SAME GENDER COUPLE TOOK BAKERY TO COURT BECAUSE THEY WOULD NOT BAKE THEIR WEDDING CAKE

lakewood-bakery-couple
DENVER (CBS4) – The owner of a bakery in Lakewood said he will no longer sell wedding cakes after the Colorado Civil Rights Commission ruled he did discriminate against a gay couple when he refused to sell them a cake.
Jack Phillips owns Masterpiece Cakeshop. In 2012, David Mullins and Charlie Craig went to the shop to order a cake for their upcoming wedding reception. They planned to marry in Massachusetts and have a reception in Colorado.
Charlie Craig, left, and David Mullins (credit: CBS4)
Phillips said he doesn’t believe in gay marriage and he refused to sell them a cake.
“We would close down the bakery before we would complicate our beliefs,” Phillips said after the hearing. Phillips also admitted he had refused service to other same-sex couples.
A judge previously ruled a business owner cannot refuse service to a customer on the basis of sexual orientation. Phillips appealed to the commission, but it upheld the decision.
That prompted Phillips to decide he would no longer make any wedding cakes. He said he would be fine selling cupcakes for a birthday party for someone who is gay but added, “I don’t want to participate in a same-sex wedding.”
The commission also ordered the baker to submit quarterly reports about the customers he refuses to serve and retrain employees to serve everyone.
For the couple, they said they always believed they were in the right and it was important to pursue the case for future customers.
“We’ve already been discriminated there,” Mullins said. “We’ve already been treated badly.
“The next time a gay couple wanders in there asking for a wedding cake, they won’t have the experience we had.
“They will have a responsible experience and leave feeling respected.”

0 thoughts on “SAME GENDER COUPLE TOOK BAKERY TO COURT BECAUSE THEY WOULD NOT BAKE THEIR WEDDING CAKE

1. Morning Met and bloggers, mi seh mi just angry fi dem dutty germs yah, how yuh fi force people fi put down dem religious beliefs and serve yuh? Mi just cant wait fi Massa God tek back him world. weeping n wailing n gnashing of teeth, sick stomach dranko dem.

2. This is exactly what I was talking about. Going around forcing everyone to accept you lifestyle. Look how much cake shop deh bout, but because they have an agenda to force everyone to accept them they will always hunt down fi ban ppl. or sue. Isnt it enough that I leave you alone and go in peace. As a black woman I know Im hated by lots of other races. Once they dont harm me, Im good with it, or should I know be suing people for their beliefs…smh.

3. Suh since dem suh powerful an full ah connections worldwide….mek dem neva fly een dem battyman baker?? Dem nuh up eena di baking industry tuh??? Ah wah dis Fawda???

4. As mi deh Yawdy is not day couldn’t find no baker but Dem feel empowered now fi bully ebreybody roun Dem.love Dem or pay the price…Father God ….come dung yasso …..

5. Mi sorry fi di bridal shops. Dem ago carry di owners ah court because dem nuh hab no male mannequin ah display di bridal frock dem either??? What a world wi lib inna :malu2

6. Mi wouldn’t bake no wedding cake fe dem needa. Look how America big. Mek dem go find a batteyman baker fe do dat shit. I agree wid de Baker for NOT participating in no damn same – sex wedding.