WOMAN A BEG FI HELP FI DEAL WID HAR TROUBLESOME DAUGHTER

Help, my daughter is out of control – Woman wants authorities to intervene
by

Claudette Freckleton, the mother of a 13-year-old girl, is pleading with the authorities to help her with her daughter, who, she said, is getting out of control.

In desperation, the 56-year-old mother, who has 12 other children, came to THE WEEKEND STAR seeking to highlight her plight in an effort to get someone to step in and take charge.

She said that her daughter’s bad behaviour started last year, but it spiralled out of control a month ago.

“Last week, mi see this lady in the community, and mi haffi a talk to har. She carry mi go church, and mi sit down dere a bawl because mi stress out because a wah she a do,” she said.

Freckleton said that she has called the police and other entities to seek help, but her cries have fallen on deaf ears.

“Mi go CDA (Child Protection and Family Services Agency CPFSA), mi go Commissioner’s Office. Dem send me back to the police, and the police nah do nothing,” she said.

She told THE WEEKEND STAR that she is at her wits end because no one in the family is able to talk to the child about what she is doing.

“A year ago someone come and tell mi seh she deh round some bwoy. Mi never expect that so mi go fi har and drag har, but wi did good the day after. Now she just deh pan the road wid a bag a bwoy bwoy, and when mi talk to har, she cuss mi out,” Freckleton said, adding that her daughter has even called her ‘dutty gyal’.

“The other day mi come home from mi likkle hussle, and she seh she a go party. So mi seh: ‘How yuh fi a go party and yuh a 13, yuh mad?’ She mash out mi window dem, and mi did haffi call police,” she added.

Disrespecting family

Freckleton said that her daughter’s behaviour has gotten so bad that she is now disrespecting family members and persons in the community.

Children’s Advocate Diahann Gordon Harrison said that they have had incidents of this nature before, and it is their duty to step in and ensure that things get right.

“Most times we talk to the child first, because usually when something like that is happening for a long time, the child has some issue. It can be that her mother is a single mother, it could be that her father is gone and she doesn’t have a father figure, or probably she is being bullied. So we always try to speak to the child to find out what is going on,” she said.

Despite the behavioural issues, Freckleton said that she doesn’t want to beat her daughter or get in trouble with the law. Instead, she said that she would like the CPFSA or a similar entity to intervene in the matter.

14 thoughts on “WOMAN A BEG FI HELP FI DEAL WID HAR TROUBLESOME DAUGHTER

1. You tried everything and no help. Don’t feel nuh way..beat the “dutty gyal” and show her who’s the parent.

1. Ole cruff!

The girl was either violated or she is tired of playing big sister/babysitter and having to live without while the “dutty gyal” of a mother breed up har own JDF.

The mother ‘fraid of the law ,but love cock. Beat wha? She need fi go beat some condom and birth control.

This girl needs to be removed from the home due to her violent behavior and street life and the mother need parenting skills and sterilization.

2. 12 children? That’s part of the problem. Raising children requires TIME, something I doubt this mother was able to give to this young child due to having 11 others and possibly working.

Discipline from young and this won’t be an issue later on. The family is weak, no uncle or cousin or big brother to line her up? This is terrible.

3. daughter learned from u mame 12 kids I’m sure she see revolving door of different men coming in n out single mother careless behavior

4. Try taking her to the funeral of the other young girl that died…let her look in the casket an see her jus to let her know that ppl are evil these days they will rape and kill her jus like they do to Soo many young girls around the country****

1. I understand where your intention, but the situations are verrry different.

The child that raped and murdered (a model child by all standards of her society) was sent out on an errand by her parent.

This one here is a juvenile delinquent,and her life path was constructed by careless parenting. So no…you cannot teach her a lesson by having her go to the funeral if a murdered child. Why? Because she is angry and as far as she is concern if the dead child was defiant and didn’t go on the concernshe would still be alive. Apple and orange.

5. At 12 u have no rights as a big woman. When she find herself pregnant by a big man that wants nothing to do with her it’s the same momma she gonna be bawling for. I know that at 12 I better not cut my eye at my mother much less deh a road with man, she woulda show me the door and best believe I would not be able to reenter with that behaviour.

1. Did your mother have 12 more to deal with in the home? If the household income was good and family was onboard to assist and give love then your situation was good.

6. This lady breed like a fking Rabbit or Rat. Always inna HEAT and want di buddy no matter the consequences. Why them woman ya so wickid. How the FK can you give attention to 13 children?

Can’t sorry for the mother – she shoulda inna prison – The father dem belong inna prison fi breed up this retarded woman.

Poor little girl – only God can save her and the other 12. I have no doubt that the others have issues too. Rasta know my tax dollars haffi a waste fi look after other people’s mistakes while it could be used for more productive purposes.

7. Why stop at 13 when 20 has a nice ring to it? Smaddy couldn’t talk to she once she hit baby number 5? What a mess! Only God can intervene because this is overwhelming for the average person.

8. You’re all entitled to your opinions and I share some of your sentiments but the lady is asking for help, not to be lambasted for whatever mistakes she made in the past. She actually putting her story out there to try and save her child, that takes courage, 13 children and this is the first time you’re reading about her, meaning she did fairly well with the other 12, she not asking for hand outs either. Mother I commend you for taking the steps you have taken to try and save your wayward child, don’t give up on her, millions have been in your shoes, i for one understand your frustrations, I can’t tell you what else to do because I don’t know your whole story, but I pray that this is just a phase your daughter is going through and that in time, she will settle down and you and her can have a fairly good relationship.

9. Something needs to be done for this child or she will end up dead or in jail. Maybe she needs to go see how the girls are living in the girls home. She needs a reality check. It’s unfortunate that the mother has 11 other children to attend to and that may be the reason why this little one is so rebellious. Lack of attention, smh. I hope she gets some help before it’s too late.

10. I have a strong suspicion that the child was sexually molested as a child, or is still being molested by someone, even a relative. The acting out and lashing out is not normal, mashing out window and all. Mother and daughter needs counselling. Removal from the home may indeed be a good thing if my suspicions are correct, but she would need to be in a good program, because she obviously has a lot of anger inside her.