I HAD NO IDEA TRINIDAD WAS THIS RACIST

SO I WAS WATCHING THIS VIDEO ON FACEBOOK YESTERDAY AND I SAW THIS IN MY NEWS FEED AND THE CAPTION SUGGESTED THAT THE YOUNG LADY HAD LEFT HER CHILD ON HER SICK MOTHER. WHILE WATCHING THE VIDEO AND LISTENING TO THE YOUNG WOMAN I BEYOND SHOCKED WHEN SHE SAID THAT HER MOTHER WAS UPSET BECAUSE SHE GOT PREGNANT FOR A ”NEGORO” AND WANTED HER TO HAVE A BABY BY AN ”INDIAN”. SHE DID NOT EXPLAIN WHY SHE LEFT THE BABY WITH HER MOTHER BUT SHE SAID WHEN SHE WAS PREGNANT HER MOTHER TRIED TO GIVE HER MEDICINE FOR THE BABY TO DIE AND THAT TO PLEASE HER MOTHER SHE WENT OUT AND GOT A MAN WHO WAS ”FULL INIDIAN”..I REALIZED THEN THAT THE FAMILY WAS REJECTING HER SON THAT IS WHY THE MOTHER WENT THROUGH THE TROUBLE SHE HAD AND SHE HERSELF CLAIMED THAT THE LANDLORD DID NOT WANT THE LITTLE BOY WHERE HER DAUGHTER LIVE! I HIGHLY DOUBT THAT BUT WATCH THE VIDEO AND SEE..JUST HOW STUPIDLY ”RACIST” THESE PEOPLE ARE.

39 thoughts on “I HAD NO IDEA TRINIDAD WAS THIS RACIST

1. good afternoon,
    ok, so you gonna sit there and pretend like jamaican women never use to tell their children dont bring home nobody darker than them? even to this day dem tings gwaan a jamaica, so i dont get the point.
    you see butch stewart with any mix race babies? anybody who come on here come gwaan like this dont happen a jamaica a hypocrite. so where the jamaica racist? everyday me see people talk on here bout who black and ugly so dis an injustice to trinidad. clean up yard before clean abroad cause nobody here from trinidad so none of this is relevant.

1. I concur I concur I concur I concur!!!!! The level of self hatred is real. I remember my grandmother would always comment on how straight someone nose is (because straight is better) and how I was “so dark”. Till this day when I go to JA ppl seh “me nah lie u black but u pretty” WTF is that suppose to mean?!?!?!?!? Furthermore my grandmother would always advise my mom and aunt to date someone light skinned because more then likely they came from a good family…………
      We see in it JA everyday.. You ever flew on Fly Jamaica… The only person dark skin is the pilot… EVERY LAST ONE OF THEM RED… Coincidence much?
      ** my ppl perish through lack of knowledge**

2. What ah sweet likkle baby boy, big pretty eyes and such gentle ways…this is ah sad situation all around because racism DOES exist within all walks of life and unfortunately, racism is here tuh stay…the grandmother may have her racist beliefs *as we all do in some way, shape or form, unfortunately* but I can see that she loves her grandson..yes she does, but she is ah piece ah work lol…the daughter new man *Ricardo* seh him don’t want the grandmother staying with him cause she like tuh curse ah tek big stone pelt lick people :ngakak..mama been ah duh road from she ah young gal an di one toe naah slow ar dung needa cause she use tuh di bouncing from pillar tuh post…I hope they find ah resolve tuh their disagreements, and kudos tuh the interviewer *can’t remember his name* for aiding them in resolving their issues *really like his str88 forward and direct approach tuh investigating and resolve*…wish them all the best…hopefully, the little boy’s love will pull them all back together..

3. @talkchuet is either you ago come tell me i am wrong and correct me or you just nod yuh head, agree and move on. me a talk bout dat island name jamaica where a black youth/woman haffi be excellent in their field just to get the same reverence and adoration as an average white bwoy. i dont watch people dutty clothes when mine pile up in a bathroom.
    jamaica is just as racist, maybe even worse cause at least in trinidad its coming from other people. in jamaica other blacks are the first ones to call people black and ugly, nappy head etc. the land where the most popular artist erased every drop of melanin from his body a point fingers and still remained number one :ngakak

1. Jamaica prejudice not racist..First of all Indian is not a race and if u look good u will see even the baby the mother a reject neatly because him half negro according to them. This is worst than Jamaica because dem invent a whole other race and claims dem better than negros. No family would reject a child in Jamaica because dem feel the child is half whatever dem is..Call Jamaica what u want but speak truth. This would not have happened..

1. And tell me one family in Jamaica that reject a child because of their ”race” mi would love to see that. They are ignorant and racist. And the joke is on them big time because that right there is what we call sh*t pan calaloo coolie. That on tv there would even be rejected in India as the lower class of people because india is also prejudice so as mi seh………the joke is on them with their ignorance

2. I have to concur with Only Child on this one because he makes very valid points…reason being is that there has ALWAYS been race division within my own family *who light skinned from who dark skinned–who have long hair from who fa head picky picky ah nyaam out n’ who have good hair from who fa head nappy–who look Indian from who black…I have ah mixture of coolie Jamaicans in my family and blacks and from eva since me can memba, dem ah kip up wid dis sed bullshit…who betta da who because of skin color/tone…my skin tone red red but mi dawta look str88 Indian ah mi son look mixed/black…people always have summen fe seh about our appearances whenever we go out together and dem always ah ask dumb ass questions and comments like “what race are you?” or “what ya’ll mixed with” or dis ah mi favorite one..”you don’t look Jamaican”…suh me cut di conversation real quick ah seh me ah mi pickney dem BLACK!!…I use tuh remember my mother always telling my daughter when she was little, seh she mus date and marry someone weh fava har suh she can get pretty grandkids wid good hair…I honestly do believe that we all possess ah lil bit of racism and ignorance within us *no offense tuh anyone*…

1. Jamaica isn’t racist. If u ask the bleachers what race they are they will say black , Jamaicans on a whole will identify with being black . Very few uptowners will try to call themselves white but that is few of them

4. Since we on topic met I have this x man “yardie” me use to deh wit him have 5 sisters. Very first time me go him yard him have 1 big pic frame of this red lady plastered on his wall when I ask who she him tell me is his sister. I never believe until I meet all his other sisters n mother which all very black n prettier then the one him luv brag n boost up jus tru she light. Jamaicans r jus as bad as any racist towards themselves

5. Met you are so intelligent, I agree 100%. ok let me stop with these comments but just know that you have a fan that has great joy from learning here on this platform. I am very happy for this site, I gain so much knowledge, it’s not like I would google some of these topics randomly :2thumbup.

6. i agree dat a trini indian is not a race to itself. mi haffi laugh cause most indians in the caribbean came there under shitty circumstances and not from a position of power. they were “indentured servants” which is basically a fancy term for poor slave. black vs indian war a joke ting cause neither have any power on the global stage and neither have centuries of bad blood between them.
    one thing i can say, i will never forget a girl i use to flex with during school days. she was from one of those high society families and she told me straight her father told her he would rather she deh wid one of her cousins dan bring home a black man and she wasnt even white :malu2
    anno nutin she still use to jim screechie come check me :travel

1. Bcuz har muma mussi mada and cuzin wan him dark nd stink likev ole family ram
      Yah behave 2deh doah OC
      (Simplicity soon sign in)

7. Idk whats the problem with these trini wannabes. i’m not indian & my skin tone is much lighter than alotta them over there & i see myself as black. Alotta them are very very very dark skinned! I dont understand how u can be dark skinned and dont want to call yourself black!!!!

8. My father is Indian my mother is black, I have had rejection from both sides, because I am fair skinned with “pretty” hair but I have a “big nose” and a big booty. As a child someone would put a clothespin on my nose to try to make it straight, how stupid is that. As an adult the most disdain has come from Trinis and Guyanese it’s like if you are mixed with Black and Indian you are the scum of the earth. This is just based on my experience.

9. I think we need to make a distinction here between classism, colorism and racism. While the effects of each may more or less be the same, they operate differently, i.e. the constituent elements relate to a different variable. Classism relates to class, colorism relates to color and shades while racism relates to race. Within the Indian race there are different shades of people the same way there are different shades of black people. In that regard there are Indians (race) whose shades are very dark/ olive but that doesn’t change their race. In Trinidad there are in fact “pure Indians” whose skin color is very olive (black). These pure Indians are not concerned about shades so much, they are in fact very racist. For example parents would prefer a “very very black” Indian man to date their daughters than a very very “light skinned” black man. Notwithstanding, within the race there are instances of colorism but racism is more an issue than colorism. Colorism is mainly what obtains in Jamaica whereby we are concerned about shades. I personally have gone to Trinidad and experienced racism first hand whereby I was about to use a “wee wee” truck during carnival and an Indian girl was about to do the same when her Indian man literally pulled her from the truck and scolded her asking her if she wasn’t afraid of catching germs by using a truck with so many blacks. That is the level of ignorance that obtains among some ( not all and I do believe it is the Indian minority as well)Indians in Trinidad relative to Blacks. The same level of ignorance that obtains relative to color in Jamaica that somehow one has superior qualities because they have a lighter complexion and sadly it spans across the class spectrum. To segue a little, a friend of mine recently indicated to our hairdresser that she has better quality hair than I do and this is a highly intelligent individual. It all goes back to mental slavery and it, be it racism, colorism or classism is going nowhere fast and so the onus is on those who know better to do better.

10. For Met and other that think Jamaica not RACIST
    “Because my father, who was a white-skinned Jamaican, decided to marry my mother, who was a black country woman, his family didn’t want to have much to do with us. We literally became the black sheep of the family. While his family lived very comfortably, we grew up relatively poor… his side of the family was really ashamed of us,” she told IPS. Betty Ann Blaine said this google her
    http://www.ipsnews.net/2010/09/rights-activist-challenges-jamaicas-status-quo/

11. For the people that think jamaica not RACIST
    Because my father, who was a white-skinned Jamaican, decided to marry my mother, who was a black country woman, his family didn’t want to have much to do with us. We literally became the black sheep of the family. While his family lived very comfortably, we grew up relatively poor… his side of the family was really ashamed of us,” she told IPS.Betty Ann Blaine SAY THIS GOOGLE HER IF YOU DONT KNOW WHO SHE IS

12. I noticed how the Ms Jamaica is light skin even in my country are Ms is Spanish with good hair nothing black so there is racist people every country not to there’s.

13. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & assist other users like its
    helped me. Good job.

14. I think everything said was actually very logical. But, what about this?
    what if you typed a catchier post title? I am not saying your
    content isn’t good, however suppose you added something that makes people desire more?
    I mean I HAD NO IDEA TRINIDAD WAS THIS RACIST – Jamaican Matey & Groupie Pinkwall
    Talk Di Tings Dem is kinda plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s
    home page and see how they write article titles to grab viewers to click.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to get people interested about what you’ve
    written. Just my opinion, it would bring your
    posts a little livelier.

15. What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you are no longer really much
    more well-appreciated than you might be right now. You’re
    very intelligent. You recognize thus considerably in terms of this matter, made me in my view believe it from so many
    numerous angles. Its like men and women aren’t involved unless it is one thing to do with Girl gaga!
    Your own stuffs great. Always deal with it up!