COMMISSIONER CONDEMNS KILLING OF POLICE INSPECTOR

Commissioner of Police Dr Carl Williams and the Police High Command are strongly condemning the killing of Inspector Mark Gibbs, who succumbed to injuries he received in a hit-and-run on the Clarks Town main road in Falmouth, Trelawny, on Friday.

In a release from the Jamaica Constabulary Force’s Corporate Communications Unit, Dr Williams is quoted as saying: “Even as the JCF is mourning the loss of another member under such tragic circumstances, which seems to be a blatant attack on our members, I want to implore officers to remain resolute in the performance of their duties, be vigilant, take swift and decisive action to protect themselves, family, colleagues, and members of the public within the remit of the law”.

Inspector Gibbs was the sub-officer in charge of the Clarks Town Police Station in Trelawny.

Reports are that at about 4:51 pm, the inspector was part of a team conducting a vehicular checkpoint when he signalled the driver of a burgundy Toyota Corolla motor car to stop.

police
The driver reportedly disobeyed, mowed down the inspector on the side of the road and sped away.

The police inspector was taken to hospital where he was pronounced dead.

Investigators have since located the motor car hidden in bushes in the Clarks Town area. One man suspected to be the driver is now in police custody.

However, the police say his identity is being withheld pending further investigations.

Inspector Gibbs’ death is the second incident within the space of seven days where a motorist killed a police officer. Constable Mark Rose was hit by a motor vehicle while trying the cross the road in Jobs Lane, Spanish Town, St Catherine, last Friday.

The police are appealing to anyone who may have witnessed or has any information about any of these incidents to come forward by contacting Crime Stop at 311, the police 119 emergency number or the nearest police station.

4 thoughts on “COMMISSIONER CONDEMNS KILLING OF POLICE INSPECTOR

1. the second incident other police was there conducting spot check left or write so… it’s FRIDAY that’s enough witness inspector play u las parados,r.i.p. daily ppl complain bout being ask wa u cn do fi uself, order of the day in Jamaica, one died last year ran out and couldn’t get out of the way
    in time

2. Jamaica Is the only place i see police run out inna di road fi stop a moving vehicle…dat means if the driver don’t decide to stop, the police get lick dung or jump outa di road..smh

1. It happen amerikkka too. Bitch gave me a $425 ticket, all now dem no limb down the leafy branch blocking the sign indicating school zone.

Yeah, me insurance high no frig because me did rather pay the ticket and move on…every month fi the past 3 years me reminded of that speed trap and ticket.

:rose: Condolences from one family to another :rose: