MI NEVA EVEN MEMBA SEH STING DID A GWAAN

sting3-Optimized

Sting has again lived up to its reputation for drama. The annual Boxing Day dancehall show ended at 6:15 am Sunday, when police halted proceedings at the Jamworld complex in Portmore, St Catherine.

It ended with a number of top acts, including Beenie Man, yet to perform.

Isaiah Laing, the show’s founder and promoter, could not be reached for comment.

This year’s event had an ‘old school’ flavour and was dubbed ‘From Now Till Then’. A number of artistes who shone in the 1980s and 1990s, including Burro Banton, Major Mackerel, Jigsy King, and Tony Curtis, did brief performances.

But marquee acts were unable to take the stage as the police stepped in, four hours past the 2:00 cut-off time.
Known for theatrics, including artiste ‘clashes’ and outrageous fashions, Sting has been a top dancehall draw since it was first held in 1984 at Cinema 2 in Kingston.

Howard Campbell

17 thoughts on “MI NEVA EVEN MEMBA SEH STING DID A GWAAN

1. I wonder if he still has to pay the artistes that didn’t perform, considering that their non appearance was due to poor scheduling. If the answer is no, looks like Laing got the best of both worlds, being able to use the top artistes as part of his promotion and not having to pay them, or at least not having to pay them their full show fee. If that is the case it couldn’t have worked out better for the promoters if the lock off was planned.

By the way, why is social media so silent on Sting 2015. There were only a few people talking about the show days before and after. The only mention I see is a preview of a new song by Popcaan talking about “flop like Sting”.

1. 6:30am and the big acts haven’t performed? What does that tell you? They were no plans for them to enter the stage and doubt many were even booked. The shows was suppose to end at 2:00am and 4-hours later the show was still going. Wouldn’t be surprised if it was Laing, who set up his police friends to lock down the show to save face.
      What do people put up with this nonsense year in year out?

2. Honestly there is a part of me that wishes we could go back to the bottle throwing days of sting!!At least it was the truth crystal clear,if u perform good u get a forward,if not u get a bottle..done! Glory days oo…ching..a pure backle fling a Sting!

3. So nuh true Rasta!? Those Shandy were delicious fi real,i think they were made in Trinidad though.they sure did lick hotter than res stripe bakkle!

4. Laing is a ex cop with nuff police friends in high places and him his portia simpson cousin if you really believe dat police could lock off him show without his approval than I have a bridge to sell yuh.

5. Sting is so old and passe. I can use STING and my 68 year old neighbors’ knees in the same sentence to rawtid. She told me that the ligaments in her knees have worn out. Because of that, she has to be using her cane nowadays to walk. So too has STING! It is like a senior citizen in the stage show world, and is wobbling like a wounded hog to stay alive. Laing, STING done!!!!

1. Laing cant fool people year after year and think it a go work every single year. No integrity with the artistes and sponsors tired of it now wid him.

6. Laing have bigga fish fi fry. Watch di biggiss show aguh keep Spring Break dung a Negril. You heard it first right here on the pink wall!!!!

7. Dah bees sting yah a get betta.. it nuh hot like one time Dem need a new and fresh ting yah now wid a different name and nuff changes but nice music same way

8. Di old strategy weh laing did use fi intimidate n rob artis have run it course, which is giv artis peice a di money fi show up den afta sting him disappear till di nex sting him come back an repeat di same f**kry, di older artis dem had enuff of it an di yunger ones dont want to go tru di same shit as di ones b4 dem…a time fi ppl stop blame di artis dem and put di blame where it belong, laing single handedly destroy di greatest one night show on earth.