NO MONEY NO GLOVES (SISTER P GOVERNMENT)

pnp
Someone commented a few days ago that her father went to the Spanish Town hospital and they were washing gloves and reusing them. Gloves that they can get for less than one U.S dollar a box if they buy in bulk..Gloves that are supposed to help stop the spread of germs..Hospital dont have…But the biggest disgrace I think is the light-bill that the government owes JPS and cannot pay it off. The present government owes JPS well over 3million USD which is over 3 billion Jamaican dollars. Paulwell only paying the bill in bits fi keep the light on but the amount whey di government owe keep going up. What is next for Jamaica?

15 thoughts on “NO MONEY NO GLOVES (SISTER P GOVERNMENT)

1. Can you imagine,the government sell off JPS fi come owe JPS this bag a money. SHAME ON THEM.
    Afternoon Met and Metters

2. Hundreds a jps streetlights not working though n the govt pnp n jlp still had to be paying over the years.So that figure must come down to 2billion from 3billion.Yes it is a national disgrace cuz gloves is the cheapest item in any hospital.What is next is fi dig an escape tunnel hole or dig a deeper hole to hell,depending on who we the ppl choose at the upcoming poll.Choose wisely Jamaica!!

3. It is a national disgrace when the government cannot meet its basic responsibilitied to it people. One which is paying the light bill for its national hospital and another is reusing inexpensive disposalable gloves. Portia, should be ashamed to ask Jamaicans for their vote. She has been a national and international disgrace.

1. Essentially what you are saying is that the government cannot afford free health care for the masses. We should revert to having people pay as you go. Have you seen the waiting room at many of the private doctor’s office? This is doctors where patients have to pay and the waiting rooms are full of patients. So, many Jamaicans CAN afford to pay for medical services.

4. You know we can actually buy these things and donate them to the hospitals?
    Ever heard of the Great Ormond Street hospital? One of the best hospitals in the world,yet they are what are because of charity.This is in the UK where the NHS is funded by tax and a parliamentary act .
    Hospitals are very expensive to run.Please buy and send what you can afford,they will appreciate it.
    Buy it on Alibaba.com

1. Good point. What is not be discussed is the number of doctors who are actually stealing government supplies and using them in their private practice. A lot of donated equipment to hospitals in Jamaica end up being missing in action, especially, these small portable ultrasound machines and other portable equipment.
      There was this high profile doctor who happens to head up a major section of one of the public hospitals and also have his private practice on the side. He was sending his private patients to the public hospitals for expensive exams (X-ray, etc.) and was charging the patients for the exams, yet the government wasn’t getting a dime for these exams, even though the exams were being done using government resources (equipment/personnel). So, we can criticize the GOJ for all sorts of things, but you have to be in the system to understand how many trusted individuals divert government resources.
      The same is true for patients who get government subsidized medications (elderly) and how some of the Private Pharmacies were ripping off the government through this program.

1. Well it is sad that this happens. This should not be allowed, but it is the responsibility of the GOJ to protect its assets and resources. The GOJ should set up the proper intrenal controls so things like this don’t occur. The thing is everyone turns a blind eye and those who should be concerned and do nothing are the ones who stand to loose the most.

2. Do not donate no damn gloves! Patty tax alone could buy such items. Accountability as to why such a BASIC item isn’t readily available is what onu fi demand answers fah before onu go vote…tek to social media and ask them whey we money de?

5. Ah from long time we a hear say a self reliance we fi invest in n it look like the people inna Portland wah pave them own road get it. The time people a style themselves as flossing king n a boast how much name brand them have up, them couldan a tek $130 buy 1300 glove n drop off ova the hospital in them community. Them who a keep big year to year dance n don’t help their community is just as bad as government. CLEARLY government nuh business, full time now fi take certain things into your own hand. Me nah cuss the lady wah see them a wash the glove but if a me like she, politician haffi chuck through them parents bout vote. wise up nuh man

6. I agree with what is said above:
    1. Accountability for those in power to actually do their jobs, this include medical personels and politicians that are stealing, we have to do better and punish or fire those who refuse to do a good job. Jcans are hardworking by nature so no problem to replace these thieves with credible hardworking people
    2. Playing and active role in our communities and also doing our part
    3. Changing our mindset and seeing priorities, community uplift rant rather than flossing. Look at that little girl who is donating 1000 books to kids inSt. Mary.
    Met, it is wonderful that you are highlighting what everyday people face and allow open discussions for change, activism, and new ideas. Thank you.

7. This is what happens when Jamaicans wanna live free, free health care, free schools, free light, free water, no tax, free, free, free everything…. yeah I know the reality is not everyone can afford it especially living in this little poor Country but if everything is free uhmm…how the Government is gonna pay dem bills thus a simple thing like gloves. Every Jamaican is responsible for whatever is happening cuz we wah live free n politicians a teeeeef di money!””””””

1. They want freeness and very few are paying ANY form of taxes, except GCT. So many Jamaican works in the underground economy, some making very good income, yet they pay no income taxes. These are the people who complain the most.
      This lady I know was telling me that she has filed for her son to come to the US. When everything was approved, he tells his mother that he is not coming to the US because they like to tax people’s salary (true story). He works in the construction industry in Jamaica and has never paid any form of income tax his entire life (own a house – the guy is in his 40s). These are the same people who want free education and health care, yet contribute very little in the form of income taxes. They don’t even want to pay the light and water bill. The Water Commission (NWC) has over $6 Billion in outstanding water bills.