JODIAN FEARON HAD HOLE IN HER HEART

First-time mom Jodian Fearon “died a terrible death” from heart failure exacerbated by last-minute pregnancy-related stress at The University Hospital of the West Indies (UHWI), the medical doctor hired to observe her post-mortem has revealed.

Further, the attorney for Fearon’s family has challenged assertions by Health Minister Dr Christopher Tufton that a preliminary assessment has indicated that The UHWI, Victoria Jubilee, and Spanish Town hospitals all followed the protocols for the transfer of patients from a private to a public health facility.

Jephthah Ford, the medical doctor hired by Fearon’s family, told The Gleaner last night that he was present as a team of three doctors conducted the post-mortem on the body of the 21-year-old woman at The UHWI. Prior to the procedure, Ford said he was allowed to view Fearon’s medical records.

He said the records and the post-mortem revealed that Fearon had a pre-existing heart condition – a hole in her heart.

According to Ford, the heart condition was noted in her medical records that were sent to all the hospitals to which she was transferred.

“She died because the heart defect was there, and she went into progressive heart failure, secondary to the stress of her pregnancy,” he said.

Several calls to the cell phone of Nordia Francis Williams, public relations officer at The UHWI, for a comment on the post-mortem went unanswered yesterday.

Ford said that Fearon’s medical records indicated that both she and the unborn child were in distress by the time she was transported to Spanish Town Hospital in St Catherine. “They had to get the baby out of her,” he said.

He said that the loss of more than a litre of blood, and the distress of the delivery, triggered her heart condition.

“It sent her into shock. Because her heart wasn’t getting enough blood, her pulse rate was almost two times normal,” Ford said.

According to his account, she was transferred to The UHWI “in that condition”.

Tufton, speaking in Parliament yesterday, said a preliminary assessment of the reports submitted by The UHWI, Spanish Town, and Victoria Jubilee hospitals indicated that they all adhered to the protocols for the transfer of a patient from a private to a public institution.

But Isat Buchanan, the attorney retained by Fearon’s family, disputed this assertion during an interview with The Gleaner.

The attorney said that a perusal of Fearon’s medical records show that “the minister was ill-advised and misinformed, and, according to Ford, should seek further guidance in clearing, certainly, Spanish Town about the protocol”.

But Tufton, speaking during a press conference yesterday evening, bristled at the suggestion.

“I don’t take orders from … ,” he started, in response to a question before giving a more “diplomatic” answer.

“I have confidence in the team that I have asked to generate the report. I would preferred to be guided by them than anyone else,” he said, making it clear that he respected the family’s right to seek legal advice.

17 thoughts on “JODIAN FEARON HAD HOLE IN HER HEART

1. Stress/distress of the delivery and so much blood loss caused the heart failure. Yet she was transferred to UHWI in that condition to die a terrible death, discovered after she was dead for 20 minutes

This is beyond sad….they ALL should be criminally punished to the fullest extent and their pockets made to feel it.

1. That is all people like you think about with your ghetto money grab. Sorry, this mother was living on borrow time and her heart condition and sudden death was not due to negligence on any health facility.

1. Guh suck yuh mumma!!!!! Guh SUCK OUT yuh mada!!!!!!!!!! Guh DIVE inna di DEEPEST, DARKEST part ah yuh big, stinking fu@k out mumma!!!!!!!!!! Drain out yuh sour mumma and lef’ from ova yasso!!!!!

1. We nuh pet i am regular reader, please translate what you just type nuh please and thanks dwl lol. Lord help we nuh pet ppl please in advance.

2. You obviously have very little respect for YOUR mother, based on the gibberish you posted. YOU are a ghetto trash, a hood rat, with a very limited vocabulary. Come better next time, since your description of your mother is a very apt one. YOU, @We Nuh Pet Ppl, is a moron, a dunce and an imbecile.
          My guess and this is only a guess, you are on your way to the market to sell ground provisions, yes?

1. Anon 5:11, you clearly have some issues and I don’t think it’s really about Jodiann. You seem to be a very miserable person who hates themselves, their lives and their surroundings, therefore, it gives you pleasure to see others suffer. You may need to look into yourself and your life, try and make some changes, and see if that will help clear the evil from your mind.

2. Anon 3:41am wasn’t there a way for you to make ur point without coming across as so callous and uncaring??Like did it even cross ur mind to have any empathy for the tragedy or all u prematurely concluded was that’s it’s a ghetto money grab to blame!!??May Jah have mercy on Our souls and the human condition that strips us of our very Humanity!!

2. Tufton, you are NOT A MEDICALLY TRAINED DOCTOR. SO STOP BEING AN IMPOSTER. YOUR DOCTORATE IS FOR THE BUSINESS COURSE YOU TOOK. LETS KEEP IT REAL AND STOP FOOL THE JAMAICAN PUBLIC WHO ARE ABLE TO SEE THIS INFORMATION ONLINE. YOUR POST WOULD BETTER SUITED SOMEONE WHO HAS A GENUINE MEDICAL TRAINED BACK GROUND. THIS POST IS WAY OVER YOUR HEAD. ADMIT IT.

1. We had a medical doctor in the role last time. How did that work out for us? Shet yuh r@@S.

2. U r worst than a dunce. U should be ashamed to make this post, I bet u more than dunce, plus u uneducated.

3. Mi sick and tired ah dah BATTYBWOY yah, enuh! He is so fu@king misguided, misguiding, ill informed and ill fitting for his duties, it’s nerve wracking! Truly, Jamaica’s VERY OWN reversed raccoon eyed, toupee wearing, paper towel tossing, maniac AKA DJT! They need to throw the two lunatics in the loony bin; actually, a regular bin will suffice. These people MUST AND WILL be held accountable for this young lady’s death!!!!! And if dem tink fire di deh ah dem tail, owing to the newly divulged information from her medical records, coupled with the findings in autopsy report, AH NOWWWWW dem ah guh “fenneh grease”!!!!! Jodi’s medical history AUTOMATICALLY deems her a “HIGH RISK PREGNANCY“!!!!!!!!!! Now, if her medical records accompanied her to all the hospitals she sought help, HOWWWWWWWWWW AND WHYYYYYYYYYY ON GOD’S EEEEEEEEEEARTH was she denied the care she SO VERY BADLY needed?????????? *Tears* Money cannot and will not bring her back, however, SOMEBODY, ANYBODY, EEEEVERYBODY involved in the mistreatment and blatant disregard for this poor woman‘s life, which subsequently led to the loss thereof, MUST PAY!!!!!!!!!! And if Tufton gwaahn run off him stinking mout’ and overstep the capacity of his studies; to play the role of a medical doctor, continually making these ludicrous, reckless and ill-thought-out statements and decisions, den dem need fi klaaaaat him wid a lawsuit, too! How could he so proudly stand behind any of this????? Father God, please help this woman’s family and ensure that these callous, uncharitable, pitiless, savages are made to pay for their doings! Father let not power nor social standing be an escape for them. Jodi is one of thousands who have been neglected and unfairly treated. My sincerest thoughts and prayers are with her beautiful baby girl and Jodian’s family and loved ones. May her soul rest in perpetual peace. *Tears*….smdh

1. so we nuh pet lets reason, the only person who is to be held accountable is 1. the hospital where she was registered, if they had the information that she had heart problem they should make sure KPH dealt with her immediately. Her personal OBGY and andrews need to meet and there they can decide who is responsible. then they need to meet with the team from KPH and find out why they turn her away, is it that her situation was not being seen as urgent. It really pains me but it nuh make no sense we cusss and eat up ourselves. When people having baby if you have heart condition or any condition, i know people skin up them face on Jubilee but no matter where you register from once them face challenges they gonna send you right dung a VJH. Also why those stupid people assume the lady had covid, those who rejected her because of covid fear to be held accountable too. Nah lie it really hurt mi aand i hope all who are involved in turning her away and their superiors if they involved will be dealt with accordingly.

4. Oh so a yuh obeah di woman pickney mek yuh kno she did a live pon borrowed time ‍♀️…I hope yuh kno yuh a kotch pon lended time caz god never sleep.goh chuck tru yuh dundah ole muma an lif up from yah soh …..Dog shit

1. nuh badda cuss man cho, not because she have a different opinion from yours, nuh badda wid the cussing. Badmind when we have certain conditons such as heart problems, full blown sickle cell and get pregnant it is very high risk.

1. Lol lol uno nuh mek mi choak pon the bulla mi eating lol. Uno nuh easy ova yah Suh Uno ramp rufff u see. Dwl

5. I don’t trust the government shitstem. When they’re negligent dem will do what ever it takes fi cova dem ass.