PORTIA DRESS UP DI SOCIAL MEDIA WARRING

Portia slaps comrades
Furious PM warns: Don’t test me; stop the fight on social media now!

BY SUNDAY OBSERVER POLITICAL WRITER

Sunday, December 20, 2015

Print this page Email A Friend!

SIMPSON MILLER … Don’t test me, or else there will be consequences (Photo: File

Prime Minister and President of the ruling People’s National Party (PNP) Portia Simpson Miller has warned executive members of her party against fighting personal battles on social media.

Failure to respect her request to desist from washing their dirty clothes in the public space, the Prime Minister said, would result in “severe consequences”, she told a meeting of the party’s National Executive Council (NEC), the organisation’s second highest decision- making body.

The first is the party’s Annual Conference. The NEC meeting, held at the Jamaica Conference Centre, downtown Kingston, last Sunday, also saw the party leader presenting all 63 candidates who will represent the PNP in the next general election, which those close to her believe will be held by February 2016.

Constitutionally, Jamaicans should go to the polls by the end of December 2016, but Simpson Miller is allowed a further three months to announce the date, which would take the country up to the end of March 2017. However, word emerged earlier this year that Simpson Miller would call an early election

ZZ2E387A25-Optimized

. That information was later doused by the prime minister’s revelation in late November that she would not disenfranchise over 36,000 new voters whose names appear on the latest voters’ list, published November 30.
But it was at the NEC meeting that Simpson Miller vented her disgust at how members of her party were barking at each other like pooches at odds.

Apart from squabbles in deciding candidates in certain seats across Jamaica, the latest incident that apparently triggered the PNP president’s anger was the tracing match between Member of Parliament for St Andrew East Rural Damion Crawford and PNP Vice-President Angela Brown Burke, who is also mayor of Kingston.

Crawford opened the verbal bowling from the Eastern Caribbean end, when he posted on his Facebook page on December 10: “Thank God Angela Brown Burke’s punishment never extended to St Vincent; up here nice,” in reference to an invitation to address the youth rally of the ruling Unity Labour Party of Prime Minister Ralph Gonzalves, which subsequently triumphed eight seats to seven in the December 9 general election over the Opposition New Democratic Party, which has still not accepted the result.

Party insiders said Crawford, who is minister of state in the Ministry of Tourism and Entertainment, did not get Brown Burke’s support as he battled to keep his seat in a tense fight with businessman Peter Blake.

Brown Burke, however, has denied that claim. Sources inside the PNP added that Brown Burke’s husband, Paul Burke, the party’s general secretary, and chairman of the PNP’s Region Three, which comprises the Corporate Area, and Phillip Paulwell, also did not support Crawford.

Blake got the nod in the two-man race, but was later replaced by Senator Imani Duncan Price as the candidate for the next election. Crawford, also, was not supported by the same three when he was put forward as a compromise candidate for the Trelawny North seat.

In direct response to the Facebook post, Brown Burke stood up to Crawford with a straight bat: “Damion Crawford, lef mi name alone. Ask Ralph (Gonzalves) if a nuh me tell him fi mek you come.” Crawford responded: “Angela Brown Burke, Ralph not even mention you as someone to say hello to…ur influence nuh pass William Grant Park.”

Brown Burke, who is also a senator, fired the latest salvo: “I’m always grateful for my experience with my four boys. I’m used to dealing with childish behaviour and attention- seeking tantrums. I’m grateful too, that I’ve been able to act as a parent such that I’m now proud of the men you have become.

I pray for continued wisdom to deal with other childish behaviour from ‘adults’ around.” Simpson Miller, though, has had enough of the social media exchanges and did not mince words at the NEC meeting. “All of you who are talking on social media, you need to stop it.

As leaders you cannot behave like that. Leaders are supposed to set examples for all others to follow. You would never do that under Michael Manley, so why do you do it under my leadership,” said the prime minister, who celebrated her 70th birthday on the previous day, December 12, two days after the 91st anniversary of Michael Manley’s birth.

“I am warning you, don’t test me. I came through the system the hard way, so don’t test me,” she repeated. “If you continue to behave like that on social media, there will be severe consequences,” she said to applause, including a subdued one from Brown Burke who sat close to her.

The NEC meeting was told that the PNP had surged ahead of the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party by a slender margin in the latest unpublished opinion poll, but officials continue to be concerned about the waning fortunes of some sitting members of the House of Representatives and their ability to hold onto key seats that will have a positive effect on the party’s chances in the election.

Among the seats that Simpson Miller and the party are concerned about are St Andrew Eastern, represented by Andre Hylton; St Mary South East (Dr Winston Green); St Mary Western (Jolyan Silvera); Portland Eastern (Dr Lynvale Bloomfield); St James Central, which will be represented by attorney-at-law and former JLP member Ashley- Ann Foster, who has replaced the incumbent Lloyd B Smith; St Elizabeth South West, which has Hugh Buchanan as its MP who defeated Dr Chris Tufton by 13 votes in 2011; St Ann South West, which has Keith Walford as the sitting MP; Hanover Eastern, which was won by a mere 10 votes by outgoing MP Dr DK Duncan.

On the other hand, the PNP hierarchy appears to be encouraged by what one veteran described as “strong gains” made in constituencies now held by JLP MPs, including Patricia Duncan Sutherland in Clarendon South East, represented by trade unionist Ruddy Spencer, who beat Dereck Lambert by 107 votes in 2011; cricketer Darren Powell in St Elizabeth North West, a seat held by veteran JC Hutchinson, who scored an 866-vote win over the PNP’s Richard Rowe in 2011; Noel Donaldson in St James East Central held by Edmund Bartlett; Val Wint, who lost Manchester North East by 573 votes to the incumbent Audley Shaw in 2011, and Rudyard ‘Kippy’ Mears in St Catherine South West, who is going up against firebrand MP Everald Warmington, known for his disrespectful behaviour, particularly to journalists. Warmington beat the PNP’s Anthony Ewbanks by 926 votes last time.

Although the parties have said they have taken a break from campaigning in observance of the Christmas season, candidates are still busy visiting constituencies to shore up support.

13 thoughts on “PORTIA DRESS UP DI SOCIAL MEDIA WARRING

1. Hear yah ” Don’t test me” Sis P u a gansta to di T…lol. Hello unu nuh tess har yahn. Sis P dem coulda nevah do dah und Manley because u and him is two totally diffrant summady, all a dem things yah wah a gwahn undah u gov. nevah didah happen undah Manley suh is not dat alone…suh if u a throw out dah u need fi look uself innah di mirror ah oh, and nuh tess mi tongue tiday yah…dwl

2. The only thing that could possibly be said in her defense is that indeed dissent is not new to the PNP.Several ministers gave Michael Manley a warm time openly too! There were the communists led by Trevor munroe dem n don’t tell me unno forget the revolt of DK Duncan.DK did all tek away Bev from Gallist Michael,even gun draw!!Tinan it was never this bad though cuz ultimately Manley was a leader n he took charge!Even stevie wonder can see that Portia isn’t in charge n is really a figurehead making idle threats!Why she never tell Dayton n di Ras fi leave our poor Lil demented beauty queen Lisa??Look how dem attack her fav dinner fish n make di Price drop to zero n a Redman come dash him away?

3. Them reaping what them sow, ( PNP ) but I will address one thing, DK never hated Michael, that was just a weakness on DK part, as he knew Manley business more than all the rest of them, cause don’t tek Michael for no toy, is a hard core Gallis that, but at the end of the day, DK was the one in his corner when all hell broke loose up a Hope road, gun draw yes! But the gun was drawn in the comrade leader defense, I know this for a fact, I am not asking no question about nothing, when comes to Michael era of politics, now them can run over me, I know nothing about them, as I chose not to. Dk was still the most loyal of the pack, the Beverley thing, was what the rest of shit house them think ,that would render Michael helpless with out Duncan ,but they proved to be dead wrong about that so bad. The general move to them wicked, when big boss call fi him, mi nah ask nuh baddi nuh questions, mi sketel was right there bawling fi Manley, I can say it cuz a never mi one a bawl, suh them haffi figure out a who mi be

4. Yes Lalibela, I know the inside story, not what the streets assumption, I just stay clear from political issues, as I know way too much, and the corruption that comes with it , and if they could over throw a man as powerful as Manley, what would they do to, so when I refused to discuss certain things, is to safe guard other people life, I can say things that will rock the core of Jamaica, would it will have dire consequences, so you see no evil, hear no evil, most of all, speak no evil. That the reason why I hate politics on a different level, I detest both parties, none is good for the people, and the type of secrets that I are compelled to take to the grave. I often wonder about Portia, she was loyal to Michael, I have known that to be facts,and I didn’t worry about her being dunce at the time, because she was groomed by the best, some times I really wonder if the devil, mi not even ago call them demon name out of my mouth, obeah, cuz mi nuh put it pass him, cause that’s what him come in a the people them party come do, I can’t believe that she just make 360 degree turn, and just forgot all she was thought, back in those days she was like Mary, and Michael was like Jesus to her,Portia how great has the Mighty fallen, published in not in the streets of Jamaica lest the uncircumcised JLPs rejoice.

5. Sketelbam, I totally agree with you. However, things have gotten so bad that I am willing to put my life n the line–if it means that the ones will finally get to know the truth about our history.

Further hoping that the new knowledge or corrected knowledge will stimulate a revolution in thinking and actions.

Michael Manley is the exception; I support him and his ideas and not the party. The party as is and for a long time, is a waste of time. Even PJ, from way back in the 50’s was a great organizer and asset to the party and the country.

Manley’s conviction is just different. He did not grow up wanting much and his father was the perfect example/role model and that might be the reason why this privileged man, being mindful of the underprivileged status of the greater masses and decided to make a positive difference.

6. Portia is one old dunce. She need fi step down and allow Peter Phillips to run the party. Peter P has been the most competent Finance Minister since Independence, he has also served in some of the hardest ministries. Step down Portia, yuh time over, yuh just wrecking the party. Her master need fi touch har wid him boots inna har backside. After Peter gets his run, wi have Lisa or Bunting or even Crawford fi run wid the baton. No shortage of talent. Team Peter to the world.

1. You need to stop while you’re ahead! A yu uncle or daddy?? lol…go elsewhere go campaign. Peter Phillips hand always in a cookie jar…frigging thief!

Tell patterson say jmg cannot be bought or operated like marronets.

1. Labourite PhantomPhoenix, you are not allowed to comment on any issues related to the PNP, unless you get my permission. A warn you before that you are too daft to be in the middle of Comrade business. Pay more attention to your green party. Don’t let me talk to you again…yuh hear?