TEACHER ASSAULTED BY PARENT ENDS UP IN HOSPITAL

Teacher hospitalised after being assaulted by parent at St. James school

A teacher has been hospitalised after she was physically assaulted by a parent at Dumfries Primary School in St. James on Thursday.

Jamaica Teachers Association (JTA) President Owen Speid told Radio Jamaica News Friday morning that the teacher sustained injuries to her mouth and is awaiting scans for possible head injuries.

He explained that the incident occurred when a parent, upset that her child’s book had not been marked in totality, came to the school and “threw the female teacher to the ground.”

He further explained that the books had not been totally marked because one teacher had gone on school business, leaving another teacher in charge of two separate classes.

Mr. Speid said the JTA will have to make a decisive move to get protection for teachers “so that they can operate in a safe space.”

8 thoughts on “TEACHER ASSAULTED BY PARENT ENDS UP IN HOSPITAL

1. Of I was that teacher, I’d pay one of those Mo-bay bad man to pop off the parents head. I swear on my mother’s life

1. Really. You are highly disturbed to think murder is what needs to be done. May you never know the pain of murder of a loved one.

2. :malu2 We as a people need to get away from the mentality that if a teacher diss my child ,dem haffi get dissed back!!It is counter productive and only serve to escalate tensions in an environment where there is a great need for all stakeholders to work in harmony for best results!!There is no reasonable logic how disagreeing with marking of assignment resulted in the Teacher being assaulted…as ignorant n dark as most parents become if a teacher hits their child,to think it didn’t even reach that “level” n dem a push dung di Teacher, SYM foofool parent! :hoax2

3. All teachers should have a baseball bat in the class room and if anyone shows up with anything other than a gun. The teacher should go Jackie Robinson on they ass, I personally would have a fully loaded glock wid extra clips also, students and dem “gingeration” can get it.

4. Funny thing Uno say this now, but a Uno same one was chastising the Pembroke hall teacher. Plenty a Uno day comment Uno same one say if teacher lik Uno kids Uno kill Dem. Teachers need to walk leave that profession n mek Uno go pay Pvt tutor who will run Dem out a Dem class. Plenty a Uno ungrateful, I wish nuff a Uno parents would have to Shell out some good money for any teacher teach Uno nasty dirty bad broke kids then Uno would appreciate the govt. Teachers more. I wish teachers in those troubled school could just walk out n mek Uno pickney suffer fi education some a Uno parents don’t deserve to have a dog teaching Uno likkle disgusting n rude kids.

5. This is the most bizarre thing I have ever read. An unmarked book? The government should remove the child and all her children out of her care until she attends a mandatory anger management course, complete 500 hours of community service and pay the teacher $100,000 for the abuse. Then when all of that is completed she can get her child/children back. Ridamndiculous.