PORTIA SAY IS WORK SHE WORKING

portia

PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller has defended her frequent overseas trips, even as she made it clear that there is no immediate end in sight to the jet-hopping.

“I want [to tell] those who [are] criticising, pay your way and come with me and you will see a leader at work… no rest, day and night, in the interest of the Jamaican people,” she said yesterday.

“And I soon gone again, because this weekend I am going to Cuba for something for heads of Latin America and Caribbean to have discussions on a number of critical [issues],” she quipped.

The prime minister, who announced that her Government — with the support of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) — will spend another $46 million to install farm roads and drainage for a packaging house in Yallahs, St Thomas, said such international support is the reason she will continue to accept overseas invitations.

“I want to set it straight, when President Moreno of the IDB invites me to do something anywhere, I am going to respond, because I know what they (IDB) have done for us,” she said.

She was speaking at yesterday’s commissioning of the Yallahs Irrigation System and the launch of the Yallahs agro-park in St Thomas, which were funded through the IDB.

According to Simpson Miller, she will not turn down any invitation, which could result in Jamaica losing out on the benefits that bilateral meetings provide.

“…Hope that will be an education for some, that leaders are invited by heads [of government], and if they do not travel for those bilateral [talks] then your country would lose some benefits, and I do not intend for Jamaica to lose [out]…,” she noted.

Last December, Opposition Leader Andrew Holness tabled questions in the House of Representatives seeking information from the prime minister on the frequency of her overseas trips and the costs, as well as the cost of trips made by other members of the Government since January 2012.

Simpson Miller, who yesterday said that she wanted to set the record straight, pointed to the ‘goodies’ she brought back from her overseas travels such as the $1.6-billion grant from China.

“When I am going on my private trips I pay my way or my husband buys my ticket,” Simpson Miller said.

She said her ministers are being criticised for travelling overseas, she recalled when she first became prime minister in 2007 that Agriculture Minister Roger Clarke visited Europe and pounded the pavement there to get support so that sugar workers can now be relocated from the terrible conditions of the barracks.

Meanwhile, Simpson Miller said the commissioning of the irrigation system and the launch of the agro-park project is meant to restore the Yallahs Valley to its former productive state and to serve as a major boost to rural development.

“This Government is taking a planned approach to agricultural development,” she declared.

The Yallahs Agro-Park, she announced, has started production in earnest with some 22 acres of onions under production for which there is a contracted market for the entire crop.

0 thoughts on “PORTIA SAY IS WORK SHE WORKING

1. Not a grant nah come from China…a pay dem pay dung pan Jamaica. All dung inna di likkle district dem di Chiney man a run shap. It sick mi stomach, cah every weh yuh tun yuh hear seh a di Chiney dem own it.

2. Portia, a werk you a werk or a chicken you a jerk? And she no easy pon top of it at all, bout “yeah mi nah stop travel and me soon gone again, abayyyy” smh. And we can’t see di benefits of all this traveling.

1. Portia a dutty gal cause all dese millions n nice things n only Portia n har fren dem pocket a see the rewards is not every invitation she haffi attend
      But stop how it look like say Portia get whey inna some bleaching cream to man lol

3. Is it me or everytime this lady open her mouth. It seems like she’s tracing? If she dont know how to address her critics without tracing them.. when she fly out for those meetings that she claim she is attending a so she talk?

4. What’s the big ol deal …..
    Andrew professional !!??? A bring up fukry a parliament
    Like it’s not what u say it’s how u sY it Portia no better with the response
    But lawd Jesas dem just fly out tessanne n do up bare unnecessary bbc tings fi she
    She is just an artist & hol heep a money waste it was over done!!!
    Why poor ppl never complain bout that instead dem deh a half wY tree ah gwan
    Like tings well … If it was anybody else a d same ting dem would do Mek Andrew Holness go siddung … Kmft the govt been corrupt there’s no hope fi Jamaica unu just give it up!!!

1. It was not tax payers money that fund Tessanne, but is our money funding those irrelevant trips the so called prime minister is making

5. I will say it again a leader cannot govern the country from sitting home in the office, they have to travel and do international diplomacy. Andrew is ignorant for criticizing Portia when he knows full and well what the job entails.

6. Is one ting fi travel and maintain international relations….but ah how long poor people fi wait fi likkle improvement. Mi tyad fi si sufferation all ova mi country, mi tyad fi si indian and chiney a own all kind a business deh. Di two party dem fi gwey…a time fi people wid integrity run Jamaica.

7. So who fa money fly out tessanne pon private jet … Lmfao
    Where them get this one bag a funds from all of a sudden lol unu need fi stop watch
    Portia like clearly she nuh care

8. Amen…u notice how dem quick fi defend di trip dem, but not one time any a dem can ever say well di money weh she get from dis trip use fi fix dis or fix dat and I will also say if a did andrew did inna power and a pull dis stunt mi woulda have something fi say bout dat too…mi nuh business a who!!!!!!!!!

1. All di one Andrew im….tink mi nuh si di big dutty extravagant luxurious great house weh im a build ah Beverley Hills. How much charity yuh head up an sponsor sir??? Public Servant fi plenti a dem is fi fatten dem pocket…Father God nah sleep doe…:travel

1. Seet deh…all dem ting deh…they have no accountability for where money is going…if mi pay fi something work related an mi come up .50cents short u betta believe dem a question mi bout it so…not one a dem better than the next thats why tings nah fix!

9. WHEN PUSS GONE RAT TEK CHARGE, PORTIA SIMPSON MILLER NEED FI STEP DUNG SHE WUSS THAN HAR MATRIACH. P J BATTEYSON. MEK ME SEE HOW MUCH DELEGATE SHE CARRY WID HAR GO A SOCHI FI GO WATCH THE BOB SLED TEAM.. MEANWHILE BACK A YAAD, MAN AN HIM CYAAR DRAAP DUNG INNA POTHOLE/SINKHOLE AND WAS NEVER SEEN AGAIN. THE DOLLAR REACH $120 TO ONE. AND THE WHOLE COUNTRY MASH UP WHILE SHE A SKIN HAR TEETH WID THE RUSSIAN DEM. I CYAAN STAND A WUCKLISS WOMAN.

10. Busta give way,we baxite Fe little and nothing.when dem tell him say him caah do that,him say meck dem gwan wid it cause a dirt .