ISLAND SOUPS PRODUCT RECALL

September 7, 2016
Contact

Consumers

Island Soups Company, Inc.
(917) 991-6647
Announcement
View Product Photos
Island Soups Company, Inc. of Saint Albans, New York is recalling the following products because they have the potential to be contaminated with Clostridium botulinum, a bacterium which can cause life-threatening illness or death. Consumers are warned not to use these products.
GUNGO PEAS SOUP, NET WT. 16OZ
GUNGO PEAS SOUP NO MEAT, NET WT. 16OZ
RED PEAS SOUP, NET WT. 16OZ
RED PEAS SOUP NO MEAT, NET WT. 16OZ
MANNISH WATER, NET WT. 16OZ
FISH SOUP, NET WT. 16OZ

All products are coded BEST BEFORE dates July 2015 through June 2018

Botulism, a potentially fatal form of food poisoning, can cause the following symptoms: general weakness, dizziness, double- vision, and trouble with speaking or swallowing. Difficulty in breathing, weakness of other muscles, abdominal distension and constipation may also be common symptoms. People experiencing these problems should seek immediate medical attention.
fish tea launch copy
Products were distributed through internet website purchases.

The products are packaged in 16 oz. glass jars with white lids and a white plastic with brown lettering safety seal.

To date there have been no confirmed reports of illness and injury related to these products.

FDA inspection of the establishment reveals that the firm does not have valid process schedules or process documentation to ensure that these soups products have been sufficiently processed to prevent the growth of Clostridium botulinum.

Consumers should segregate and destroy any of the identified products.

Consumers with questions can call 917-991-6647, Monday through Friday, 8:30 am – 4:30 pm, EST

6 thoughts on “ISLAND SOUPS PRODUCT RECALL

1. To this day I still go to the stores, publix ect. and buy my dry coconut and blend it for my rice and peas, I even cook my dry peas much more to buy manish water in a Jar? too much preservatives and me a young little green gal. Good looking out Met.

2. mi seh just wah day mi see run dng inna can nd haffi shake mi head like a suh ppl really become lazy that’s man can think fi have food like dis inna can a wait fi warm up,a things like this way cancer rampant as well

3. Nutten nuh wrong if dem meck deze not everybody is a great cook, and some ppl genuinely have a busy life. You can buy dem put down fi cold and flu season if you nuh want chicken soup. The company need fi investigate dem production practices, I always thought botulism in food was associated with can foods, not bottles and jars. Perhaps someone with scientific knowledge can weigh in.