DEM NUH SHOW UP FI THE MARCH FOR VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN

A disappointingly small turnout for a march to show opposition to violence against women and children left organiser Peta-Gaye Foster Morris fuming yesterday.

Foster Morris, who organises the Miss Jamaica Teen Contest, had dubbed the march ‘Teenage lives matters/women lives matter’, and said she was expecting more than 500 persons to join her from Emancipation Park in New Kingston to Mandela Park in the heart of Half-Way Tree.

But that was not to be.

“Seriously? No support!,” exclaimed Foster Morris after waiting for almost half-hour after the scheduled 7 a.m. start.

With fewer than 20 persons out, Foster Morris could not hide her disappointment at what she had hoped to be a show of force to declare to the criminals that Jamaicans are fed up with the killing of women and children.

“I am very disappointed. The reason why I came here to Jamaica was to do my part in the fight against violence. I have a daughter, and being a mother, I have to do my part, but I am disappointed to see that Jamaica is all about class and class segregation,” said Foster Morris.

“I think it’s because a lot of the girls that are being murdered are from the poorer class why there is no support,” added Foster Morris, who flew into the island last Friday from the United States, which she now calls home.

She told The Sunday Gleaner team that she left her home in the US to make the effort to organise the march and had sent out plenty of notifications about the event.

“This was to bring to surface the need for people to speak up and not sit with their molestation. I wanted people to speak out not only against the murderers, but for those who have been molested by pastors to speak up instead of taking it silently,” said Foster Morris.

Members of the small group present were still eager to march but called it off after getting to Trafalgar Road, metres from their start point.

“Wake up, Jamaica. We all need to support each other and we don’t need to wait until it happens to someone close to us before we start doing something about it,” declared Foster Morris.

19 thoughts on “DEM NUH SHOW UP FI THE MARCH FOR VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN

1. Shut you phuck this day yah! WHERE WERE YOU?! me neva de de cause mw never know bout it…but you a try mek light of something more serious than cock sucking kartel.

1. Look how they took on Lisa for Kartel…and cant support anything worth advocating for…I tell you most of us are lost as a people!

2. This is very sad, where were the entertainers that was speaking out? If “Corporate Jamaica” was doing it, everybody with their dog, man and child would show up. Persons pay to do the 5k etc…this was free! Where was the support? Was it really advertised? Was there any sponsors? If it was, then it goes to show that they were all talk and no action. Where was Lisa Hanna? I can bet that if someone else organize it with “popularity” and charge, ppl will go.

1. Me in certain circles and my peeps say they have no knowledge of it when they should have. Organizer predicted 500 and only see 20! Me do charitable/philanthropic events and constant communucation is a MUST.

Betty ann Blaine a my idol and her fronting events like this gets my attention.Jamaica small so it better to work in conjunction with others.

3. Most a dem a shelta di dem gun men them so that is why…the others juss nuh cyah because it nuh reach fi dem door yet, but even den some won’t care.. mi cuntry gone to the dawgs no body really give two cents

1. It’s the violence against women that people aren’t buying into. I know one female right now who can pull off a March and have the resources to affect change.

The culture of abuse can be reduce, but it won’t ever stop.

4. Peta, I never got a blast about a march. You didn’t plan it properly. I just asked about it and the contact said they had no clue either…and she is a director that works with victims. Yu link wasn’t circular.

Class has nothing to do with poor planning. You should know that sex crimes are less reported and talked about in the upper class communities, they’re usually glossed over with gifts, a plane ticket and clinicals.

5. Cmon now people why would you be surprised if you really did bear in mind that is Jamaica this? ?These were the same set of ppl who were kicking up rumpus n ruckus condemning violence n abuse against women.

However when Lisa no honour expressed her hypocritical opinion a significant amount of that same set of ppl threatened violence n hurled abuse against her!!Everything that impacts n move Jamaicans to action MUST be relatable to us on some level. Sure we will talk n talk n cuss ..a nation of sayers not doers smh.

6. Maybe it wasn’t organize well or people weren’t aware. I missed plenty of marched because of unawareness that I would have participated had i known beforehand. Im not on any social media which is the main source of advertising these events. The radio, t.v or newspaper hardly ever advertise these events anymore.

7. This thing wasn’t properly promoted. Nobody never hear bout it. She did a lazy job in promotion and expect ppl fi jus turn up. Not even a fb post mi see bout that march.

8. SHAME,SHAME SHAME, if it was a free dance, they would have come out in droves. We have to take a stance for serious issues that affect us all. Everybody comes from a mother (Woman), some have daughter, sisters etc. WE have to do better as a people, something so important and no support. Who didn’t know about it gets a pass but the others (unno know weh unno wan know), Shame

9. We need to make sure when we doing things we doing them out of a pure heart and not for earthly glory. The March should have continued irrespective of size. Why stop a protest part way because you didn’t get the size you desired? To me that means your heart wasn’t really deeply involved. Were any of the mothers/fathers and family members of those who had lost women to violence invited? Their voices are the voices that needs to be heard. The speaker spoke of March numbers, but a passionate organizer would have taken the free publicity to mention available resources and telephone number for women who are looking to escape abusive situations. Who cares about your numbers?Mention the hotline number, website or address that could save a life tonight.

1. Shake mi hand…ok people didnt turn out. Maybe they didnt know about it. I was glued to facebook the whole a last week and didnt hear a pin drop about it. It doesnt mean we didnt care, just that maybe people like miself nevr hear bout it. Go back to the drawing board for next time. And In the photo, where is the banner? Even if I saw you would no nothing about what the march was about.

10. Please Jamaicans only march pon Facebook and instagram! Where is the outrage a lot a dem a protect dons and rapist for years who prey pon the defenseless!! May god bless our Rum bar republic