JAVIN WAS THE TARGET OF SHOOTING SUNDAY NIGHT

1It would appear that 22-year-old Javin ‘Javinci’ Campbell was the target of Sunday night’s brazen gun attack at the Jamaica Labour Party’s (JLP) mass rally in Sam Sharpe Square, Montego Bay, where three persons, including Campbell, were killed and thousands of party supporters forced to flee in panic.
Yesterday, when The Gleaner visited Flankers, where Campbell and Nicholas ‘Cow’ Irving, another of the persons killed in the incident, both resided, the area was tense. Some residents expressed fear, some vowed revenge, and others seemed resigned to whatever spill-over effects there might be.
Rival gang members from the community traded bullets shortly after 10:18 p.m. while opposition Leader Andrew Holness was giving the main address. In addition to Campbell and Irving, a
St Catherine-based bus driver was killed. Four other persons, including a female vendor, suffered gunshot wounds.
According to the Flankers residents, Campbell was the leader of the Uptown Sparta gang, an offshoot of the Sparta gang, which is linked to a well-known dancehall entertainer.
Irving is said to be affiliated with the Top Hill/West Side gang, which has been in a long-standing feud with Sparta.
According to the residents, Campbell was marked for death as in addition to the feud with the Top Hill/West Side gang, he was also at odds with his old original Sparta allies and was on the police’s radar for crimes committed in the area.
“Is long time dem afta him (Campbell), so me nuh know why him pick up himself gone a Sam Sharpe Square fah … police want him, West Side man dem want him … all him own old Sparta friend dem want him,” said a man, who claimed to be an associate of Campbell’s.
“Dem murder him father and now dem come murder him.”
WORDS OF COMFORT
Dr Horace Chang, the member of parliament for North West St James, the constituency in which Flankers is located, said he knew Campbell’s family quite well and was aware of some of his family history.
“It is very painful, not only in the context of this incident, but his father was killed like this back in Christmas 2006 as he stood at his gate,” said Chang. “The family is traumatised … I can only extend to them words of comfort at this point in time.”
With both the police and the JLP declaring that the incident had nothing to do with politics, Chang said that the incident was quite frightening and raised serious questions about the general state of violence in Jamaica.
“It is very worrying that you could have this level of violence at an event like this,” said Chang. If people do things like this and feel they can get away with it, they will continue to do it … this suggests that wherever we have mass gatherings, be it sports or entertainment, we are not safe … that is part of the real worry.”

20 thoughts on “JAVIN WAS THE TARGET OF SHOOTING SUNDAY NIGHT

1. That fag did a try fi sudsil him image when JCF put ban pon him. Fanclub reaction was as expectedl, but fowl soon reach nes.

1. Well, if he was marked for death by the Police and his enemies, and still go show up inna a public place like that, then dat tell mi say, dat in his pea brain mind him did think say him really big, bad, and bold. Unfortunately, a these same characteristics mek him lose him owna life. SMH @ when a one feel sey everybody fraid a dem, then there’s always somebody badda dan dem, who will deal wid dem case neatly and discreetly!

2. Chang…go vote fi capital punishment and a cleanup of the courts and stay out a de police dem way, mek dem do dem work without intimidation from corrupt members of parliament…you included.

3. So him father did a bad man too? Another thing that’s worrying Mr Chang is that this man is a known wanted criminal yet you profess to know his family ‘very well’. Did u know of his whereabouts and that he was wanted by the police?

4. Greetings met,
    Here are some facts: Four men went in the crowd to kill him and they were in mask and ppl told the police even ssp mcgregor someone mentioned it to n nothing was done, then about half hour later shots start fire.jav has been killin from he was 14 he was the main trigger man for sparta

5. Given that Javinci and Cow were from opposite sides, that mean there were gang members from both sides in attendance. Can just imagine the Top Hill/West Side gang members “pree-ing” Javinci and his crew, waiting for the right time to launch an attack. He should have been on top of one of those many buildings, instead of in the thick of things.
    I might be a bit stupid, but the police must have undercover police officers (dress as party supporters) dispersed throughout these type of events. How can you protect the Opposition Leader and the supporters by having the police on the periphery of the events or close to the stage. Anyone could have shot Holness (or Simpson-Miller) from the crowd.
    This type of shooting has occurred at, at least three JLP events, one annual party conference, the event in Westmoreland and the shooting at the Hotel in Mandeville. How come we don’t see comrades shooting comrades at PNP events?

1. Protection detail nah pred out so wide from their charge. The police did their jobs…nobody nah expect target killing at a phucking pre-election rally of revelers! The podium is their focal point that’s why de faggot dem do it.
      As for the mask @10:59 it’s not against the constitution to wear one and if the police did go tell dem fi remove it others would have pitched in their two cents and shout harrassment.

1. If the protection detail is ONLy with close proximity to their “charge”, it is not much of a protection, IMHO.
        To say that the “nobody” expect target gang-killing at a pre-election rally is quite silly, when it has happened before (December 27, 2011):

News
        Cops say Savanna la Mar shooting not political
        BY PAUL HENRY Crime/court co-ordinator [email protected]
        Wednesday, December 28, 2011
        POLICE are reporting that last night’s shooting incident was not politically motivated.
        Gunmen approached a section of the crowd during a Jamaica Labour Party political rally in Savanna la Mar, Westmoreland and killed 20-year-old Danny Campbell and injured three others during a Jamaica Labour Party political rally.
        Investigators said a preliminary probe has revealed that the shooting was linked an ongoing gang feud in the town.
        Director of Communications of the Constabulary, Karl Angell, made the announcement during a press conference at the Commissioner’s Office in Kingston this afternoon.
        Angell said members of the notorious Bobo Gang had targeted the leader of the Top Roses gang.

6. Good Morning Met and Metters,
    It’s a sad tragic event not only did this young men lose his life other by standers lost their life that had nothing to do with the feud… These criminals are getting really bold yes, if you can go into a crowed place with innocent people just to get this one man you don’t value no one else’s life at all… People are not safe in a public setting/event because they don’t know if someone in that crowd is wanted by anyone… What if in any innocence’s it was at a show that had tourist people there, do you think tourist people would want to come back, they would not then they would spread the world that Jamaica is not safe then the honest working people wouldn’t have income coming in because the tourist stop coming in… SMDH I know I wouldn’t want to visit at all if I was told some sh*t like that… My condolences to the innocent people whose life was taking, that their family can grieve in peace for their loved ones… If this young man was killing since he was 14 apparently he must of learned that from his father and why wouldn’t he think no one would try to get him in that public settings… I just don’t understand the gang set up in JA at all…

7. Things affi get worst before it get betta ………DBaddest …Killi Killi…Onedon….Javinchi……Uptownfaeva…(hard ball time yah now )
    This is what on one of his friend page

8. One less criminal to deal with, as for Mr. Chang, You are one despicable imbecile and one of the reason Jamaica will not get anywhere. Words of comfort? where they does that at? a person who has been killing people you are out there offering comfort to the family? Yow? We the Jamaican people is one bag a arrogant nation to let the likes of this Chang person come with his brainwash politrics.

1. Do you remember the WiKi Leaks pertaining to Dr Horace Chang and Shahine Robinson. Both were accused of money laundering for Jamaican Drug Kingpins, who were eventually extradited and convicted overseas. Yet these two are still representing the JLP…..Hmmmmmmm

9. Such a vicious cycle it’s mind boggling. His dad was murdered and now him. My heart aches everytime I read and see these things.

10. Nice job Babsy Grange. You and your supporters preventing the police from doing there job. We all know you are a supporter of badmanism. No wonder gangsters can shoot up your party’s political rally. Not a good luck lady.
    JUST IN: Police, JLP Supporters Standoff In Babsy Grange’s Constituency
    Published:Tuesday | February 9, 2016 | 2:15 PM
    Christopher Serju, Gleaner Writer
    There is currently a standoff between supporters of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the police at the Electoral Office of Jamaica’s Brunswick Avenue, Spanish Town location where JLP St Catherine Central candidate Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange was nominated a short while ago.
    Police had earlier accosted a man who was part of the crowd of JLP supporters at the venue, and tried to leave the compound with him in a service vehicle.
    The crowd, however, blocked the vehicle’s passage, preventing the police from leaving with the man.
    The police have since locked the gates to the facility and are now inside the nomination centre with the captive man as well as Grange who has insisted that the holding of the JLP supporter is an act of intimidation.
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20160209/just-police-jlp-supporters-standoff-babsy-granges-constituency

11. These politicians I tell you. Horace Chang is offering comfort to the family of a known and wanted gangster . Smh