ARE YOUR PRIORITIES IN ORDER?

Dear Met,

The other day I saw this old but clean Toyota drive inna sagicor bank parking lot.The car caught my eye becux they no longer make that model or even stock the parts.Met when the car park up who u think step out???She was a goddess on earth…ms Jamaica 99 Desiree Depass in all her finery.

Just my luck I went in the bank and when I reach the teller,she reach the teller beside me.She smiled…in my head I think it was at me…homegirl puddung a huge stack to lodge and it got me thinking met.Our society is such that it is easy to just picture the ridicule a hot girl like her a drive ole outdated car goodly get.I even recall on social media ppl use to cuss dancer kieva that she a drive deportee and them rather walk than roll inna that.

miss

It makes u reflect on what are your priorities in life u know.she can afford to drive a hot car but Desiree a put up them stacks and a go through inna her point a to point b.Grant u ppl Will always find fault if them think u acting beneath ur station but as long as u have ur priorities straight does it really matter and affect u what them sey?

Did yall know she is a pilot and she married well as they say?nuff time ppl see things pon the surface and pass them judgement,well a full time we stop and focus on our own priorities.Met if u ever know the amt of people a drive big veetle,pay big rent and a rundown high fashion but them stress,miserable,cant even smile to how them a struggle to keep up appearances.Thanks a lot Desiree cuz uve inspired me to get my priorities in order cuz u nah watch no face.

13 thoughts on “ARE YOUR PRIORITIES IN ORDER?

1. sender you hit the nail on the head! :2thumbup
    it is so funny that I was talking to someone recently about the same thing! our black people got all twisted up and upside down, I’ve noticed a thing about black people both in jamaica and here in the US that they regard you based on the vehicle you’re driving! and with that a lot of black folks MORTGAGE themselves to drive big high end vehicle to be seen or to feel important in society! some black people even think that its an objective of theirs before they leave this earth to drive an expensive high end European vehicle and when they do so its like they achieved their goal or they accomplish their ambition! :ngakak believe me I even know of people working 2 jobs not to pay a mortgage for a house but to pay a 8-10 year mortgage on a benz, bmw, audi, range rover etc.(no joke)
    now this miss jamaica lady stepped out of her old prestine toyota and because its not the “new-lick” or the “in-thing” x-6, q-7, range etc. people who doesn’t know her would see her step out of that vehicle and hold her to a lower regards not even knowing her capacity or her caliber, but on the flip side of it some average “wanna-look-wanna-be rich” whould pull up in that same parking lot in a benz or a x-6 doesn’t even have dry-doo-doo in their behind, just posing like double-6, probably can hardly find money to gas up that vehicle, and people whould held that person to a higher regard by just looking at the vehicle the person is driving!
    hence: ,,,,,,,,, the white person in his old chevy or suburu forrester and worth US 14mil including trust-fund! :2thumbup

:travel

2. :shakehand2 :shakehand2 :shakehand2 So true the other day i lady was saying the same thing on the train and I just stood there listening …she seh look at these white kids how some a them dress going to school or just going out some dutty tear up tear up sneakers parents shop at target , Kmart & Wal-Mart and yet they going to these prestigious schools paid for by said parents shopping in Wal-Mart etc. And look at some black kids always in the newest Jordan’s and all name brands from head to toe going to some public schools are on the free much programs Brazilian hair in their head’s at 13 & 14 yes old. White folks have their children travelling the world while black folks take theirs to the water park or chukee cheeses lol. And yet they no trust funds…no college funds…no life insurances…just brand names.. Paying somebody else’s mortgage while working 3&4 jobs just to stay afloat… Mi haffi lol.

3. Honestly, I don’t think it’s a “black people vs white people” issue, but more so poverty of the mind. I’ve spoken with a few people at different points in my life asking them, why are you so hype? Not in an offensive tone, but I really wanted to know why they felt they HAD TO wear/possess/claim certain things. Surprisingly, most of the folks I’ve asked (different races) all had the same answer; they never had the luxury or when they first started out they would struggle and people never “see” them or would belittle them so now that they “have it” (even though some really don’t) they will never stand to let people think they are anything short of winning all the time.

Like is said, poverty of the mind.

***feel free to disagree.

4. I am currently trying to get my priorities in order and I partly owe Met great thanks for this site which has opened my eyes tremendously and not only that, exposed the snakes I had in my life. I took myself away from the dancehall scene and life has been great ever since. It’s important to save but most importantly, we must learn to LIVE; not just exist.

5. I get why some ppl wear brands,sorta like dressing for success.Those ppl will spend a fortune to dress up than pon say furniture or their house.They figure not many ppl will come a them yard to judge them but ppl pass judgment all the time by looking at what u wear and drive.

How many times have u seen a woman and thought,she really need to do her hair or change her weave?her house coulda bazzle out like wow it still look a way.

1. We care too much about what others think about us, that’s the point the sender is making. We need to stop worrying about what others think of how or how they perceive us, because their perceptions of us cannot get us where we need to be in life. We need to focus on our priorities and leave what is beyond our control as is.

6. Writer! Big and serious FACTS me friend.

Hey Met :kiss: me busy so till…me only get to 2 posts every now N then.

7. Thank you sender!!!!
    I live my life just like that….. I rather to put my money in the bank than buy big veetle whey mi cyaan afford parts if something goes wrong.

8. This is so true. I have a job where I make a couple hundred thousand a month. Every other weekend I pack up myself, my mother and my little sister and we travel the length and breath of Jamaica being dry land tourists and eat out at some great restaurants. People always looking down on me because I don’t dress up, or own a car and drive like them or rent the $100,000 apartment. What them fail to see is that I going back to school to get my Bachelors, own 4 plot a land, 2 in town, 2 a Spain. And have a house building on one a Spain. Build out my mother house and go give her a nice 6 bedroom with bathroom and office. Upgrade her car and my little sister not in need of a thing. 6th form money put down and university money deh deh.

Mi hold up mi head laugh when dem a look. Because I know my life will always be better.

9. Don’t grudge people for what they have and make your moves in silence. This always live wid mi, God bless mi muma for these few words of many pieces of advice.

10. While growing up, my humble Mother always told us to be happy with what you have. To this day, I am content with whatever I have, and I’m also a careful spender and saver. I refuse to hang my hat higher than how I can reach it, caw mi nuh inna de showoff business. Truthfully speaking, most of the things that I buy, are things that are on sale, and yes, I have my coupons with me, where necessary. To who waan go de extra mile, and a live a life of lies (can’t sleep a night time because dem owe people, credit card companies, loan officers fe finance dem high – living lifestyles, and to keep up with the Joneses, etc), good luck to dem!