife/girl build..dat nuh gi dem no right fi du wah dem du to di woman and ah police involve too…? U statement sound like ah justification and if ah suh it nuh rite at all

1. No, I am not trying to justify this senseless killing, I was just saying the ex wife moved out and she moved in so yeah it could be the ex wife who did this to Her. RIP young lady.

2. Suh aa di exwife a police or wah? What ah horrible ting douh sah!! ah hope husband will be able to spot dem..Jah know sad.may her srip

3. AH DI EX WIFE DOING THIS SHE SAME ONE BARGE IN WID D TWO MAN DEM AN DI BOYFREN WELL N KNOW WHAT IW OULD LIKE TO KNOW IS WHEN THE HELL DID HE HAVE TIME TO GO TOTHE BATHROOM AND WASH OFF FACE IF PPL A COME FI MURDER DEM ??? THAT DOE MEK NO FORM AH SENSE :hoax2

4. Suh mi seh too dah part nuh sound rite but it possible caz of dem spray him yei immah guh run fi watah. but how im get weh and run and woman still left our deh..smdh

5. That story is not believable at all. They sprayed your eye with chemical and u ran to the bathroom to wash it off?? How did you see to get to the bathroom? Y did they spray you and made her eat poison? To many questions that need answers.

1. I do believe that. Sure he made them spray him with the poison to make it look legit. And me sure he there screaming more muder and help to make to neighbors hear him so he seem like the victim.

6. hings are never what they seem. That subdivision is probably 95% returning residence. There is a lot more to this story than meets the eye. Why would the intruders spray the occupants with poisonous substance instead of shooting/stabbing them? Makes no sense whatsoever. They also left a witness, which led to these three people being arrested so quickly. I guess we will hear about the real motives in due course.

7. This is a tragedy and the poor children are the ones who will feel it the most.
    The thing about this story dat puzzling is the boyfriend’s statement that the two men entered the house, how dem entered? dem just walk een from an open door, dem had dem own key, dem broke in? A duppies dem was, how come no neighbour nuh hear car peel off, or strange ppl in di community? Boyfriend a suspect#1 fi me, sorry.

8. Wife should be the #1 suspect even though the husband is still to be questioned. Such an horrific thing to do hot climate but very frigid hearts in Jam dung. When ppl talk about walking the straight and narrow Jamaica deh a di top a that list it’s like u can’t step on anyone’s toe or ur snuffed out.
    SMH!!!

9. Normally during a home invasion, the man is targeted and dealt with harsher than the woman, why would they induced her with poison & just spray him with chemical – maybe a little pepper spray to irritate the eyes? In my own estimation, I think, either this is a scheme by the ex-wife, who is out for revenge, or a murder plot by the man. Either way, he knows more than he is saying. Nuh man nah bruk in & kill d woman & leave d man unscathed or with minor injuries, yuh man, unless as I suspect is a former lover of his who is desperate to get back at him. INDECOM u need to take a closer look at the man.