BAHAMAS ISSUES TRAVEL ADVISORY

BAHAMAS

For Immediate Release
8 July 2016
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has taken a note of the recent tensions in some American cities over shootings of young Black males by policemen.
We wish to advise all Bahamians travelling to the US but especially to the affected cities to exercise appropriate caution generally. In particular young males are asked to exercise extreme caution in affected cities in their interactions with the police. Do not be confrontational and cooperate.
If there is any issue please allow consular offices for The Bahamas to deal with the issues. Do not get involved in political or other demonstrations under any circumstances and avoid crowds.
The Bahamas has consular offices in New York, Washington, Atlanta, Los Angeles, Denver, Chicago and Dallas.
Their addresses are on the Foreign Ministry’s website at www.mofa.gov.bs
At the commencement of the Independence holiday weekend, many Bahamians will no doubt use the opportunity to travel, in particular to destinations in the United States. While it is prudent for travelers to conduct themselves in an orderly manner at all times, in light of recent episodes of involving police officers and young black men in the United States, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration wishes to advise the Bahamian Public to exercise due care and attention especially when traveling to particular cities in the United States.
Pay attention to the public notices and news announcements in the city that you are visiting.
Be safe, enjoy the holiday weekend and be sensible.
End

3 thoughts on “BAHAMAS ISSUES TRAVEL ADVISORY

1. Met mi dollars nuh too strong strong,but me willing to bet yuh Jamaica woulda never dare try this shyt!! All the while USA n Canada issue travel advisory against we so why we can’t issue one At this time??

But look pon lil Bahamas too whooaaaaaaiiiee,wait till Merica retaliate fi this uppityness!

2. You know I have to visit the US to go look for a newborn and if it wasn’t for that my ass would stay weh mi deh.