VENEZUELA A BEG JAMAICA FI LEF DEM PETROJAM SHARES

Venezuela’s Guaido asks Jamaica not to seize PDVSA refinery shares

A man walks past a closed gas station of the state oil company PDVSA in San Cristobal
More
CARACAS (Reuters) – The ad-hoc board of Venezuelan state-run oil company PDVSA, appointed by opposition leader Juan Guaido, said on Saturday it had asked Jamaica’s government not to seize the company’s shares in an oil refinery on the island.

Jamaica’s Senate in February passed legislation clearing the way for the government to acquire the 49 percent stake in the Petrojam refinery that PDVSA acquired in 2006, part of late leftist President Hugo Chavez’s energy diplomacy efforts in the Caribbean.

The board, appointed by Guaido earlier this year in part to defend PDVSA’s interests abroad, said it had also warned Jamaica’s government that “it cannot maintain any arrangements” with the government of President Nicolas Maduro, a Chavez protege whose legitimacy as Venezuela’s leader is disputed.

“We formally request the suspension of this expropriation process,” the board said in a statement, adding that Guaido had made a similar request personally to Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness.

Neither Holness’ office nor Jamaica’s foreign ministry immediately responded to requests for comment. The Caribbean nation’s government owns the other 51 percent of shares in the refinery.

Guaido, the leader of Venezuela’s opposition-controlled National Assembly, in January invoked the constitution to assume an interim presidency, arguing Maduro’s 2018 re-election was illegitimate. He has been recognised as rightful leader by dozens of countries, including Jamaica and the United States.

His representatives abroad have fought efforts by creditors of Venezuela’s highly-indebted government to seize foreign assets belonging to PDVSA.

But Maduro retains control of the military and most state functions, including PDVSA’s day-to-day operations within Venezuela. He calls Guaido a U.S.-backed puppet seeking to oust him in a coup.

The United States in January slapped sanctions on PDVSA as part of its bid to oust Maduro, which has contributed to a further drop in the OPEC nation’s crude output following years of steady decline due to underinvestment and mismanagement.

Those sanctions paved the way for Guaido’s allies to take control of U.S. refiner Citgo, PDVSA’s most important overseas asset.

10 thoughts on “VENEZUELA A BEG JAMAICA FI LEF DEM PETROJAM SHARES

1. How dare you tell the Jamaican government what to do when your puny ass still can’t even sit in the office you claim is rightfully yours. The government should seize Venezuela’s share in PetroJam until this impasse is resolved, at which point, it should be returned. Learn fi run things a yard before yuh try run it abroad

2. They did use to supply us with reduced price oil, so I hope whatever the govt can do for them in their time of turmoil they will.

3. We need fi remember dem help we out alot when we were down don’t boast and act up now cause we in a better position KARMA is a mother dem produce oil dem naw down forever

4. How dare they, you Mean how DARE ANDREW HOLINESS put Jamaica in this position of being labelled a perranah with a Jackal mentality. How dare him following the footsteps of seaga by placing us in this predicament. We will be seen as traitors. Where was America when we needed help, when no one was willing to sell us at a price we could afford. You people have no loyalty just like his father seaga whos balls lacked any substance. You know want, just like andrew you both lack common decency, andrew is transparent like thin air. Just like how ciaga fool onu and draw crocus ova onu eye a same thing dis one doing

5. Exactly with all the bullying from “first world” countries we need to help each other in times of need

6. Madurio will be replaced, so it better for jamaica to work with this man. Too much oppression and suppression is going on in Venezuela now under the present government he has to go. Plus America is backing this new guy to go in and when he does if jamaica does not comply they will feel it. The people are suffering and want him out, why does he not just go?

7. @anon9:27 stay pon cow back an!cuss cow…u are one of THEM who was taught to demonize SEAGA not telling siblings tha seaga hand prints are all over jamaicas development. YOUR PEOPLE IS THE ONE WHO PUT CROCUS OVER YOUR EYE. THUS THE DEAD SILENCE NOW HIM GONE AND ALL SEAGAS ACHIEVEMENTS ARE OUT FOR THE YOUNG SIBLINGS CAN SEE

8. @6.57am. It seems as if you have psychic powers, to see an annomous post and is able to identified me as a person who Lick out against Seaga. Haha…
    It is a fact that he helped to destroy jamaica ( read the article recently posted) and I make no apology. Contrary to what you said about me being “taught to demonise Seaga” I arrived at my own opinion about the man from observation of decisions he had made, ( again , see article) especially those in relation to EDucation , WHICH IS SO CRUCIAL IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF A PEOPLE AND HENCE A NATION. I might have accused him for being complicit in JIM Brown’ death, and after saying so, I carried out some research into the man, and from reliable sources, I am able to say I no longer feel as if he was responsible. For that accusation, I apologise to his comrades.

My first allegiance and love is to my country, not to a political party. And though I prefer the PNP party, mainly because of the values of its founding father’s , I am able to voice my decent when they have fall below expectation. This is what is called democracy. I refuse to continue to support anything or anyone when in my opinion it’s not up to par. I think that if I truly adore my place of birth I have to be conscious of what is happening and be fair when analysing the situation. Therefore, I will not give blind devotion to Any party. Right is right and wrong is wrong, and I try to support right as much as I possible can.and please note, I am not a saint, I too make mistakes.

So to the psychic, have a nice and blessed day and keep on peeping. Wink, Wink.