PERSONALITY DISORDERS…LETS SEE WHO YOU CAN IDENTIFY THAT SUFFERS FROM THESE

Hello Met,
I wonder who fall under these category:

Histrionic personality disorder

People with histrionic PD lack a sense of self-worth, and depend for their wellbeing on attracting the attention and approval of others. They often seem to be dramatizing or ‘playing a part’ in a bid to be heard and seen. Indeed, ‘histrionic’ derives from the Latin histrionicus, ‘pertaining to the actor’. People with histrionic PD may take great care of their appearance and behave in a manner that is overly charming or inappropriately seductive. As they crave excitement and act on impulse or suggestion, they can place them- selves at risk of accident or exploitation. Their dealings with others often seem insincere or superficial, which, in the longer term, can adversely impact on their social and romantic relationships. This is especially distressing to them, as they are sensitive to criticism and rejection, and react badly to loss or failure. A vicious circle may take hold in which the more rejected they feel, the more histrionic they become; and the more histrionic they become, the more rejected they feel. It can be argued that a vicious circle of some kind is at the heart of every personality disorder, and, indeed, every mental disorder.

Narcissistic

Personality Disorder involves arrogant behavior, a lack of empathy for other people, and a need for admiration-all of which must be consistently evident at work and in relationships. People who are narcissistic are frequently described as cocky, self-centered, manipulative, and demanding. Narcissists may concentrate on unlikely personal outcomes (e.g., fame) and may be convinced that they deserve special treatment. Related Personality Disorders: Antisocial, Borderline, Histrionic. Narcissism is a less extreme version of Narcissistic Personality Disorder. Narcissism involves cockiness, manipulativeness, selfishness, power motives, and vanity-a love of mirrors. Related personality traits include: Psychopathy, Machiavellianism.

Narcissists

tend to have high self-esteem. However, narcissism is not the same thing as self-esteem; people who have high self-esteem are often humble, whereas narcissists rarely are. It was once thought that narcissists have high self-esteem on the surface, but deep down they are insecure. However, the latest evidence indicates that narcissists are actually secure or grandiose at both levels. Onlookers may infer that insecurity is there because narcissists tend to be defensive when their self-esteem is threatened (e.g., being ridiculed); narcissists can be aggressive. The sometimes dangerous lifestyle may more generally reflect sensation-seeking or impulsivity (e.g., risky sex, bold financial decisions)

Symptoms

Reacts to criticism with anger, shame or humiliation
Takes advantage of others to reach his or her own goals
Exaggerates own importance
Exaggerates achievements and talents
Entertains unrealistic fantasies about success, power, beauty, intelligence or romance
Has unreasonable expectation of favorable treatment
Requires constant attention and positive reinforcement from others
Is easily jealous
Disregards the feelings of others, lacks empathy
Has obsessive self-interest
Pursues mainly selfish goals

Kleptomania (klep-toe-MAY-nee-uh) is the recurrent failure to resist urges to steal items that you generally don’t really need and that usually have little value. Kleptomania is a serious mental health disorder that can cause much emotional pain to you and your loved ones if not treated.

Kleptomania

is a type of impulse control disorder — a disorder that’s characterized by problems with emotional or behavioral self-control. If you have an impulse control disorder, you have difficulty resisting the temptation or drive to perform an act that’s excessive or harmful to you or someone else.

Many people with kleptomania live lives of secret shame because they’re afraid to seek mental health treatment. Although there’s no cure for kleptomania, treatment with medication or psychotherapy may be able to help end the cycle of compulsive stealing

23 thoughts on “PERSONALITY DISORDERS…LETS SEE WHO YOU CAN IDENTIFY THAT SUFFERS FROM THESE

1. Met that mean a good lil while G pon the wall then?Cuz how she know Bout demons of future past??

1. Well me nah look Inna nuh mirror enuh G!! Why u never tell me b4 hand that is the same summon spell like Candyman,candyman..Candyman oo?

1. Histrionic is Bob all the way!
            So it loud up and we reject it it get extreme, for down and come back again.

1. Hurry up and Send in a few more categories please cause mi nuh fit dem one yere and mi well curious.

1. Gm sweetest ukkibit,well I was saying n thinking the same thing but PP makes a compelling n spot on case for Robbas so at least 2!

I think u are newish but dearest Dino “G” can tell yuh the likes of that histronic blogger will never be matched on the wall ever again!

2. Big up the sender and MET for posting this.
    I’ve been saying this for years that personality disorders are very rampant in Jamaica especially in the dancehall crowd. I read an article in the Jamaica observers addressing this very issue and I’m glad it’s getting some shine on pink wall. If you crack open a DSM and observe the personalities of various individuals you encounter in Jamaica it’s clear most of them are suffering from these disorders but the interesting overall is how accepting and how unstigmatizing these personality traits are on the island……

1. Remember we were talking about it last year and a seh bout di 40% findings but it look like a true.. We need more research though because Jamaican thief a di only thief mi know whey when dem tek u things and u try get dem by way of the law dem seh yuh a try stop dem food

3. lots of mad ppl fi real who are undiagnosed, Jamaican people(not all, some) thinks that unless a man a walk and tear up paper and talk to himself then him nuh have a mental illness, but there are so many forms of mental illness, that goes untreated, and it is sad