5 MORE VISAS TO GO

There are increasing jitters in local circles today as reports surface that the United States (US) is set to revoke the visas of five more members of the political directorate.

It is unusual for the US to signal when it is about to revoke a visa but a number of political sources have told the Jamaica Observer that two members of the governing Jamaica Labour Party and three members of the Opposition People’s National Party (PNP) are to be affected.

“I can’t give you the names, but keep close to the members of Parliament because this could break before the end of this week,” said one source who last week had confirmed to the Observer that Cabinet member Daryl Vaz and PNP Vice-President Phillip Paulwell had lost their US visas.

Another source pointed to the fact the Prime Minister Andrew Holness and Opposition Leader Dr Peter Phillips are both off the island visiting communist countries as this unfolds.

Holness is in China on an official working visit where he yesterday had bilateral talks with President Xi Jinping among other engagements, while Phillips is in Cuba attending a conference of progressive parties at the invitation of the Communist Party of Cuba.

“So neither leader is here to have face-to-face talks with [Donald] Tapia (the recently appointed US ambassador to Jamaica) to try to get this thing settled. All you are hearing are the whispers and everybody is on edge,” added the source.

All US visas, however, are issued on the condition that the holder abides by their terms and can be cancelled at any time, whether before, during, or after a visit to that country.

Sponsored Links
The World’s Richest Royals And How They Got Their Wealth
Finance101
Ranking the Best Public University in Every State
Work + Money
Sometimes a visa is cancelled before a visit because the US Government obtains evidence that the person plans to use the visa for a different purpose than was intended.

The US Embassy in Kingston has repeatedly indicated that it will not comment on why a person’s visa is revoked, and in the case of Vaz and Paulwell, only a brief letter with no explanation was given to them.

Vaz has indicated that in his letter he was told that, “Subsequent to the visa issuance, information has come to light that you may be ineligible for a visa. If you would like to travel to the United States, you must re-apply.”

Paulwell also said that he was not aware of any reason, nor was he told of any, which could have motivated the US authorities to act in such a manner as to the cancellation of his visa which he has had for many years, in and out of the Government.

Both Paulwell and Vaz have indicated that they will be seeking clarity on the matter.

5 thoughts on “5 MORE VISAS TO GO

1. I dislike many actions of the US, but the revocations are in order!

Financial discrepancies is what I bet my money on. These people have the Citizens living in squalor, mean time, they live high up in the lands of we Nation.

Dam Kleptomanics take wha dem thiefT and live big a foreign too. NOT to ignore that dem pickney dem safr and well educated abroad.

Phucking time fi dem nhame shit or go box shit out a hog mouth like those they’ve subjected to live in squalor.

2. Not saying the post was hinting on holness but I doubt being a head of state traveling to china or any other what would be perseived as communist country would be used against him! if so, it would have clearly expose what was forever suspected, “white supremacy” and “imperialism” as other western or first world head of states visit these countries, if holness lose his travel credentials to the US it would almost certainly be for something else other than traveling to china where others go for a wide range of reasons, most importantly being trade & commerce, including the current “hypocritical first family,” as for PP? don’t know as the last time I checked, he was still a “property” :ngakak :ngakak as for whomever else it will be, and notice I say “will,” I’d say alleged “raper-man” significantly other half, or the crooked former education one who is currently embroiled in scandal, maybe the minister of mining and energy one who is currently caught up in the petrojam scandal, also the one that represents the “shooting gallery” constituency in clarendon, MH, on the PNP side, I’d say the garrison politician from east kingston PB, with the WTF wife! he’s just as crooked and currupt, and possibly the “bang-belly” crooked syrian one, the other clarendonian, those are only ones I can think of off the top of my head! :thumbup

1. I’m with you on you assumptions.

Me neva know you know how fi class up people, Ramjam :hammer

Jamaican politicians no patriotic so dem will salivate like dog or behave like crab inna barrel fi get back the visa.

Is either dem invovle in a financial schemes by funneling money out of Jamaica into America and vis versa.

Or…America and its band of currently corrupt republicans after something and a pull power punch. SO be the case we need fi start expel dem diplomats and side up with who dem fear.

The damage caused by Henery Kissinger was never righted any damn way, so long run ahort cat h given the current head lololol.

If is fi kleptocratic behavior then so be it. Dem fi get drum out a Parliament too.

3. This is crime and violence will always be high in Jamaica because the politicians who are suppose to be running the country are the biggest criminals.

4. Look to drug trafficking or money laundering. Holness recently met Pence. What was the nature of that meeting?