SUSPECTED CASE OF CORONA VIRUS TRANSFERRED TO KINGSTON HOSPITAL

The woman who was admitted to the Annotto Bay Hospital in St Mary on Saturday with flu-like symptoms has been transferred to a Kingston health facility.

She returned from China in the past week but was admitted after reportedly complaining about a severe headache, weakness, and chills, among other things.

On Saturday evening, Health and Wellness Minister Dr Christopher Tufton issued a statement indicating that the symptoms shown by the patient did not meet the case definition for the Coronavirus.

The Annotto Bay hospital was temporarily shut down as a precautionary measure in light of global concern about the Coronavirus.

Two days ago, 19 Chinese tourists, who arrived at the Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston, were denied landing under Jamaica’s travel ban.

The ban came against the background of the Coronavirus, which has so far killed more than 200 people in China and infecting thousands.

2 thoughts on “SUSPECTED CASE OF CORONA VIRUS TRANSFERRED TO KINGSTON HOSPITAL

1. I hope that stupid lady who made the video rambling about how Jamaicans are wicked sees this. This is one person whom it is unclear if she is infected or not, so imagine the damage from 29 people. The place would be locked down and the death toll would soar. That woman is clueless and doesn’t even have a basic understanding about how viruses spread. Just a chat off har face so with her misinformed self. Did she not listen to the statement issued by WHO? Their concern is not for China but for countries who don’t have the best healthcare systems.

2. father God forbid if this lady really have this virus. The government a mek sure it spread. Why else would they be moving this patient all over the place. why not restrict her to one facility. Minister of health you’re playing a deadly game. you better pray all goes well, cause trust mi it wont go down like how you handled the dengue situation. you a ramp with people lives and the loyalist sheep’s dont see that. How stupid can you be, quarantine the patient until you are sure of her status. unless this is a deliberate act to infect the mass.