POLICE TOLD DJANGO ACTRESS SHE WAS PULLING RACE CARD

7796ab80-3cf3-11e4-97ca-5fd5cdf0a9e1_daniele-watts-Optimized
New audio has emerged of “Django Unchained” actress Daniele Watts furiously refusing to cooperate with Los Angeles police officers asking for identification while responding to a complaint that two people were involved in “lewd acts” inside a parked silver Mercedes on Sunday.
“You know how many times the cops have been called just because I’m black and he’s white?” Watts said in audio obtained by TMZ. “I’m just being really honest, sir.”
HEAR THE AUDIO HERE.
“Who brought up a race card? I never said nothing about you being black,” the officer, Sgt. Jim Parker, responds before eventually adding: ”Thank you for bringing up the race card. I never hear that.”
View gallery
Daniele Watts and her boyfriend, Brian Lucas (Facebook)
Watts insists she was only “making out” with boyfriend Brian James Lucas, a celebrity chef, but TMZ reports witnesses inside the Directors Guild office building told police they saw the couple having sex in the passenger seat of the vehicle, with the door open.
Also read: Black TV Producer Mistaken for Bank Robber: Beverly Hills PD ‘Deeply Regrets’ Error
The patrol officers and sergeant of the LAPD’s North Hollywood Division responded to the 11900 block of Ventura Boulevard in Studio City on Sunday. Authorities said the officers “located two individuals that matched the description of the suspects, and they were briefly detained.”
“Upon further investigation it was determined that no crime had been committed. Ms. Watts and her companion were subsequently released,” the authorities said in a statement.
AUDIO HERE
An internal complaint investigation has been initiated regarding the incident, which Sgt. Parker told Watts should have only taken “five minutes” if she would have offered her ID, as Lucas did without any complaint.
“I want to see your ID. Somebody called, which gives me the right to be here, so it gives me the right to identify you by law,” Sgt. Parker says. “I’m going to get your ID one way or the other.”
“I’d already be gone,” Sgt. Parker tells Lucas after Watts storms off.
Watts is eventually placed in handcuffs for leaving the scene, and it’s during what the officers said was legal detainment that Watts continues to accuse both those who called the police and the police of being racist.
“I bet there is at least one person up there that is a racist. I bet you,” Watts said. “I bet you’re a little bit racist.”
Also read: Wrongfully Detained Black TV Producer’s Arrest Record Probably Won’t Go Away
Watts told CNN during an appearance on Monday (above) that she refused to offer up her ID because she believes “in freedom.”
“If I’m within my amendment rights, my constitutional rights to say no unless you’re charging me with a crime, I will not be giving you my ID,” Watts said. “That is a right that I stand up for because of the shoulders that I stand on, because of the people that fought so hard for their rights that came before me. “Black, white, all people have been fighting for these rights for freedom. It’s beyond race at this point.”
CNN’s Michaela Pereira informed Watts that police in the state of California are permitted to detain an individual for a reasonable amount of time to attain identification if they have reasonable suspicion a crime was committed.
“I still feel strongly like I didn’t have to,” Watts said. “In my opinion, it’s not a crime to be fully clothed showing affection on a public street in our own car. If we’re fully clothed — it doesn’t matter how passionately we’re making out — it’s my right and my pleasure to enjoy myself.”

0 thoughts on “POLICE TOLD DJANGO ACTRESS SHE WAS PULLING RACE CARD

1. with the ID she is correct she don’t have to show them her ID, For showing an ID: The answer is NO, except ONLY under extremely limited circumstances (detention with “reasonable, articulate suspicion” during a Terry stop” OR when being detained under “probable cause” for the commission of a crime

2. And they were not pulling the race card? What made them believe that these two could not have been in a relationship? They believed that simply because she is black? Int heir minds she could not have any legitimate reason to be in the company of a white man for any other reason than sale of the flesh, it is they who need to stop using the race card.

1. Met, mumma, it sad when a Black woman cannot be seen as a legitimate companion fi a man who is not of her race. It mean seh Black women are not considered a contender, it mean seh dem value is considered lower than that of another woman of another race because no man can seriously teck her as him life partner except dem black. ppl nuh get di root of what dis whole ordeal is. But I nah seh nutten yah, cause mi nuh plan fi come back pon earth fiddi next incarnation, it will be a different dimension and a different planet..mi tiad a di f**kery pon di earth..mi prefa teck mi chance wid di big head, big yeye gray man dem.

3. and again this situation is very sad but I have to say, the way how them put them self together meaning dress code.. ooun mek anybody woulda look pan dem.. met them dress like some crack head.. some extra bright color shoes and clothes with multiply badge. dem just inna dem own little world a enjoy themselves and and a be free. anybody call police on these couple,, a dem a the prostitute cause them know exactly how prostitute gwaan? all a jamaica now dem wouldn’t even business wid dem, dem woulda just say a two mad ppl and gwaan bout we business.. we wouldn’t even think bout no prostitution.. and den dem wan talk bout We Jamaican, when a dem ignorance a kill

1. But that is LA for you. Di first time I went to LA I was shocked, I thought everyone would like in the movies…lol. I had a quick wake up call real fast, and if you happen to go out to Venice beach a desso you will ketch a reality because stranger wilder looking ppl you will nto find anywhere else..lol Dem dress was typical LA laid back street look.

4. unfortunately you DO have to show your id. Most situations fall under the definition that was stated above… You Dont have to answer any of them rass questions though. just ask them if you are being detained? yes or no question and they need to already have a reason for that and not be looking for one.