ISNT THE U.S EMBASSY GOING A TAD BIT TOO FAR BOUT DEM A LIGHT UP FI GAY PRIDE WEEK?

The United States Embassy in Kingston was lit up in the rainbow colours Thursday night to mark PRiDE Week.

PRiDE Week is being promoted by the Lesbians, Gays, Bi-Sexuals and Transgender (LGBT) community.

On Friday, the Canadian High Commission hosted the opening ceremony.

This year, the Jamaica Forum of Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays (J-FLAG) has organised several activities for PRiDE week under the theme, ‘The Pride of People: Celebrating a community of love’.

READ: Pride – Celebrating a community of love

In June, Jamaica’s Attorney General Marlene Malahoo Forte came under pressure following a post she made on Facebook and Twitter denouncing the decision of the US Embassy in Kingston to fly a rainbow flag saying it was against Jamaican laws.

READ: Malahoo Forte under fire

rainbow_embassy

“I strongly condemn the #OrlandoNightClubShooting but I find it disrespectful of Jamaican laws to have #RainbowFlag flown here. #MyPersonalView,” Malahoo Forte posted.

The US Embassy had explained that it was in solidarity with the victims of the Orlando Gay nightclub shooting in which 49 people were shot dead by a man who the police later shot and killed.

Malahoo Forte later deleted the tweet.

12 thoughts on “ISNT THE U.S EMBASSY GOING A TAD BIT TOO FAR BOUT DEM A LIGHT UP FI GAY PRIDE WEEK?

1. We need to start lighting up and flying Russian Flags and all who the US not in favor with!

We already subscribed to Socialist views and use the word comrade with pride. We siding with the wrong phuckers from the 70s. Phuck the US and dem phuckry dem pon dem last phucking hoorah anyhow.

Morning Met :nerd

2. People did a condemn Malahoo when she said it. I never wrong her. Cause a nuff US embassy deh and em can’t do dem suptn deh. Look pon all dat up deh suh. Suppose you did see how di guy dem a pass and gwaan inna di night a tek picture front a di place!

3. THAT issue was clarified the Jamaica observer JULY 4TH U.S.INDEPENDENCE DAY FOR THEM TO SEE THE EMBASSY WAS CLOSED. I WAS IN JAMAICA THE WRITER STATE SPECIFICALLY HE WENT IN THE CONSTITUTION RE THE ARTICLE. SAID HE WAS SURPRISED THE RHETORIC COMING FROM PEOPLE WHO SHOULD KNOW BETTER CALLING FOR HER TO RESIGN. AND ALSO WHAT MALAHOO FORTE SAID SHE WAS INDEED CORRECT THEY ARE A GUEST OF THE JAMAICAN GOVT., AND SHOULD ADHERE TO THE RULES OF THE COUNTRY, BUT US JAMAICANS HAVE GIVEN AWAY OUR SOVEREIGNTY CUSSING EACH OTHER OVER THE ARTICLE YOU SEE WHAT HAPPEN TO US WHEN WE GO THERE AND BROKE THE LAW GET KICKED OUT, OR PENDING IN PRISON ALSO COUPLE PEOPLE WHO CAN AFFORD LAWYERS ARE BACK IN THE U.S.BAEAUSE THEY WERE ILLEGALLY DEPORTED. AT THE SAME TIME BEHAVE OURSELVES YES IT GOES FOR ME TOO

4. ALL THE RASS BRINGLE FACE ONE A JPS FROM TX COME A JAMAICA AND NO WANT GO HOME DA KIN HER TEETH LIKE WHEN U THROW HOT WATER PON DAWG

5. Attention dem a look. They put the same gay flag in Israel and a lot of people were upset about it. But a Malahoo dem have strength for and ready fi tek on. We need some Russian flags fi decorate Liguanea with.

6. Dem know say dat most Jamaicans will NEVER support the legalization of homosexuality you know, so lighting up de place fe support dem almshouse is the closest to wey dem can do! Dis come een like a dog who can only bark, but him can’t bite. How him fe bite when him nuh have no teeth?

7. Jamaica need to come to terms gay people are out there and not going no where they are our sons daughter nieces nephews cousins friends and or neighbors it’s 2016 what’s the big deal about lighting up a building come on it’s not like they putting their lifestyle in your face all they ask for is acceptance to live like any other Jamaican because they have as much rights to Jamaica as we do its full time to stop treating them like animals what about our Matteo out of many one people and if we can’t live by that it’s best we change it and stop being hypocritical out of many we are one many races many religious beliefs many colors many sexual preferences we are one my Jamaican documents did say fully Jamaican n theirs said have we all should have the same rights equal rights ,freedom and justice for all

8. Pride week where though? This is just utterly disrespectful to Jamaica and as emasculated as we are, there is nothing that we can do about it–and that is very unfortunate.