JAMAICA PLACES 5TH IN MS UNIVERSE PAGENT

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 8.04.32 AM
KACI Fennell last night placed fifth in the 63rd staging of the Miss Universe pageant which was won by Miss Colombia Paulina Vega.
Miss USA Nia Sanchez was named first runner-up in the pageant that Jamaicans watched with high anticipation that Fennell would have won.
Jamaicans erupted with joy when the 22-year-old Fennell was named in the top 15 in the early stages of the pageant held at Florida International University Arena in Doral, Miami.
The celebrations grew louder when she was the first contestant placed in the top 10, followed by the contestants from Agrentina, Ukraine, The Philippines, Colombia, Spain, The Netherlands, Venezuela, Australia, and USA.
When Fennell appeared in the evening dress competition she was described as “immaculate” by one of the pageant’s hosts.
Later, when she was named in the top five, along with the contestants from USA, The Netherlands, Ukraine, and Colombia, Jamaicans cheered even louder.
In the interview section, when each of the top five contestants was asked the following question submitted by viewers on Facebook: ‘What is the greatest contribution of your country to the entire world?’ Fennell pointed to reggae superstar Bob Marley and track legend Usain Bolt. Her answer elicited loud and sustained applause from her Jamaican supporters in the audience.
However, their hope turned to despair when Fennell was announced as the fourth runner-up.
Throughout her year-long reign, Miss Universe will wear a new crown designed by pageant sponsor DIC.
“The new crown was designed to blend the Czech roots of DIC with the beautiful skyline of New York City, home of the Miss Universe Organisation and its titleholders,” the pageant website states.
“Craftsmen spent over 3,000 hours to create this beautiful and timeless crown with a very unique infrastructure inspired by design elements of various royal crowns throughout history. The crown symbolises and expresses the beauty, stability, confidence and power of women around the world,” the website adds.

0 thoughts on “JAMAICA PLACES 5TH IN MS UNIVERSE PAGENT

1. Don’t get me wrong. Mi luv mi ppl dem, but how comes dem always a nominate di uptown girls fi represent wi ina competition? When will they pick a find a nice, beautiful, black girl? Big up Kaci still much love

1. Thats why me huh watch that any more. Congrats to the lady who represented Jamaican but it’s always a uptown born and raised girl from established family sent to rep in international beauty pageants. Are they trying to tell me and the world that there aren’t any qualified girls in the inner cities are marginalized communities in Ja. Only uptown girls graduate from or attends University in Ja? What is really going on? A years this a gwaan! That is why when I hear them a class up di ghetto girls me nuh look because dem born with gold spoon inna dem mouth.

2. Out of many one people is our motto, so the shade or complexion should not matter..That should be enough to suffice. Its rhetorical… :cd

1. At the end of the day the Jamaican population is 95% Black; interestingly, that percentage is not reflected in the beauty pageant winners.
      If it is indeed out of many one people, then the dark burnish, ebony tone with thick lips, and a high round butt, and thick thighs that some of our beauties have should be equally represented, and exalted as equally beautiful and pageant winner worthy. Strangely, a lot of our fashion models who make it big on the international scene are dark skinned obviously black women that you don’t need to do a dna test to find the black in them. Plus, the Black Miss Universe winners who won the pageant in the past were dark skinned black women.
      Please do not interpret my comment as arguing, just shedding some light ona different angle.

3. Jamaica has some Beautiful black women y is always these: Indians Jamaica is out of Many one people very versatile in ethnicity but they always show the chiney or Indian one dem ridiculous.

4. Congratulations to Kaci , and I embrace our Jamaican motto yes, but still for a nation that is significantly populated by blacks, Kaci is far too white. Ah wonder if we going to hear from Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson now because there were no black – skinned girl in the final line- up.

5. how is she indian? The girl is Jamaican if you are Jamaican you can enter….many ghetto girls might not be interested so they did not submit an application to enter and some like many uptown girls may not qualify …..di girl si black she is Jamaican and I was hoping after how dem side step her we would realize

6. Damn and i thought she was 4th, lol, she could have answered the questions better still but otherwise she represented well

7. I agree for once it would be nice to see a black woman represent. However, Kaci is very naturally beautiful and the fact that she wore her hair short is commendable.
    Personally i think her answer had an impact on where she was placed. she answered the question like a tourist! Yes Bob Marley and Bolt have made great recognisable achievements in music and sport but! We have more to offer as Jamaicans other than music and sports.
    I’m tired of people thinking that’s all black people can do (Sing and Run)

8. When since is Kingston 7 upTown??? Lmao. So if you are light you are automatically uptown Now? kaci and her family is a regular middle class Jamaican. Not uptown not poor just doing fine. And for the people with their stats. … it’s skewed. My mom is half black and half Chinese. She put black when census come. Daddy 75 percent indian and 25 percent black and he puts black. So tell me bout this 95 percent black nation again ???