UNBELIEVEABLE……MAN WHO HAD BEEN LIVING IN THE UK FOR OVER 50 YEARS NOW STRANDED IN JAMAICA

unnamed-Optimized-1
The 64-year-old Jamaican, who has been living in England for the past 54 years, is now stranded in the island after enjoying a two-week trip — his first back home in all that time.
Bogle said his ordeal started on October 13, 2014 when he got to Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay to take a return flight to England, only to be told by Immigration officials that they could not allow him to leave.
“I got the shock of my life when I was turned back and told by authorities that I would have to have a visa to leave the country,” said the distraught-looking Bogle, who added that he was not aware of the travel requirement.
The reason for that is that Bogle, since leaving Jamaica in 1962 when he was seven years old and just before the country achieved political independence from Britain, never applied for British citizenship. In fact, he said he didn’t renew his Jamaican passport until just before he travelled here on September 29, 2014.
“Since I migrated at age seven I have never travelled and never had any intention to. It was after I retired I decided to take a trip to Jamaica to see what the country was like,” Bogle told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.
“I knew no one in Jamaica; it was the first time I was travelling since I was seven,” Bogle emphasised on the verge of tears.
He said the two-week holiday in Portland was like a dream come true, but all of that changed when he got to the airport.
According to Bogle, after getting over the shock of being told about the visa, he was on the verge of sleeping on the streets, as he had nowhere to go, neither did he know where he was.
He said he managed to contact his mother in England and told her about his situation. She gave him the number for a Jamaican woman who once lived in England and told him to contact her for help.
Bogle said it was through the kindness of this woman, who gave him a place to stay, that he has been able to survive.
Acting on the advice from the Immigration officials, he made contact with the British High Commission in Kingston to apply for a visa and was given a list of documents he would need for the process.
He said he contacted his mother, who brought the documents to Jamaica.
“After I got the documents, I applied for the visa and, after waiting for some time, would receive another shock when I learnt that the visa was not approved,” Bogle told the Observer.
He said that no reason was given.
Now stranded, running out of money, and with no family in Jamaica, Bogle is desperate.
Bogle worked for close to 40 years in England, got married and later divorced. He is the father of two sons, who are both adults.
During his time there, he purchased a house and, after achieving most of his life’s dream, decided to take early retirement.
Yesterday, when the Observer contacted Bogle’s former boss, Roy Broadeent, in England, he said he was aware of Bogle’s plight.
“I have heard of the situation and am really shocked,” said Broadeent, former manager of Broadhurst Engineering, where Bogle worked before going to Manchester City Council.
“It is true, I have known Lloyd for over 30 years. He has been a resident in Oldham, Royton for all that time. During that time he worked for me and would later go on to work for Manchester City Council for at least 27 years,” said Broadeent.

0 thoughts on “UNBELIEVEABLE……MAN WHO HAD BEEN LIVING IN THE UK FOR OVER 50 YEARS NOW STRANDED IN JAMAICA

1. Chuet it may not be so easy but Britain of all places should never refuse any country that they ruled and drained for many years

1. So true Met but they do have a assimilation rule too which I think after 30yrs would come into play here he just needs proof n witnesses n they should b able to work it out

1. If you was born in the U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS you would be an American citizen.If you was born in Jamaica before they got independence why is it you are not a British citizen?
    Wake up Jamaica.

1. Yuh know seh mi Neva really tink bout that but yuh really have a point, how come people weh born a all Cayman to Caymanian parents a British citizen so the same should ring true for those born before we gained so called “independence”

2. OMG, You mean to tell me say, No one told this man after living in England for sooooo many years to get his papers saught out? I wonder if he felt entitled to travel back and fourth because of his longevity in Britain? There is so many questions at this point, So him no read??? No man, Him never hear bout the Visa implementation on Jamaicans? Yes something can be done but how long it is going to take? WOW. From I was birth I neva. Cuh pon England to nuh? SMH.

3. You know am just now listening to Cliff Hugh and he’s talking about this man. After all these years ho did he not take care of his papers when he become of age….he applied for a British visa and they turned him down. Now he’s basically trapped in a country that he don’t know after all these years.

4. After all those years though, why even go back? Did his mother not tell him he’s not a resident nor a citizen and he eyed to straighten himself out? This is very sad….I hope he get the help he so Bradley needed.

1. He was in England from there wasn’t any real laws so his papers would have been automatically sorted out a dat mi a think but the U,K embassy wicked fi reject him man

1. The Brits are wicked, the days when him go England a when dem did need whole heap a road work and refurbishing done so dem tek a whole lot of Jamaicans over there fi do the cheap labor so they shouldn’t have given him any issue because a nuff sweat offa him back dem get

1. Shut up and go read the Jamaican Constitution and you will see that people born in Jamaica before 1964 were considered British Citizens. If most Jamaica’s read the would know that. we don’t read so we don’t know our rights and people take advantage of that.

1. The reference you made is why him entitled to automatic citizenship. Some foul bastard made the decision with prejudice and haste.
            As for the gentleman, his mother who took him up so young should have sorted out his documents before or upon turning 18/21 and him there after should have paid some attention to his ROOTS.

2. Your half family doesn’t make you an expert on the Jamaican Constitution. When you have a Jamaican birth Certificate then you can comment on Jamaican issues

1. but u nuh still haffi apply/get things sorted for ur the papers?…he didnt…unuh fool sah

3. No fool is you a di fool. He migrated when Jamaica was called “Jamaica British west Indies”. The Jamaican Constitution that was in effect then and is still uses now, only people pick the parts they feel like, states anyone born in a British Colony is a CITIZEN of the “Parent” country. Suh fool all who did migrate at that time had a British Passport. Jamaica, Australia, Cayman and other colonies had the same passport. And fool just so you know the man couldn’t work for the Council if him naay legal and could a collect pension and have insurance #. So obviously there must be some blunder somewhere

1. get ur glasses mat
            —The reason for that is that Bogle, since leaving Jamaica in 1962 when he was seven years old and just before the country achieved political independence from Britain, never applied for British citizenship. In fact, he said he didn’t renew his Jamaican passport until just before he travelled here on September 29, 2014.—

5. The fact that he was born before 1962 makes him a British subject. I still don’t understand why Jamaicans need a visa when the highest court in Jamaica is the English privy council. I think that needs to be challenged.

1. Exactly Mel, that simply means we are just pawns in a game and only some rules apply to us. The Queen is still or sovereign, we pay the Governor General as our “go between” to the queen and English Privy Council is still our highest court…too many double standards if you ask me. If you ask me England is independent from us not we from them. They are interdependent of us and our responsibilities

6. Suh not even at the airport when him was about to leave dem nevah seh nuttn to him? dem nevah ask him how him reach deh? this is beyond strange. Den him maddah nevah look bout him papers eidah? how on earth dis man nuh know this? this is di weirdest thing mi evah hear bout. Mi agree wid unu, him should have been grandfathered in, dem too wicked man. Hope him issues get resolved soon.

1. But him have identification from there and was working with a company how long so mi woulda really love know wha missing from him thing

1. Him deh a England before people need papers and when the law came in that if u had kids u automatically got status so mi jus don’t get them

1. A wandah if him was always on the straight and narrow? caz dem wi use di anything fi punish him, bwoy man muss feel like a fish out of watah. Feel it fi him Jah know.

1. Summen naah add up….something somewhere, ain’t adding up…although he should have been grandfathered in as Tinan said, he should have still looked about and made certain that all his documents were in order, considering that he hasn’t traveled in over thirty odd years..that should’ve just been ah personal note tuh himself *same way yuh sawt out yuh grip ah yuh barrel is the same way yuh sawt out yuh documents *first* and foremost…

1. Good, how so?….*if you don’t mind me asking* yuh think this man’s situation is ah case where England’s just trying to deport Jamaicans back tuh Jamaica for any given reason??…

7. Too bad for him he is wrong you can’t assume that you can leave and come back to someone’s else country without proper documentation tuff luck he should have send a money back home.

1. Thank you.. I don’t feel sorry for him. All the terrorist crap going on, everyone is taking precaution. For a big mon, it don’t make sense. An who him stay wit a Portland.

8. This man may have legal law enforcement issues. This should be a lesson learned to all. It’s very pathetic that he been there 54 years and never takes the time out to verify is citizenship status.

9. I am going to try and look at his misfortune in a positive way.Maybe God is trying to tell him something and I think it is he should let them send his retirement cheque and stay right there in Portland.England had the benefits of our people but our people never had the benefits of England.Rastafari tell unnu how fi deal wid di so called Queen an unnu naw listen.Wake up Jamaica

10. This man may have legal law enforcement issues. This should be a lesson learned to all. It’s very pathetic that he been there 57 years and never takes the time out to verify is citizenship status.

11. A lot of people seem fi a miss the point…di man move go England from di days when Jamaica, like Cayman was under british rule. Him never need no passport or papers, he was a British subject. When you leaving a country dem nah check yuh papers to return- that’s how people can “self deport”. Him can only blame ignorance- him never know the facts, but the British embassy too evil smh

1. In the article he said ”he never applied for British citizenship ” – he is just a careless man…it’s not the ‘systems’ fault

1. As I stated, his ignorance is to be blamed. However, the British system must have some sort of means to redress the situation. Even in turning him down, they have a responsibility to state why someone who resided in the country LEGALLY as a subject of their government was refused entry.

12. If he left when he was 7 then he was a child. It was up to his parents to work out all of that in the early years, obviously he thought all was well. He better look about his business or he may not even get his proper pension when the time roll around. Quite a few people in their older years having to fight for their pension because of circumstances exactly like this one.
    I hope everything works out for him.

1. On point. The mother has no problem traveling from what we’ve read, so she should have sorted him out.
      Better him find out this way still then to have gotten into some situation where them do a deportation…which on the other hand would have been not so bad because he would have been able to fight it from there.
      I wish him all the best.

13. Good Morning Met,Metters,Peepers nd Others
    nuff a unno weh a cum wid unno unwanted comments fi gweh enuh kmft…a waan tell unno sum real tings but mek a hold it
    I feel so sorry for dis man leave at seven years old years before Ja even got it independence is a pity he didnt know ..he needs a lawyer on dis nd de british dem too damn gud tuh
    (Simplicity soon sign in)

14. Read this article and feel sad for the poor man cause him just naive. I am jaimaican living in uk since i was 5 years old n the truth is there is a lot of ole time ppl living here in same circumstances as this man here, dem cum ya from wappy a kill fillow n nuh got no papers because ina fi dem time papers n things wasnt needed. Its unfair fi ppl a call de man stupiid n tings cause when u nuh know sumin u just dont know. When he renewed his jamaican passport i am surprised that the jamaican high commision never inform him that he need to sort his visa out cause them must did see say him nuh av notin ina him passport. For ppl asking why nobody sed notin to him at airport when he was going n da answer is simple hes got jamaican passport going to jamaica so that nah ring no bells cause jamaica cannot refuse him. Unu fi stop gloat ova ppl misfortune bout him shudda sen money go yard blah blah blah de man just naive n ole kmft ps him soon sorted a just so british immigration gwan lub tun dwn 1st application its all bout moneymaking

15. Ole foot should a sort out his papers in the 50 plus years living abroad this is nothing more then carelessness he have no one to blame but himself

16. Why everyone keep saying his mother should sort his papers am gonna b 34 year s old n I Neva need my mother sort out no paper for me I arrange all my proper documentations n sort it out my self from I was 19. This man is a fool

1. If you migrated as a minor child (the man de a England since age 7) it’s the parents/guardians responsibility to sign off on the documents or do the petition.
      It is reasons like this why Obama did what he did in his immigration bill the other day. Too many children taken abroad without proper documentations over the decades, including those who fall into human trafficking.

2. How you gwine compare yourself to a 7yr old? At 19 you are an adult, him was a minor dependent, you expected di 7yr old fi fill out forms and run up and dung a deal wid immigration business as a minor? Gtfoh with your gloat and boast bullshit! If you nuh understand what is going on then sit back and read, and leff di commenting to ppl wid sense!

17. British subject or not there was still a responsibility whether it was his mother or his self to obtain his citizenhip, my mother was born in jamaica in the 50’s and I remember when she applied for her citizenship when I was younger… havingsaid that I had an uncle who never applied went to jail when he was in his 40’s and they wanted to deport him when his time was finished… This gentleman just needs a solicitor with a little sense and he will be back in the uk in no time.. Hope all goes well for him.

18. fi de few a wi weh have lil reasoning ability and a clear understanding including sympathizing with dis man ere’ lets notpay de rest a dese ppl no mind cuz dem jus not going to see it as how most a wi duh….jus mek dem gwaan write weh dem a write seh,smdh.
    (Simplicity soon sign in)

19. Know this. Britain is in the process of throwing black people under the bus. Even the political party UKIP is saying that Commonwealth immigrants who historically have closer ties to Britain than EU immigrants should have the first priority in immigrating to Britain. Why should European immigrants have priority? It’s racism, plain and simple.
    However, I remember in the eighties when Jamaican immigrants had to look bout their assimilation. I personally know of one woman who came to Britain as a child, had a child in her late teens. That child due to circumstances had to be brought up in Jamaica. Her mother sent back for her when the daughter was eighteen and in the next few years she produced a granddaughter.
    Then the stupid woman got herself inna criminal problems, did a two year stretch (she was in her forties by this time ,late Nineties) and as soon as she left prison she got the shock of her life. She got deported because her mother never look bout her business for her when Maggie Thatcher did tell them to. She’s still in Jamaica now and her granddaughter is a grown young woman.
    This is why my black arse (excuse mi) inna mi forth decade is on a five year plan to tek weh miself to Merka. The racism is plain over there and mi is a plain person. How black people love the Royal family, mi nuh kno…bwoy. We are and have always been collateral to them. Dem wudda try deport born and bred Black people from Britain if it gave whichever political party and the EU political expediency. So even though mi born inna Britian, mi nah tek nuh trust. This man got reverse deported, because he was black (even though him shudda luk bout him ting). Unnuh a tell mi seh dem never know him was dere and not straight when dem did a tek feem tax a mont’ time? The problem with the covert racism in Britain is that there will always be useful idiots that will blame the victim without seeing the bigger picture. Mi still a wonder why nuhbaddi nuh talk dat fi evry dutty political move Merka pull, a Mumma Hinglan teach har. Hinglan a di belly a di beast. She has the ability fi convince the people dat her “tolerance” is love. Unnu tan deh.

1. You know you 100% right. Nobody can knock you comment a Hinglan a di belly a di beast, yes, a dem teach all oddas how fi treat black ppl.
      But you nuh memba seh it was juss bout 8yrs ago dem did a give out 5000 pounds a pay Jcans fi leff di country, and is when dem get called out dem run back in dem hole. Aye sah, when a Black ppl sweat, blood and tears build dem and meck dem an empire, at di end of di day you still considered a liability.

20. I don’t care who wah vex wit my comments this man is a born idiot! Why he Neva look into his legal documents in the half a century him siddung Inna DA ppl them country

21. These people know exactly what they doing and they just don’t care about certain people.They can just jump on a plane come to our country now they want to build prisons over there.But no talk of these people who don’t have no link to England they come in and the council give them house this n that they tell them a garage of lies and they get what they want.and the proof is there just check the people them birth certificate.born b4 independence but no Jamaica is not a white state place.and you know if you black what that is its like a curse.See how they doing them blacks in America.God need to come for him world we not bombing no one n they always treat us like u know what.