SUBJECT: CONTROVERSIAL POLICE OFFICER BACK ON THE FORCE
REF: A. 05 KINGSTON 2728
¶B. 04 STATE 97099
¶C. 04 KINGSTON 1102
Classified By: Classified by CDA Ronald Robinson for Reasons 1.5 (b) an
d (d).
¶1. (U) Senior Superintendent Renato Adams, the controversial
former head of the disbanded Crime Management Unit (CMU), has
been reinstated to the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF).
Adams was taken off active duty in 2004 pending the outcome
of the trial in which he and five other members of the CMU
were tried for the murder of four people in Crawle (also
referred to as Kraal), Clarendon (Ref A). Following his
acquittal in December 2005, Adams was reinstated on June 12
to a newly created intelligence position that reports
directly to JCF Commissioner Lucius Thomas. Adams’s duties
will include collecting, receiving and analyzing intelligence
and passing that information on to various agencies and
police officers.
¶2. (C) Bishop Herro Blair (protect), head of the Peace
Management Initiative and one of the members of the board
headed by Commissioner Thomas that investigated the Crawle
incident, discussed Adams with poloff on June 13. According
to Blair, who as a board member reviewed all of the details
of the case, much damning did not make it into court. He
characterized Adams as a “murderer”. Blair also said that he
had met personally with Thomas to discuss Adams’s
reinstatement. He noted that Thomas had created a special
position within his office so that he could keep a close eye
on Adams, and said that Thomas assured him that Adams would
not be allowed back on the street. Adams has only two years
left before retirement and about three months vacation per
year, Blair added, and a decision could even be made to allow
Adams to retire a year early.
¶3. (C) Following the CMU officers’ indictments, their U.S.
visas were canceled pursuant to INA 214(b) and a potential
212 (a)(2)(A)(1)(I) – crime involving moral turpitude (Ref B
and C). On June 13, four former members of the CMU who were
acquitted along with Adams (Lenford Gordon, Devon Bernard,
Shayne Lyons and Roderick Collier) arrived at the Consular
Section to inquire about their visas. Fraud Off explained
that their visas had been revoked because they had been
determined to be “ineligible to travel”, but that the
ineligibility was not permanent and they were eligible to
reapply.
¶4. (C) The media quickly picked up on the issue and the
following day, June 14, the headline of “The Gleaner” was
“Visas Revoked – U.S., Canada bar policemen charged with
Kraal murders”. The article reported that Adams planned to
go to the Embassy to inquire about his U.S. visa the
following day. As promised, on June 14, Adams arrived at the
Consular Section and was met by the RSO and A/RSO/I in the
basement parking area. RSO informed Adams that his visa had
in fact been revoked and asked if Adams had his passport with
him so that his U.S. visa could be physically canceled.
Adams replied that he did not have his passport with him and,
consequently, his visa has been revoked in the system but not
physically canceled. RSO also informed Adams that he could
appeal the USG’s decision to revoke his visa if he so
desired. On June 16, Adams publicly announced that he would
not appeal the revocation. He said he had visited the U.S.
only once in the previous 25 years, and that the NIV was
“very unimportant” to him.
¶5. (C) COMMENT: Despite a history of involvement in incidents
(including Crawle) that gave every appearance of being
extrajudicial killings, Adams and his fellow CMU members were
acquitted. Blair and others with intimate knowledge of the
Crawle investigation have told us in no uncertain terms that
there was an abundance of evidence that Adams’s unit indeed
murdered the individuals at Crawle – regardless of what the
jury found. Adams enjoys a formidable reputation among
Jamaica’s crime weary population as something of a
no-nonsense supercop and there is a fair amount of public
support to unleash him against the country’s violent
criminals. He is also alleged to be close to elements of the
governing Peoples National Party, and with a general election
due by late 2007 (but which may occur within the next few
months), Adams poses something of a dilemma to a GOJ and a
JCF that find themselves vulnerable on the crime issue.
Right now, though, it appears highly unlikely that Adams will
be returned to the street action and the spotlight that he
craves. END COMMENT.
ROBINSON
Blair is one to talk *cutting eyes*. The last election PJ ran in, the one not long after Adams went into Tivoli, he (Blair) censored a video that:
1. Could’ve proved the police actually faced gunmen in Tivoli (one woman hanging out sheet for over an hour while the man dem wid di big long gun pass behind the sheets)
2. the PNP advertising team planned to use against the JLP
So me doe wah hear nutten from ppl like him who seems to be on di side of criminals. Plus from my eye dem deh a my knee mi a hear a story bout him or him fellow pastor bredda bout tekking some likkle gyal to Bahamas to be rid of someting dat usually come in 9mths to protect dem pious asses. kmt
TRUTH IS GOLDEN! BIG UP CINDY! You did have one whey claim to be pregnant an a ammunitions she a shuttle to gunman during dis time period. JCF a de scapegoat fi de criminal politicians/Judges and businessmen.
Thank God Warmington get him out.
This is CRAZYYYYYY!!!!
How many people in dis cabinet DON’T have a murder charge weh dem either nuh personally involved in or the were complicite in?????
In America, to be a politician it look good to have gone to an Ivy League school , in Jamaica, to be a politician, it look good to have had a case in di Jamaica Courthouse!!!!
This is ridiculous!!!
happy to see people reading
me really wha know ,what it a go take before jamaican ppl wake up ,and say enough is enough,and teck to the street fe the right reason.
Same so 13
Me want know too
U see whey dem do a Egypt last week
Wow! I would have love to see the evidence. What I don’t see I will not believe regardless. However, this little article painted a picture, even without concrete evidence, that Mr. Adams was a police thug. Not condemning him based on an article that presented no concrete evidence, but other things associated with him, and the way he zealously salivate about his agendas concerning criminals. One cannot kill their way out of crime. Crime will always be with us but can be alleviated to the point where people can have a sense of comfort. There are a lot of solutions that could be presented on how to fight crime. But one thing we know, you don’t need a police out there slaughtering people, regardless of what. And I mean even dealing with criminal elements, you cannot go around killing like a madman. We need people who work smart in the police force, and heading it. Not gun slingers who go about bending bullits as if they are making art works out of dead bodies!
@13… a di same question mi bin a ask….every bigman police an area don all ways hav special ties wid one of di political party, suh wen dem keep up dem f**kry dere is always a bailout in di horizon smfh.
Ppl tek di street a protest fi free worl boss but none do di same fi rid di country a dese parasitic politicians dat hav cause somuch death an destruction smfh.
I used to be an activist for one of the political party in Jamaica, but after migrating and coming to my senses, I speak because I have no affiliations to none other than Jesus Christ of Nazereth. Herro Blair, into the JLP pocket just as Renato into the P.N.P’S I know for sure the whole of them have a sure seat await for them in hell, them love seat, them, poison yuh fi seat, them work high science fi seat, them muder the baby on the breast fi seat, this is why me seat say fi them seat certain down a hell. after what I know PJ Patterson did to Michael Manley when he wanted to take over leadership, the corruption when the gang of 5, wanted to over throw Eddie, it’s just a power controlled thing for these people. Gaining a seat in the house, is not about loving the poor people, that end the very day when them force MICHAEL, out of the party that his own father started, and when I say force, I mean run, push, fling, dash, throw, anything that word mean. I wash my hands and foot from poli-tricks, I know from the head to the tail of both parties have a sure seat waiting hell, a seat them love a nuh the people.
Everybody know di politicians dem a tief an murdera already, di problem now lies wid di PEOPLE…cuz dey are di ones who decide fi jus lay down and accept wat is bein done to dem, a wul heap a changes mi si make by ppl rising up an protesting in streets in other countries why can’t we do di same? Is like trying to get our ppl fi si anything other than shoes clothes an partying is almost impossible
True ting cc
Anon @ 1:49- much respect fi day opinion deh. Jus my humble opinion- That’s the kind of dialogue we all need to start having amongst ourselve
Metty,bless up. I reading too!! Alll a di bangarang wid di politician dem. Much respect fi dem story deh. Havent commented but I’m enjoying the comments from the bloggers-positive reasoning all around
Until we the people start maching on the government, killing some of them then and only then we will c a change, sad to say but thats the only way they will understand. Jamaican people has lost there way, no more fight they just sit and wait for hand outs, no morals no guts(some not all)
Prince of reggae did ask dem “Do you know what it means to have a revolution”trust me they don’t.They need to start reading more and gain some knowledge.
me talk it all the while eno.from the p…y dem slap way sandokan,no bad man no lef a jamaica again eno…..paul bogel and dem man deh suppose to a turn inna dem grave every day ,and a say….look pon the fassy dem no,a dat me give up me life fah.