ELDERLY COUPLE KILLED IN MANCHESTER WERE RETURNING RESIDENTS

Family members of an elderly Manchester couple who were found dead Monday are still trying to come to grips with the vicious attack.
Lansil Gregory, 71, and his 74-year-old wife, Corita, who returned to Jamaica from the United States, were chopped to death at their home in the rural community of Edinburgh.
A relative of the family, Alwyn Gregory, told OBSERVER ONLINE Wednesday that he believes that robbery was not the only motive when the couple’s lives were snuffed out.
He explained that suspicions were raised when calls to the home late Sunday went unanswered.
Following reports to the police, Gregory said he visited the couple’s home where he saw droplets of blood on the verandah.
Continues on page 2

16 thoughts on “ELDERLY COUPLE KILLED IN MANCHESTER WERE RETURNING RESIDENTS

1. Such a sad tale that happens far too much. Bible seh you fi come out of the cities, but it look like the rural areas dem even worse than the cities. I truly hope their families and loved ones find the strength to carry on. Hope the culprits are found and justice served.

2. So the killer(s) locked the grille after committing the robbery? The family members should be looked at closely, since I don’t think robbery was the motive. Maybe there should have retired to Florida instead of go back to Jamaica. Returning residents are prime targets for these freeloaders who think you owe them something.

3. this has been happening for years, they trail them from the airport and rob and kill them, it mostly happens to the elderly.

4. boy Met it sad mi run away to live a better life and one day would love to return home and get old …..but every year mi wake up and hear the news from back home and realize that ‘ I AM HOMELESS “

1. me too not u one…mi feel a little shame fi seh im beginning to hate the place but I am…cold blooded killers walking around and no justice or end in slight

5. Me not even want cuss no badword inno. them ppl ya too whats it not claat wicked inno.
    Them nuh understand how them things yah affect ppl, me know a close relative of the family and the man deh pon him work a drive truck pon the highway and hear and couldn’t even move the truck one more foot.Him Just shut down, him could a frighten and drive the trailer and kill off ppl inno.

6. The dream of retiring in the Caribbean is quickly floating away. Every time I read these stories I think of my mom and her friend who may discover they can’t always go home.
    This sick my stomach

7. Very very sad. Mi ah build one likkle ting and hope fi tell Merika “get lost” in di next 10 years…but like mi stand ah betta chance wid di cold and racism yah. Dis painful :sorry

8. This sad bad…one time my madda plan fi go back live ah yaad afta shi retire…but when dem sumin stawt happen, shi quickly change har mine..what ah damn shame.
    Smaddy seh is trail dem trail dem fram di airport anna true ting..ah suh dem operate. Saying dem wikid not even do it justice. Mi get chills just ah tink bout it…dem live dem life, werk dem money an come ah yaad fi dead suh…

9. @Mint Tea, well if dem trail mi sure di police must can study the video footage and see which vehicle move off with them.
    This happens quite a bit for various reasons. We Jamaicans too quick to kill and way too many of us are willing to kill. I met many (mid 20s) uneducated young men and trust me these guys are ready to go – hungry to kill. And it’s sad to see.
    Returning residents get killed often and the smart ones are better off moving into a gated community if they can afford it. So many cases of gruesome killings. I know a woman who is doing good and her son freshly released from prison already threaten to kill her (one of those spanish town dogs) anytime him buck har – him probably blame har fi di crime him commit lol. I know another woman who had a gun pulled on her because she went to Jamaica questioned her brother who lied about burying a relative..The boy find funeral and tek pics, but when she reached somebody ask how comes X get burned (meaning no funeral – so body get cremated) .. She was so surprised and obviously pissed – went to the boy and bam…he pulled gun on her and seh how she deh a farrin a live life and man dung yah a suffer … her Brother – dem nigga yah deh pon something else, afta him thief out di sugar him a threaten to burn dung di house..mi not even can understand where dem nigga yah get dem upbringings..it’s amazing to see lol. And she naw live no life at all – just surviving. So the troubles so call farrinas face is extensive beyond imagination. You are prime target to everyone, every relative see you differently…Even friends, I had one apologize about throwing a stone in my back – when I was 5, he was older..like 8-9 because I left dem playing and went to eat my dinner..there smiling and saying sorry, and i’m thinking to myself if him really believe I forgot what is at his core ? Di whole a dem done get mark and studied and mi nuh trust not one a dem.. These same friends will set you up if dem nuh think you a deal wid dem proper etc…
    I know of many cases which even included a beheading over hearsey that uncle who came down suppose to run money because father say so..Uncle came and build house and a sport round so the nephew cut off him head quick quick – this story was national news too – with the british family dissing up Jamaican police.
    The robberies can be so traumatic to some families and most cases after one incident the family packs up and leave. Hurt the community – every business around too – one less customer who can spend money inna the community. I am lucky that I come from a very peaceful place but even so i’m not excited to live out my days there.

10. When you have wealth and assets. I do not think that anybody is safe anywhere in the world. All even in the US, Canada and the UK. It is a fact that in poorer countries they go hard with it. That is why more time me move like a pauper.

11. Noone doubts that the foreign exchange that returning residents bring back to Jamaica would improve Jamaica Nevertheless, the risk of losing their lives seems to be an obstacle to any significant migration. Words of welcome back home are insufficient to address the problem
    It appears that the Govt.is going to need the help of the community Set up hotlines, offer incentives ( money, food, books etc.)There must be an unrelenting focus on the problem Crimes like those rarely go unnoticed abroad.
    My condolences to the family and friends of the victims.