SUH MARKETME GET A SET A CONTRACTS FI TRUE

The Ministry of Health and Wellness has released what it says is the chronicle of events relating to its contract with Market Me Consulting.

The release comes after days of questions surrounding the awarding of more than $40 million worth of contracts to Market Me.

The company is behind the ministry’s Jamaica Moves fitness campaign.

A copy of the Ministry’s complete statement is below:

Based on the heightened public discourse on the matter of the ministry’s engagement of the firm Market Me Consulting Limited (hereinafter referred to as “the firm”) the ministry now provides for the information to the general public the chronicle of activities:

On July 12, 2016 the Firm made presentation of a proposal for the implementation of a Social Marketing campaign to support the Jamaica Moves programme as a Component of the National Non-Communicable Disease Strategic Action Plan 2013 – 2018 to the team at the Ministry of Health;

Based on the conclusion of the negotiations, on November 28, 2016, the Ministry made submission to the National Contracts Commission for the approval of an award to the Firm as an unsolicited Proposal (Appendix 1). Under Volume 2, Section 1.2.1 of the HANDBOOK OF PUBLIC SECTOR PROCUREMENT PROCEDURES “An unsolicited proposal may be considered by a Procuring Entity if it: a. demonstrates a unique and innovative concept, or demonstrates a unique capability of the contractor; b. offers a concept or service not otherwise available to the Government; and c. does not resemble the substance of a recent, current or pending Competitive Tender.

Sponsored Links
Prince William Responded to Harry’s Decision With This Heartbreaking Statement
Opulent Express
Before you renew Amazon Prime, read this
Wikibuy
The submission was approved via letter dated December 2, 2016 from the National Contracts Commission (Appendix 2). The approval was for an award of a contract for the amount of Fifteen Million Nine Hundred Thousand and Seven Hundred Dollars ($15,900,700.00).

In June 2017, the ministry signed the contract with the Firm for a period of 12 months (Appendix 3). The contract was concluded on March 2018.

On July 17, 2018 a new Terms of Reference was developed for the Jamaica Moves Campaign to include Jamaica Moves in Schools, Jamaica Moves in Communities and Jamaica Moves in Workplaces (Appendix 4)

On December 18, 2018, a Request for Proposal (RFP) was issued to the Firm with a deadline for submission of December 28, 2018 that was further extended to January 2, 2019. The submission was made by the Firm on January 2, 2019 at 2:15 pm using the two envelop method where the technical and financial proposals were submitted in separate envelops.

On January 3, 2019, approval was granted by the Permanent Secretary for the Utilisation of Direct Contracting under Volume 2, Section 1.1.4(e) of the HANDBOOK OF PUBLIC SECTOR PROCUREMENT PROCEDURES where “follow-on procurement, where a contractor has already provided goods, services or work and additional goods, services or works of a similar nature are required to complete the procurement requirements”. Given the fact that the programme was to continue and similar work was to be done in relation to the delivery of social marketing interventions the approval was granted. (Appendix 5)

An Evaluation Committee was convened on January 8 and 18, 2019 to review the technical proposal. The proposal received an Evaluated score of 65.6 below the threshold score of 70. However, the Evaluation Committee agreed to proceed to open the financial proposal given the fact that the process was a direct contracting assessment. (Appendix 5)

Negotiations were conducted with the Firm on February 5 and 22, 2019. The original in-house estimate for the activity was One Hundred and Sixty-Six Million Three Hundred and twelve Thousand Dollars (J$166,312,500.00) for 24 months. This estimate related to all advertising placement costs, material costs, costs of activations and management/consulting fees. The financial proposal submitted by the firm had a cost of One Hundred and Eighty-Three Million, Three Hundred and Nine Thousand Dollars (J$183,309,000.00). After negotiations it was agreed that the contract would be reduced to a one-year period and placements of advertisements and procurement of items for activations would be undertaken by the Ministry. The total sum of FiftyOne Million, Three Hundred and Fifty Thousand Dollars (J$51,350,000.00) was determined as the ceiling. The firm was requested to further revisit the Financial Proposal given the new determinations and a returned financial of Thirty-Eight Million Nine Hundred and thirty-One Thousand Eight Hundred and Twenty Dollars (J$38,931,820.00) was submitted. (Appendix 5)

On March 22, 2019, the ministry made a submission to the Consultancy and General Services SubCommittee with the recommendation for an award of contract to the Firm in the amount of ThirtyEight Million Nine Hundred and thirty-One Thousand Eight Hundred and Twenty Dollars (J$38,931,820.00) and the matter was then reviewed by the Public Procurement Commission on May 1, 2020. Appendix 6 details the deliberations between the PPC and the ministry and the subsequent approval of the award on May 9, 2019.

It is to be noted that at this time the ministry had been engaged in this process for several months and the risk associated with retendering and restarting the process, which could take upwards of 6 months, was measured.

On July 4, 2019 the contract was signed with the Firm for an amount of Thirty-Eight Million Nine Hundred and thirty-One Thousand Eight Hundred and Twenty Dollars (J$38,931,820.00). (Appendix 7) with 10 deliverables as detailed in Annex C of Appendix 7.

On July 17, 2020 the monitoring of the contract was undertaken by a committee that was responsible for the sign off on all technical aspects of the deliverables and the overall contract management. The contract expired in June 2020 with a total disbursement of Twenty-Seven Million Seventeen Thousand Five Hundred and Seventy-One Dollars and Eighty-Nine Cents (J$27,017,571.89).

Finally, during the period March 17, 2017 to July 20, 2020 other payments have been made to the Firm totaling Thirteen Million Three Hundred and Thirty-Four Thousand Six Hundred FiftyTwo Dollars (J$13,334,652.00) a total of 49 payments ranging from a low of Ten Thousand Dollars (J$10,000.00) to a high of One Million Four Hundred and Forty-Eight Thousand Seven Hundred and Fifty Dollars (J$1,448,750.00). Appendix 8 has the listing of all located payments that have been made by the Ministry of Health. The ministry has also provided the payment documents which can be reviewed with the link https://cloud.moh.gov.jm/s/4o6kBTZFfHP6K8D. If we are able to locate any additional information we will update the listing and provide the information in similar format.

19 thoughts on “SUH MARKETME GET A SET A CONTRACTS FI TRUE

1. Ministry of Health had all that money, yet hospitals around the island dont have proper equipments to deal with child labor and the sick. Even to purchase equipments and make improvements in small steps for hospitals and medical center, that would have helped a whole lot. MOH spent all that money to a company, just to receive trophies and good name? This is madness!

1. Can you image he’s goes to bed with hook nose Lyndsey laughing at us about all the money they are taking in the name of Market Me Let Move ( mind you it’s Michelle Obama style they stole). While they could just us Patrice of Dynamics Lifestyle we would have gotten better results lower marketing rate. I’m waiting on Sister Kali Scott file to be sorted through. I think they should have focus more on the food we consume because you cannot workout ️‍♀️ a bad diet. Jamaican needs let go off flour and white rice.

1. ‘Her father is the undersecretary for trade at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade in Kingston. From 1999 to 2005, he was the Jamaican ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago and to Suriname. Her mother is a business development officer at First Global Bank in Kingston’. This was taken from the new york time. How did Kaili mother move from HiLo supermarket to big position in the bank?

Freelancer Kaili Scott didn’t have to break a sweat in real estate, who would? With these two as relatives (father and step mother) Ms. Gyles-McDonnough is married to Ambassador Lorne McDonnough, CEO of the CARICOM Development Fund.

Follow the money…. I wonder what the father had to say about his daughter entanglement? Mr. CDF were you the one who taught your girls how to hustle and flow…wid di people money, since you was big big officer with access to millions of caricom funds.
        The pot just start stir….

2. PussyClaat so much money given to Market Me ( The Firm). While all of Jamaica hospitals in well need of renovation along with equipments, new technologies, additional rooms ect. Jamaicans stop be docile now. COVID-19 is a blessing in disguise for us. Time to be revolutionary we really want more. I love that these politicians cannot go to America hospital at this time because of COVID-19. Let’s fight the power these so call uptown people are bunch of thieves. We need to stop give them power by association of Uptown mean wealth and upper echelon they are only some body in Jamaica. They are no bodies in other parts of the world.

1. I agree their outward appearance isnt ugly ( now their insides are up for debate) but this wasnt her man giving her business from his own private business or entity. This was public funds from a country thats alreasdy suffering

2. Pay that person 7:09 no mind. It’s full of jealousy and self hate. She ugly but the man obsessed and lef him wife for her. She ugly but she get billion dollar contract. A she still a win wid her ugly self. Now suppose she did pretty? 7:09 jealousy is not a good look my dear.

3. Roll call
    Chris tuftgong – present
    Lyndsey McDonough- present
    Neadene Shields- absent

Class is in session

4. Jamaica will never prosper with these people in positions of authority. They all came to con the masses. Their only objective is to set themselves and their children straight, they do not care about the general public. These are not elites, they are crooked people with the access to money that doesn’t belong to them. God will beat them when their time comes.

5. She was not the only beneficiary of the funds from those contracts. I’m sure a few others “eat-a-food”. Her organization was just a conduit for the flow of funds from the MOH.

6. It is in indeed tragic that all that money was spent on a marketing campaign when hospitals are in dire straits and hospital personnel are called to perform simple tasks without basic equipment. This is tragic on every level.

This campaign could have been a 10000 times cheaper if they contracted some ppl in cars with loudspeakers going into the rural places, few callers on the street corners in major cities, some folks going into schools and business places giving live seminars and hand out some pamphlets, look how many local ppl would have benefitted from being part of the movement of change. Di rest of money would be there to do real ministry work like making sure hospitals have the basics and buying some new and needed equipment. The government have to think differently from the private sector. Look at this wastage of public funds and local hospitals and clinics a bawl fi simple gloves and alcohol. Utterly shameful!!!

7. Do you know how many ambulances this money could buy? And the sad part is, people lick out against you when you denounce corruption. How can jamaica and her citizens lives improve if this mass corruption is allowed to continue? People has got to put party politics behind them and recognise the truth. Those who turned a blind eye is just as guilty as these corrupted politicians and their friends and lovers and family. Shameful.

8. A PURE FCKIN BADMIND UNNU DEH PON. CALL OUT THE MAN…BUT U GUYS STRAYING. UNDER PUSSY BIZ.. SO A POOR PPL FI GET BUN ALONE…THIS THE REASON WE KEEP KILLING EACH OTHER

9. How much married man fuck some bitches pon yah.in every hole an y’all no get nutten…cheating new to u guys…Minister’s on both sides. Ha pickney outside mind ur buisness tings a rotten roun u guys. Don’t u smell it