Canadian woman dies after catching dengue in Jamaica 

A Canadian family has appealed to their fellow citizens before travelling to the Caribbean after their female relative died last month after she reportedly contracted dengue fever in Jamaica.

CTV News in Canada says 26-year-old Jodie Hicks of Ontario flew to the island on January 16 to participate in a wedding.

Five days later, she complained of feeling unwell. She reportedly developed a rash and became disoriented.

Hicks was hospitalised and received blood and plasma transfusions.

She was eventually flown to a hospital in Florida.

It is reported that Ms Hicks later suffered two heart attacks and died on January 26.

CTV News says Hick’s family is warning people to take precautions before visiting the region and ensure they check travel advisories prior to leaving Canada.

8 thoughts on “Canadian woman dies after catching dengue in Jamaica 

1. It sounds like her immune system was really weak or she may have had a secondary health issue. RIP to her. All eyes on Jamaica now. Sigh.

1. STFU U WOULD SUCK A COCK FOR A VISA THOUGH. Canada has no water or mosquito problem. U can’t even get water to wash up

1. Yuh fucking out of order think people frighten for visa.
        Some part of Canada people still use well & pit toilet.
        Go suck yuh dead mumma if she nuh dead yet

2. Unno nuh bother go overboard with this alarmist travel advisory shyt cuz that’s clearly an isolated incident of dengue killing a Tourist.She actually died from heart attacks.Sincere condolences to her loved ones but Jamaica’s name should not be dragged through the mud.

3. STFU U WOULD SUCK A COCK FOR A VISA THOUGH. Canada has no water or mosquito problem. U can’t even get water to wash up

1. Are you kidding me? Do you know how big Canada is? Have you lived in every single province to make that claim about the mosquitoes?? Its winter now but where I live I’m not looking forward to summer evenings. Stop show off pon ppl because Canada has it’s own share of problems.

4. I cannot see the reason why persons wanting to go to another country should be denounced for wanting to go. The world is bigger than jamaica, usa and UK. Wanting to go elsewhere does not mean that we stop loving jamaica. Ask immigrants from countries such as Ireland, Italy germany,usa and many others if they stop loving their country because they have relocated to another, I can almost guranteed that most would say no.
    In regards to jamaica, many left to seek a better way of life, especially through education that they could not afford in jamaica. . Not everyone was born in luxury. Even in christ time, people were moving from one area to the next.
    The duppy that rised has a chip on its shoulder. Get over it. If you were deported deal with it and let others live. Travelling opens up ones mind.