ICE DETAINS TRINI GREENCARD HOLDER

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ice-detains-trini-in-us-with-greencard-6.2.888794.60a09753a3

An on­line fundrais­er has been es­tab­lished for a Trinida­di­an na­tion­al who has found him­self de­tained by the Unit­ed States Im­mi­gra­tion and Cus­toms En­force­ment (ICE) agency de­spite hav­ing le­git­i­mate doc­u­ments to re­side legal­ly in the coun­try.

On June 5, Trevor James was tak­en in­to cus­tody from his job in Raleigh, North Car­oli­na and tak­en to a de­ten­tion cen­tre in At­lanta.

In a so­cial me­dia post, his sis­ter Solange James said, “Trevor has al­ways been in the coun­try legal­ly un­der his F1 visa and through his LPR (Green­card). He was cur­rent­ly in the process of up­dat­ing his tem­po­rary 2-year green card and his case was be­ing han­dled by an im­mi­gra­tion at­tor­ney. We have no idea why ICE has de­tained him and he’s just ex­pect­ed to sit in de­ten­tion in­def­i­nite­ly—sim­ply for be­ing an im­mi­grant.”

She ex­plained that her broth­er was ex­pect­ed to see a judge five days af­ter he was de­tained, with the ex­pec­ta­tion that a bond for his re­lease would be forth­com­ing. It was not. The sit­u­a­tion was fur­ther com­pli­cat­ed af­ter James was list­ed as ab­sent for his green card hear­ing.

“It has been 6 weeks and he still has not seen a judge. Four weeks in­to his de­ten­tion, he was told that there was a measles out­break in the fa­cil­i­ty and that he would have to be placed un­der an ad­di­tion­al 30-day quar­an­tine,” she said.

She be­lieves her broth­er has been a vic­tim of re­cent im­mi­gra­tion poli­cies en­forced by US Pres­i­dent Don­ald Trump, who has con­stant­ly vowed to clamp down on il­le­gal mi­grants.

Last week, Pres­i­dent Trump or­dered ICE raids meant to tar­get 2,000 il­le­gal im­mi­grants across 10 US cities. The suc­cess of the raid was said to be suc­cess­ful by the US Pres­i­dent, while De­mo­c­ra­t­ic con­gress­men have raised their ques­tions about the ef­fect of the raid.

James be­lieves her broth­er has been caught in the mid­dle of this stand­off.

“They are not sim­ply lock­ing up ‘il­le­gals’ and ‘bor­der crossers’. My broth­er was picked up at his cor­po­rate job. Your Green­card will not save you,” she said.

The Go­FundMe ac­count was set up to help James cov­er le­gal costs, as he at­tempts to con­form to US au­thor­i­ties that he was legal­ly re­sid­ing in the coun­try.

“We have some leads on new at­tor­neys that we in­tend to se­cure who work specif­i­cal­ly with de­tainees at the Stew­art Fa­cil­i­ty and can al­so be avail­able to file mo­tions in North Car­oli­na where my broth­er nor­mal­ly re­sides,” said James on the Go­FundMe page.

As of yes­ter­day af­ter­noon, the page had raised US$2,728.

Guardian Me­dia at­tempt­ed to con­tact his sis­ter for an up­date on the sit­u­a­tion yes­ter­day, but up to the time of pub­li­ca­tion, we had not re­ceived feed­back.

4 thoughts on “ICE DETAINS TRINI GREENCARD HOLDER

1. When the sisterready to tell us what him do we circle back. Cuz there is no way I.C.E ago just decide to go for him for no reason so please come clean and tell us what him do. Better it was reported what he did but say its being worked on or sorted instead of tell us them target him for nothing at all.

2. More to this story. there has to be something going on with him. Why I.C.E would just go pick him up suh. Talk the truth wah kinda charge he had