MENTAL ILLNESS ON THE RISE IN JAMAICA

Opposition Spokesperson on health, Horace Dalley, says that 107,000 Jamaicans sought treatment for mental health conditions, last year.

However, he pointed out that many persons with mental health issues do not seek treatment, due to the stigma associated with it and how family, friends and their communities treat them after disclosure.

Dalley, who is the past minister of health, said that the previous government had developed a mental health policy framework and strategic plan for the management of mental health, which looked at best practices worldwide and devised strategies to suit local needs, including amendments to the Mental Health Act.

He admitted that local hospitals were not equipped to accommodate mental health patients, leaving patients to exposure to neglect and rejection.

He said that the previous administration had retrofitted the bottom floor of the Kingston Public Hospital (KPH) and deployed specialist nurses to deal with these patients, who were showing up regularly at the wards.
He said that the government cannot tackle the issue on its own, but insisted that there was no need to repackage the response.

He urged the current government to focus on engaging stakeholders which, he said, is critical to the success of the policy.

“I urge you to adopt the policy and protect the gains and give the mentally ill another chance at redemption,” Dalley stated.

9 thoughts on “MENTAL ILLNESS ON THE RISE IN JAMAICA

1. That’s a lot..someone said it on here last week that it’s a big problem in Jamaica after the man kill the girl I’m st ann

1. It nuff when you add the pinkwall sussees, admin,sussers and Diaspora peeps…white, black,chinny 1/2 & 1/4 and those who never seek help :hammer

2. A real high figure, but does not suprise me to be honest. The way the world is going, with pressures of daily life Mental illness is affecting people globally,however I’m pretty sure people who live in rural communities and villages do not suffer from MH as much..we have to ask why!! along with daily stress of life, there is a spritual warfare happening. We have to protect our space and be mindful what and who we let in our lives. Suicide is on the increase, parents killing their children, man killing their women n vice versa. There should b a wider campaign surrounding MH..people in Jamaica need to speak out without fear of discrimination so it can change peoples mindset.

3. I agree with this Article 100% that mental illness is on the rise in JA. Just some basic tings wey solvable end up inna murder, and de average person (the ones I know out here) is just so angry……at just about everything (low pay, no job, high cost of living, no savings, sick health care system, expensive basic food items, people living in fear, and the list goes on). For real, some of these everyday stressors can affect one’s mental health, because the people are just not happy.

4. Hello Met,
    I wonder who fall under these category:

Histrionic personality disorder

People with histrionic PD lack a sense of self-worth, and depend for their wellbeing on attracting the attention and approval of others. They often seem to be dramatizing or ‘playing a part’ in a bid to be heard and seen. Indeed, ‘histrionic’ derives from the Latin histrionicus, ‘pertaining to the actor’. People with histrionic PD may take great care of their appearance and behave in a manner that is overly charming or inappropriately seductive. As they crave excitement and act on impulse or suggestion, they can place them- selves at risk of accident or exploitation. Their dealings with others often seem insincere or superficial, which, in the longer term, can adversely impact on their social and romantic relationships. This is especially distressing to them, as they are sensitive to criticism and rejection, and react badly to loss or failure. A vicious circle may take hold in which the more rejected they feel, the more histrionic they become; and the more histrionic they become, the more rejected they feel. It can be argued that a vicious circle of some kind is at the heart of every personality disorder, and, indeed, every mental disorder.

Narcissistic

Personality Disorder involves arrogant behavior, a lack of empathy for other people, and a need for admiration-all of which must be consistently evident at work and in relationships. People who are narcissistic are frequently described as cocky, self-centered, manipulative, and demanding. Narcissists may concentrate on unlikely personal outcomes (e.g., fame) and may be convinced that they deserve special treatment. Related Personality Disorders: Antisocial, Borderline, Histrionic. Narcissism is a less extreme version of Narcissistic Personality Disorder. Narcissism involves cockiness, manipulativeness, selfishness, power motives, and vanity-a love of mirrors. Related personality traits include: Psychopathy, Machiavellianism.

Narcissists

tend to have high self-esteem. However, narcissism is not the same thing as self-esteem; people who have high self-esteem are often humble, whereas narcissists rarely are. It was once thought that narcissists have high self-esteem on the surface, but deep down they are insecure. However, the latest evidence indicates that narcissists are actually secure or grandiose at both levels. Onlookers may infer that insecurity is there because narcissists tend to be defensive when their self-esteem is threatened (e.g., being ridiculed); narcissists can be aggressive. The sometimes dangerous lifestyle may more generally reflect sensation-seeking or impulsivity (e.g., risky sex, bold financial decisions)

Symptoms

Reacts to criticism with anger, shame or humiliation
    Takes advantage of others to reach his or her own goals
    Exaggerates own importance
    Exaggerates achievements and talents
    Entertains unrealistic fantasies about success, power, beauty, intelligence or romance
    Has unreasonable expectation of favorable treatment
    Requires constant attention and positive reinforcement from others
    Is easily jealous
    Disregards the feelings of others, lacks empathy
    Has obsessive self-interest
    Pursues mainly selfish goals

Kleptomania (klep-toe-MAY-nee-uh) is the recurrent failure to resist urges to steal items that you generally don’t really need and that usually have little value. Kleptomania is a serious mental health disorder that can cause much emotional pain to you and your loved ones if not treated.

Kleptomania

is a type of impulse control disorder — a disorder that’s characterized by problems with emotional or behavioral self-control. If you have an impulse control disorder, you have difficulty resisting the temptation or drive to perform an act that’s excessive or harmful to you or someone else.

Many people with kleptomania live lives of secret shame because they’re afraid to seek mental health treatment. Although there’s no cure for kleptomania, treatment with medication or psychotherapy may be able to help end the cycle of compulsive stealing