TRINIDAD SENATOR SENDS WARNING FOR WILD MEAT HUNTING SEASON

MI NEVA KNOW TRINI PEOPLE EAT ALL DEM MEAT YAH!

SENATOR’S POST ON FACEBOOK

Senator The Honourable Clarence Rambharat
14 hrs ·
“Wild Meat Sale- Beware!”
In the early hours last Tuesday, opening day of the hunting season, I saw photos of frozen wild meat appearing and then photos of carcasses. Not long after I saw wild meat dealers offering unlimited wild meat for sale.

This morning law enforcement intercepted a significant amount of wild meat carcasses most likely from South America destined for sale to unsuspecting consumers locally. Three T&T nationals were arrested and charges are being laid. The carcasses include agouti, tattoo, wild hog, lappe and deer.
Be warned!

As I see wild meat sales being advertised, be on your alert for similarities in appearance and condition to what is being seized by law enforcement. Roasted, cut-up, seasoned or prepared food involving wild meat should be examined closely. Illegally imported wild meat could be passed off as local wild meat.

In October 2018 law enforcement seized thousands of pounds of decaying wild meat from Venezuela. It included over 100s of agouti, and large amounts of deer, wildhog, lappe and tattoo. Consumers of wild meat are reminded to be on the lookout for meat being brought into the country illegally.

This meat may be harmful for human consumption. Illegal meat is treated with a chemical to mask the scent of decay and is sold frozen or thawed out. Decaying meat, meat washed in unhygienic river water, and meat not kept at the right temperature can sicken and possibly kill you. Be on your guard.

One thought on “TRINIDAD SENATOR SENDS WARNING FOR WILD MEAT HUNTING SEASON

1. Sender, the whole eastern side of the Caribbean eat things that we would never dream of in our nation. Agouti, iguana and frogs are the ones that come immediately to mind. I don’t know why they eat those stuff, because mi never hear about famine ever in those places. Usually places that eat those sort of things have a history of famine in dem land, so dem scour di land fi anything. Seems like dem just love dem tings deh fi eat. When you travel dem places deh you stick to seafood and veggies, cause when dem chop up curry up, deep fry in batter and dash inna all kind of sauce you won’t know what the hell you eating.

For me eating veal, lamb and mussels were a big leap in my culinary adventures and I leave it right there, I ain’t going no further.