JAMAICAN COMPLAINS OF RACISM IN CHINA-VIA NATIONWIDE

A Jamaican living in China is appealing to the country’s Embassy in the Asian country to assist persons facing racial discrimination.

The English Teacher, who’s been living in China since last year, says a number of Jamaicans are among black persons being evicted from their apartments and not being paid by their employers.

He says while foreigners in China had always faced discrimination, the situation worsened during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Stevian Simmonds reports.

When the first wave of the novel coronavirus was waning in China, there were several complaints from black persons in the Asian country about racial discrimination.

The Chinese were reportedly opposed to African nationals re- entering the country.

The opposition was reportedly spawned by an unfounded fear that the persons of African descent would have sparked a new wave of COVID-19 cases.

One Jamaican living in China, says he and other Jamaican nationals have also been victims to this abuse.

To protect his identity, we’ll call him Patrick.

Patrick says his previous employers failed to present him with the necessary documentation to seek another job, which resulted in him being evicted.

And, the Jamaican national says he struggled for a while to secure a new residence.

He also accused the Chinese nationals he encountered as being less than honest in their dealings.

He says he’s contacted the Jamaican Embassy for assistance, but was told there was nothing they could do.

Stevian Simmonds for Nationwide News.

7 thoughts on “JAMAICAN COMPLAINS OF RACISM IN CHINA-VIA NATIONWIDE

1. ITS MATTER OF TIME BEFORE U HEAR DIS..ALL BLACKS IN DANGER FROM DEM RASS CHINK…TAKE AWAY TRAVEL DOCUMENTS AND EVICT PPL

2. Christopher tufton as a business man who has doctor behind your name do you really think that it is wise to spend so much money on a field hospital especially one so close to the National Arena. ? Don’t you think that this money could be better spent on refurbishing and extending existing hospitals ? The other day you went and bought some reclying chairs to place in hospitals, these chairs were most suitable for homes not hospitals. The cost of one of these chairs would enable a diligent person to have bought seats that would be able to sit at least ten persons instead of one. Building a field hospital is not necessary in jamaica right now, we have not got the financial resources to squander money on facilities that will not help the general public on a long term basis. I would hope you will have visited our hospitals and see the deplorable conditions that they are in and look to address the issue as a matter of urgency. Would you yourself want to be treated in any of the government runned hospitals in an emergency ? If your answer is no, don’t you think that citizens of jamaica deserved to be treated in a place where you yourself would feel comfortable? Come on tufton, your academic credentials demands that your decisions are more well thought out .

1. You honestly think Tufton cares about anything other than pocketing money? All they do is overestimate the cost of things and then thief the money. I’ve never heard of a field hospital running up such high figures. We don’t even need it anymore based on the fact that our outbreak nuh dat bad, but don’t be surprised if him still put it up. him stand fi make millions offa it. dem probably ago buy few big tent and some likkle bed and den say the budget for it was 300 million.

3. I know black people who born a England living and working in China and they not coming back to England because life good a China. If you go to a country and work for or rent from dodgy people don’t turn around and blame the country when you get the short end! Most Jamaicans care nothing about facts when it comes to China, like we get treated better in England and America! Asking Jamaica to stand up to China when it can’t stand up to Britain and America is a fucking joke, both Britain and America can fit inside China pussy comfortably, they have one of the oldest civilisations in the world, they will not be told what to do by a fucking Trumped up minority and that is facts!

4. @8.41
    What has oldest civilization has to do with anything.
    Consult your dictionary on the meaning of civilization. Then check out the mesopotamian and Egyptian civilization. It seems as if you are brainwashed and in awe of the Chinese spending power, where they are acting as if they are helping poor countries out with small interest loans and when it’s defaulted as they expect it to, they come and seizes assets which are worth thousands times of the original loan.
    Gwan mek bagawire fool you..