JAMAICA BOILERS + BURGER KING AT ODDS= DEPRESSION IN JAMAICA’S FARMING INDUSTRY

As per reports on Nationwide FM in Jamaica , Burger King and Jamaica Boilers are at odds over the price of beef patties. Burger King is accusing Jamaica boilers of over charging them for beef and claims they are paying the highest prices in the world at $490 JMD per pound. Jamaica Boilers have admitted to the high cost of beef but have stated that they have to import beef and face a 80% duty on the meat which is reason for the high cost. Farming in Jamaica have declined to the extent where more than 50% of the beef and chicken that is sold in Jamaica is imported. A small farmer explained that they are discouraged by thieves who plague their farms and the cost for local beef if they were to raise animals would be $240 JMD per pound which is less than 50% of what it costs to import it now.
With Cuba’s renewed relationship with the United States they will be in line to be the top Caribbean country in terms of tourism , farming and development. Cuba has no loans to pay the IMF and with profitable investments there will be less tourist coming to Jamaica and more going to Cuba.
Jamaica’s future will be brighter with more farmers producing and selling locally. The videos below shows how the decline in banana farming has brought Port Morant to a stand still.

0 thoughts on “JAMAICA BOILERS + BURGER KING AT ODDS= DEPRESSION IN JAMAICA’S FARMING INDUSTRY

1. My little prediction was right…It jus come pan d news …Jamaica a worry bout tourism ooooooooooo …Cuba a go beat wi out baddd..We haffi up wid di music and stamp out crime

1. Cuba have a whole heap a rare animals and plants..their cars etc ..Jamaica nah go can compete suh mek dem stay deh nuh start plant…Farmers nuh supposed to fraid fi raise animals because dem a go teef dem..that is absurd

1. Met they HAbe been worried from news break yesterday. I was listening to Clif Huges, when the news break, lots of callers were sweating , more so about tourism.
        Met, I know u have a passion for Cuba from morning, So maybe u can answer this question for me: Cuba has a trade agreement with rich countries around the world, however, the people of Cuba are poor. With this open embargo, how will it change the socioeconomic status of the Cuban people? All remittance will benifit a communist government, so I am baffled by this open embargo.

1. More than half are poor because they are unable to trade , they had help from Russia which later deserted them. When they had more help and could trade Cuba was a much richer place. Right now Cubans are now being allowed to own their own businesses so with this trading will benefit the country over all and bring in more income..Old Cuba before the embargo was a pretty well off island .

2. The embargo was just because they couldnt get castro to do what they wanted to do and tried to use to embargo to help him to bow..he did not which makes him a great leader in my eyes..Many rich people ran away because him did seh dem riches haffi share but more so because America opened their arms to them knowing that with them leaving it would make the country more poor…Im going to set my feet there one day :alay

2. Thanks Met. We’ll see how it plays out because come January, congress is going to try everything in their power to block it…they’re already planning to use some of the money Obama sign off on to fight the new immigration bill. I think if Castro died before his brother Raul, there may be hopes of Cuba moving towards a Democratic country. As long as Castro is alive he’s still running things.

1. Congress only good for one thing…fi run the mouth in order fi score points for election..They will not do a thing and mi nuh think dem can change this

3. @Met,I too want to set foot there one day. My father’s father and his aunts were born and raised in Santiago Cuba. I would love to explore my Cuban roots and bring my son there as well, hopefully.

1. My paternal grandfather was from Cuba as well.A d same thing mi a pree to @ Highly concerned, fi guh dig up mi roots & follow my famiy tree & educate myself & enlighten my kids about our origins.Wi affi remember our ‘roots’ else wi nah guh ‘branch’ off or ‘flourish’ at all…

4. IF WE DID LISTEN TO MICHAEL MANLEY WE WOULD BE A BETTER COUNTRY TODAY. JAMAICA WOULD NOT BE IN THIS ASTRONOMICAL DEBT TO THE IMF, HOW IN GOD’S NAME CAN WE NOT HAVE BEEF AND DAIRY. WITH THE RICH FERTILE SOIL THE ABUNDANCE OF FRESH WATER THERE IS NOTHING WE SHOULD NOT GROW. WE SHOULD BE SELF SUFFICIENT. LOOK HOW LONG AMERICA EMBARGO AGAINST CUBA AND THEY STAND STRONG AND INDEPENDENT AND DEBT FREE FROM THE UNITED STATES.

5. I am happy for Cuba, but sorry fi Jamdung. Cuba and Jamaica still have a good relationship, so who knows what might happen there suh. Fi dem dung deh wah a worry, and those who don’t even know wat a clock a strike, unu give up di criminal dem and mek the people dem who wants to wuk, do dem business, and uplift di country do so in peace, start deh suh and si how tings tun round.