2YO EXECUTED DOWN TOWN

2-y-o boy killed ‘execution style’ downtown Kingston
BY TANESHA MUNDLE Observer staff reporter [email protected]

Thursday, August 25, 2016 4 Comments

Print this page Email A Friend!

A picture of Demario Whyte who was killed on Luke Lane (Kenyon Hemans)

The shocking execution-style killing of a toddler on Luke Lane in downtown Kingston, on Tuesday night, has left residents in the community in fear and outrage.

According to relatives, two-year-old Demario Whyte was shot in his head at point-blank range by the gunman after his injured father left him at the gate while trying to escape the gunman’s bullet.

The boy along with his father and uncle were shot after gunmen drove into the community and started firing on the corner where the men were sitting around 8:30 pm.

The child’s father was reportedly shot twice in his foot and once in the stomach while his brother was shot in the face. Both men are said to be in stable condition at the Kingston Public Hospital.

BABY

Yesterday, when the Jamaica Observer visited the community the grief was obvious as residents stared into space while others openly shed tears and expressed anger at the gunman’s heartless behaviour.

The area was also lined with pieces of black cloth indicating that the community was in mourning.

The toddlers’ grandaunt, who identified herself only as Taneisha, told the Observer that she, relatives and neighbours were on the road when a black car drove up.

“Me deh deh and mi see the car stop and wi just think a come dem come fi buy stuff cause a one shop deh deh but den wi hear the shot dem start fire.

“So we run go inna di yard and me a cry out because mi know my kids were on the street, one whole heap a kids were on the street,” she said.

According to Tanei sha, she heard her sister crying out for her son and when she looked out she saw a baby at the gate but did not know that he was her grandnephew.

However, Taneisha said she could not rescue him as shots were being fired.

“Mi nephew sit down on the bench right there so and mi other nephew him (the gunman) shot him inna him face and him run go down the street and the other one run go inside the house and he had the baby but because him get shot its like he couldn’t make it so him put down the baby right there and him say when him look back dem shot the baby and the baby drop inna the gutter and him run inna the yard and start cry.”

Taneisha said her nephew who only returned to the community from Harbour View about five months ago, since the child’s mother left for an overseas work programme, has blamed himself for the death of his son and has been crying a lot.

“Him nuh stop cry, is him only child and is the only child for the mother. Him always deh on the verandah with the baby and every night a him put him to bed and have him pon him shoulder a shake him till him go sleep, no night no pass and him no put him to bed,” she recalled.

While Taneisha spoke some residents sat looking off in space while others expressed anger at the men.

“Right now everybody lost,” one woman said.

“How you fi look pon a baby and put a gun to him head and kill him?” another one questioned.

“Joyce say a God angel dem kill and dem affi dead,” another woman said.

However, while the residents grieved they expressed dissatisfaction with the response of the police who they claimed visited the home and tore down their gate.

“This morning de police dem come and all kick off the whole gate dem naa identify demself, dem just kick off the whole gate.

“We fraid and yuh a kick off the gate, drop off the gate, how we ago sleep tonight,” Taneisha asked.

The residents also complained that despite the recent flare up of violence in Central Kingston the police have not been maintaining a presence in the community and called for greater police presence.

“Dem know wa a happen in the community and dem should a all a circle inna de community cause killing gwaan from the other day,” she said.

The police, however, have refuted the resident’s claim regarding their presence in the community.

An investigating officer from Central Police Station told the Observer that the police have been patrolling the area and that on the night of the shooting was in the area and engaged the gunmen in a gun battle but they escaped.

However, he said the police are following strong leads and that from preliminary investigations it appears that the attack was as a result of an ongoing gang feud.

30 thoughts on “2YO EXECUTED DOWN TOWN

1. Central did a gwan good, so how it a flare up so?

As fi de people dem…unu some worthless set of human beings! Unu hug up criminality fi likkle and nothing while the babies pay the price with their lives!

Me weep fi this innocent and ask all unseen forces fi dispatch justice with haste and in the wickedest of ways to all involved, bystanders with information and not sharing included….selah!

2. No heart, this is just too sad, for someone to put a gun at a 2yr old head and pull the trigger My God. My country gone to the dogs. May his soul rest in piece.

3. Lord have mercy!! I could care less if the father was a criminal or did you wrong… That’s a separate issue. It’s already TERRIBLE to know that you are willing to fire shots wildly in open area occupied with children, even sad to learn you are willing to kill a parent in front of a child but to turn your gun and MURDER an innocent child….. Bwuoyyyyy mi a tell yuh. You deserve a level lower than hell. Completely disgusted. God, please welcome this baby into your palace with open arms, amen.

1. Hey beautiful soul!! @needleeye
      I’ve been scrambling around in real life as classes have begun and juggling additional responsibilities at work soooooo it’s been hard to visit my favorite blog. Things stabilizing now so I’m trying to catch back up

4. I am really hoping that these individuals who saw the events can identify these gunmen to the Police because if Police were involved they would be able to identify badge number and all. Sad day in Jamaica when you can look a baby in the face and shoot him just suh.

1. Anon, They won’t say a word. Notice how fast the blame shift to the police? This is the everyday living of the adults. The police exhaust all manner of crime prevention/manpower in this area, but is the residents that run it to grung along wid de MPs.

Couple JUTC busses should go through de and collect all the children so the adults can kill off each other and done, then we can lick dung and rebuild the communities to ensure quality of life and good riddance to human rubbish.

5. I was truly hoping Met did meck mistake pan di age inna di title. God knows mi cyaa even finish read di article.

1. Dem have a ting fi shot young children a Central. I notice a pattern SO Tivoli people no fi bawl when unu young get do up…unu man dem is a bunch a coke heads. Livity, how much yu sniff an smoke from morning? See why yu Neva get main man role…phucking faggot coke head.

6. mi heart a bleed when mi read whaa Jamaica come to. At least back inna fimi time gun man no kill ole people and pickney. Dis yah new generation of murderers is on another level. Hang dem inna half way tree square and leff di body fi jankrow come pick pick pon it. Prison too good for these animals whey a call dem self human. when them find this animal no carry him go station. hang him from the nearest tree and peel off it skin one inch at a time. keep him alive and torture till it beg for death. show him the same mercy he showed that poor baby.

7. When you read a story like this, personally I think the death penalty should be brought back for a vicious act like this.

8. After his injured father left him at the gate while trying to escape the gunman’s bullet. After u or your bro go get mix up inna whatever u run lef yuh pickney. I would rather die there with my child. You gamble on his life thinking they would have spare him. Caah catch cowco them catch dem ketch shirt.U live to tell the tales.So I hope u tell who send the hit or carry it out. Killers like those don’t need jail or death penalty. Slow torture. SIP babyboy. :angel

9. Sleep in peace babyboy. Condolences to the family especially the poor mother who was probably trying to create a better life for her child while she was away. Poor woman not coming back to see her baby.

10. The cubans and spandlers them a war…. The man them wey sey zeeks kill a youth from the cubans like 4 months ago n them tek them revenge Tuesday night it sad bad. Mi cousin who live in a matthews lane call and a cry to me when it happen.sey she fraid bad, the man them a tek coke and a gwaan with them f***y. Being a mother mi feel it.

11. OMG, inna real life????, CAN HUMAN BEIN BE SO FCUKING EVIL….NO MAN I REFUSE TO BELEIVE IT…..TOO SAD…RIP BABY BOY…DEM TIME AGO COME…

12. This sad bad.i hope this guy break that mentality that exist of keeping mum because you know your hand not clean.Dont make your child life go in vain.I hope they relocate them but then again you can’t even trust the police at times because them same one go talk and next you hear the family missing other them finish them off some how.
    This is so sad

1. Stfu! Keep your bullshit to your self about police rah or Tay!!!!! The life of a baby value more than your bullshit. Crooked police gain power from the likes of you discouraging people from doing good.

you hear nobody say police tell where the main witness in the kartel case residing? Stop pred propaganda!!! Witnesses give away dem life when dem break rules #FACTS and a parent should be willing fi dead fi dem pickney.

13. @ bright eyes. I strongly believe you are blind as a bat with no hindsight whatsoever and lacking empathy for a next human being. Keep your rip for your messed up soul. Bout kaint ketch *cowco* hell bearers like you can keep your sympathy..

14. @ BAD SOH I don’t see u so lowe mi out. Cause at the end of the day u can’t tell me what to do or say. So kindly chuck between your father leg.

15. The police only purpose a fi lock off dance and harass taxi man. That’s what all their efforts are concentrated on. The more important issues that the country’s facing are being ignored by the police. A night time dem run out inna formation fi go lock off dance when shot a buss inna countless places. Now dem take it more serious whey dem all a arrest promoter now if dem go even 5 min pass 2 with them party. Where are our priorities? When u fix the biggest problem the country is facing, den u can start focus pon taxi man and street dance.