NYPD SETTLES RAMARLEY GRAHAM CASE FOR 3.9M

unnamed-39
MI SORRY MI WOULDNT TEK DIS AMOUNT!
The New York Daily News reported that the family of slain Bronx teen Ramarley Graham agreed to accept $3.9 million from the city Friday to settle their wrongful death lawsuit, the Daily News has learned.
The settlement comes amid an ongoing federal investigation by Manhattan U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara into possible civil rights violations against the NYPD cops involved in the Feb. 2, 2012 fatal shooting.
Officer Richard Haste, who fired the fatal shot after chasing Graham, 18, from the street into his home, was initially indicted by the Bronx district attorney for manslaughter, but a judge threw out the case on a legal technicality.
A second grand jury declined to indict the cop.
Police officials said Haste mistakenly thought Graham was had a gun.
City Law Department spokesman Nick Paolucci said: “This was a tragic case. After evaluating all the facts, and consulting with key stakeholders such as the NYPD, it was determined that settling the matter was in the best interest of the City.”
Haste does not have to pay a dime toward the settlement, a source said.
Graham’s estate will receive $2.95 million; his brother will receive $500,000 and his grandmother $450,000 because they were in the home at the time of the shooting, sources said. Graham’s mother, Constance Malcolm, will also receive $40,000,the sources said.
Besides emotional damages, the family also sought compensation for their alleged mistreatment by police who detained them after the shooting.
Police Officer Richard Haste fired the fatal shot. He was initially indicted for manslaughter in Graham’s death, but a judge tossed it on a technicality.
SETH WENIG/AP
Police Officer Richard Haste fired the fatal shot. He was initially indicted for manslaughter in Graham’s death, but a judge tossed it on a technicality.
After Graham was gunned down in the bathroom, cops allegedly threatened to shoot his grieving grandmother, according to the suit filed in Bronx Supreme Court.
“Why did you shoot him? Why you killed him?” Patricia Hartley allegedly asked the officer who had just fired a fatal bullet into her grandson’s chest.
“Get the f— away before I have to shoot you, too,” the suit alleged Haste warned after pushing the 58-year-old backward into a vase.
Police had claimed that Graham was suspected of participating in a drug deal.
Cops chased him into his Williamsbridge home without a warrant and Haste claimed that he had heard over the police radio that Graham was armed. A a small bag of marijuana was recovered.
The suit also accused the NYPD of trying to cover up the killing, failing to properly train officers and engaging in racial discrimination through the stop-and-frisk policy.
Graham’s death sparked numerous protests in the Bronx and other parts of the city by demonstrators calling for justice.

0 thoughts on “NYPD SETTLES RAMARLEY GRAHAM CASE FOR 3.9M

1. No amount of money can fix this unfortunate, painful, emotional and f***ed up situation BUT $3.9 wharra???? Kmt. Dem couldn’t even pay mi that fi mek mi stop cry. Duppy know who fi frighten. The family has always said it wasn’t about the money, which I honestly believe. So I think that’s why they don’t wanna make a big deal by asking for more, since ppl may assume that it really is about the money. Well, if a me dem could assume all dem want mi nay go tek dat. I wonder if they realize the gravity of that cold blooded murder???

2. I guess that’s a cheap payout to not charge the officer n let him get away with murder I would never accept that

3. What is the cost of a black man’s life? 3.9M is a slap in the face. This family got no justice in the criminal court oor the civil court. Sad all around, and a Monday is the anniversary of his death.

4. Yes mi agreee wid mamacita
    An its me.
    No amount of money could compensate
    The pain an agony of losing my son
    Mi live inna a bronx an this little
    Bwoy dont have nuh criminal past.
    De lawyer weh work pon dis case ah idiot.
    Cause mi nuh dem never represent dem self.
    Dis is definitely ah slap in the face.
    Justice is not served here i woulda
    Refuse dat money straight
    This was ah devastating blow.
    Altering the lives of many
    An this family should of receive.
    10 times more than what they receive
    For taken ah innocent life.
    This mom will always wonder what
    Her son would of come out to be.
    Not hearing his voice his laughter
    Etc.
    I see cases were the city has settled
    In the 20 of millions an dem take 2.9 million
    Yuh know how de city happy bout dat
    cause dem coulda get more an yes
    Its not about money but de compensation shoulda fit de crime
    Star

5. Well i do think she should be compensated.but 3.5dawgg.. you actually let them kill him again. Cuz what they are saying remarley life ain’t worth shit as a black man. They added up his worth and said that the most money he’ll probably ever earn before someoneelse kills him for free. That really devaluation of another black man’s life. but I’m not in the remarley family shoes. So all i have is my 2cents. But i wouldn’t take that for my son.

6. let’s also keep this in mind too…the lawyer is also looking out for his own personal best interest…the attorney doesn’t have ah personal stake involved in this case, as does he not for all of his other cases, so the attorney just wants tuh be paid his exhorbitant fees and keep it moving on tuh another money making case…less time, more money for the attorney involved if you ask me…

7. there is a God and that Police must pay God does not sleep my heart pains for his mother and father oh God i know for a fact his family cry everyday his mother heart pains his grandmother can’t get what she seen out of her head the little brother good god those tears are on that police for life he would suffer for what he has done

8. GOOD GOD OF GRACE!!!!! 3.9MIL!!!!! FATHER GOD YOU SEE AND KNOW!!!!! JUST LAST WEEK I SAW SOMEONE WHO IS NOT RELATED TO RAMARLEY, CRYING LIKE A BABY FOR HIM, “RAMARLEY AH FI WI PICKNEY!” SHE CRIEDDDD!! 3.9MIL! THAT IS ALL THIS PRECIOUS LIFE WAS WORTH TO THOSE FU@KERS!?! EEH!?! $400,000 CAN AND WILL NEVER ERASE SUCH GRUESOME MEMORY FROM THAT LITTLE BOY OR HIS GRANDMA’S MIND! NY STATE AND THE NYPD IS A SET OF HEARTLESS FU@KERS!!!!!
    NOOOOO AMOUNT OF MONEY CAN SOOTHE THE HEARTS OF THAT FAMILY! I AM DEVASTATED! I PRAY GOD CONTINUES TO GIVE FRANK AND HIS FAMILY THE STRENGTH IT TAKES TO CARRY ON. JAH KNOW STAR, MI HURTTTT!

9. jomakan a fool watch how much milions the frgison parents gonna get. they gone get real money. not just monkey money

10. While it doesn’t bring him back it offers done closure to uncle frank and the family. I think that they just had enough and didn’t want to continue.

11. When it comes to the city and pay outs they have to look into a lot. Payouts are made to what they think the person would have made in their lifetime according to their job, education and so on and the amount of dependants that they have. Yes he was young and had his whole live ahead of him but that’s how it’s done. plus the family i’m sure just want to move on. just sad all around

12. Why are these officers taking it upon themselves to do their own justice kill and ask later if they survive. I don’t see any of these accused officers going to jail/punished for their crimes. It’s like they get a pat on their backs for killing people. Regardless what they thought this young man was doing he had no write gunning him down like that and on top of that in his home and in front of family. I just don’t understand what type of justice system the united states have because we are animals here just for slaughter it seems. I hope whatever is being done that the family can at least get some type of closure or relief…