Pregnant woman chided by hospitals did not have COVID-19 

The 23-year-old who died under controversial circumstances shortly after giving birth on Friday, April 24, has tested negative for COVID-19.

Jodiann Fearon was refused admission at a private hospital and two public hospials after she had presented flu-like symptoms. 

However, her doctor revealed in a radio interview that her tests for COVID-19 were negative. 

Fearon’s family is claiming that discrimination in the island’s health sector may have contributed towards her demise.

Fearon, who was days away from celebrating her birthday, went to a private hospital in the corporate area last week to have her baby. 

She was displaying flu-like symptoms, and was suspected of having the coronavirus. She eventually did a COVID-19 test, which has since returned as being negative. 

Fearon’s family had noted prior that she did not travel overseas recently, did not attend work for weeks, and did not come in contact with anyone who tested positive or COVID-19.

Fearon’s private doctor explained that the private hospital where his patient first went to have the baby said it lacked the equipment to treat her, especially considering the flu-like symptoms.

The private doctor explained that he tried to get his patient into two other medical facilities in the Corporate Area; the University Hospital of the West Indies and Victoria Jubilee Hospital.

She was turned down at both. 

Victoria Jubille reportedly said it did not have enough beds to accommodate the then expectant Fearon.

The Spanish Town Hospital in St. Catherine eventually accepted Fearon, but not before spending some time to prepare an area for the patient suspected of having COVID-19.

She had her baby at the Spanish Town-based hospital, but she had to be transferred to University Hospital of the West Indies, where she died.

Meanwhile, Minister of Health and Wellness Dr Christopher Tufton says an investigation has been ordered into Fearon’s death.

The health minister also announced that the new born child is in stable condition in hospital.

In a message shared on social media, Tufton said that no person should ever be denied access to healthcare and the results of the investigation will be made available to the public once it is completed.

6 thoughts on “Pregnant woman chided by hospitals did not have COVID-19 

1. Lawsuit!! Imagine paying so much money at a private hospital and they turn you away. It would be easier to quarantine her there than at Spanish Town hospital that eventually took her Gross negligence. A woman’s body goes through a lot during pregnancy and delivery can be tough as well. I can just imagine the stress, labour pains she was going through. Sad all around. Child growing up without its mother, friend’s and family grieving. SMH

2. If me deh Jamaica and me foot bruk me a lef wid di bruk foot pon a flight. Me sorry. I love my island with all my heart, but these stories are so frustrating.