This post is based on an email that was sent and in no way reflects the views and opinions of ''Met'' or Jamaicanmateyangroupie.com. To send in a story send your email to likeacopcar.78@gmail.com
Metty it’s addictive cause its the best comedy and circus show….live!! Nothing edited. Best show money can buy. Metty mi try reset mi email code and it never send to mi phone like it said it would. Sometimes when it comes to technology mi feel like a dunce so mi a tek time fren fren up mi dawta suh she can dweet fimi.yuh know sometimes when yuh ask these young chilvrens to help yuh with these things them gi yuh big speech and nyaam off piece a yuh head suh mi haffe tek time guh roun di ting
In the Jamaican community, we believe that if we possess certain material things and we carry ourselves a certain way, then we are showing the world that we are living large. We a nyam high pan di hog. We a happen. We more dan dem cause we have XYZ and we wear XYZ. The dancehall scene is the best place to showcase what you have and how you look. There is the camera that will take your pics and put them on the www. for the whole world to see. Then there is the crowd of ppl just like you who you can mingle with. You will rub elbows with ppl just like you who carry LV bags and wear expensive Brazilian weave. You will floss with men who drive BMWs and Mercedes just like you. Its the place to be seen and that is the motive…..to be seen. Once you become a part of that world, you can’t just show off….but now you have to maintain and keep up…..so there lies the addiction. If yuh start an stop den dem say yuh flop…..an hot gtal an hot bwoy cyaan flop…..so they struggle to keep up by any means necessary. Drugs…..stealing….prostitution….anything to keep up. Then there is the attention they get both men and women. Because you are deemed “Hot” if yuh a wear certain tings. Di man dem like di false breast and batty and dem bawl out “Goodas” when yuh walk by. Feels good to hear a big heavy money man call yuh “Goodas” cause dat mean yuh look good ina yuh panty and heels ina dance. Yuh lift up yuh frock an show yuh ass and yuh get approval from both men and women…….Rayyyyyy mi skin clean. It’s addictive because it makes some feel good. Feel like they are a part of something. Everyone knows your name. You become family.
It gives some low life ppl a chance to feel like a ghetto celebrity when their chances of becoming real celebrity is slim to none thats why they love the hype so much cause instead of going to look a work like most of dem is capable of they rather go out and chill all night with nothing to show for it just to say “yeah ppl know my name”
Dancehall is addictive because:
(1) It is a modernized form of reggae music
(2) It has the African – inspired musical traditions and defining rhythmic elements in it
(3) It is widely popular among young people
(4) The lyrics can be about anything (impoverished conditions, violence,blatant x -rated content, or other realities of life, good or bad)
(5) You don’t have to be a trained opera singer to do it because you are chatting in a mike, and you don’t have to be handsome or a beauty queen to do it because looks, shape, weight and height are not required. Also, it nuh matta if yu eye cast, yu knee knock, yu have one foot, half a han, yu have bad breath, yu belly bang, yu hard – a -hearing, yu get de message, ——– as long as you can come up wid de right lyrics, wid de right rhythm, at de right time, den yu will be one a dem who contribute to making dancehall music addictive.
Mamacita said it best!!! For some they feel some type of fulfillment because they are able to show off on each other & brag & the sad part is some of the people inna dance 24/7 have dem priorities wrong & don’t have dry $hit inna dem rass…
As an American, the dancehall became addictive to me out of respect and admiration of Jamaican culture…at first…I would attend dances to listen to music after a hard week’s work… Eventually, as Mamacita so accurately put it, you become familiar with people; who’s who, what crew do you belong to and most importantly “who are you wearing” Each dance was like getting ready for prom or the grammy’s…. outfits custom made or straight out the pages of Vouge/Elle Harper’s etc… Although I do not attend dances that often anymore, I truly enjoyed my “Good Ole Days” and am thankful. When I look back over my life, some of my fondest memories are in the dancehall… Blessup Jamaica RESPECT!
Metty it’s addictive cause its the best comedy and circus show….live!! Nothing edited. Best show money can buy. Metty mi try reset mi email code and it never send to mi phone like it said it would. Sometimes when it comes to technology mi feel like a dunce so mi a tek time fren fren up mi dawta suh she can dweet fimi.yuh know sometimes when yuh ask these young chilvrens to help yuh with these things them gi yuh big speech and nyaam off piece a yuh head suh mi haffe tek time guh roun di ting
yeppie u can always mek a new email addy
In the Jamaican community, we believe that if we possess certain material things and we carry ourselves a certain way, then we are showing the world that we are living large. We a nyam high pan di hog. We a happen. We more dan dem cause we have XYZ and we wear XYZ. The dancehall scene is the best place to showcase what you have and how you look. There is the camera that will take your pics and put them on the www. for the whole world to see. Then there is the crowd of ppl just like you who you can mingle with. You will rub elbows with ppl just like you who carry LV bags and wear expensive Brazilian weave. You will floss with men who drive BMWs and Mercedes just like you. Its the place to be seen and that is the motive…..to be seen. Once you become a part of that world, you can’t just show off….but now you have to maintain and keep up…..so there lies the addiction. If yuh start an stop den dem say yuh flop…..an hot gtal an hot bwoy cyaan flop…..so they struggle to keep up by any means necessary. Drugs…..stealing….prostitution….anything to keep up. Then there is the attention they get both men and women. Because you are deemed “Hot” if yuh a wear certain tings. Di man dem like di false breast and batty and dem bawl out “Goodas” when yuh walk by. Feels good to hear a big heavy money man call yuh “Goodas” cause dat mean yuh look good ina yuh panty and heels ina dance. Yuh lift up yuh frock an show yuh ass and yuh get approval from both men and women…….Rayyyyyy mi skin clean. It’s addictive because it makes some feel good. Feel like they are a part of something. Everyone knows your name. You become family.
Cita very good analysis
WOW…….felt like i was reading a huffington post editorial naaa lie……mamcita me rate u ting ….n btw u hit nail on the head …..perfect synopsis
i never know it was addictive at all….
It gives some low life ppl a chance to feel like a ghetto celebrity when their chances of becoming real celebrity is slim to none thats why they love the hype so much cause instead of going to look a work like most of dem is capable of they rather go out and chill all night with nothing to show for it just to say “yeah ppl know my name”
if it addictive den dat mean seh mi therapy sessions is a waste
Dancehall is addictive because:
(1) It is a modernized form of reggae music
(2) It has the African – inspired musical traditions and defining rhythmic elements in it
(3) It is widely popular among young people
(4) The lyrics can be about anything (impoverished conditions, violence,blatant x -rated content, or other realities of life, good or bad)
(5) You don’t have to be a trained opera singer to do it because you are chatting in a mike, and you don’t have to be handsome or a beauty queen to do it because looks, shape, weight and height are not required. Also, it nuh matta if yu eye cast, yu knee knock, yu have one foot, half a han, yu have bad breath, yu belly bang, yu hard – a -hearing, yu get de message, ——– as long as you can come up wid de right lyrics, wid de right rhythm, at de right time, den yu will be one a dem who contribute to making dancehall music addictive.
Think met asking bout the dancehall scene…..not the music
Mamacita said it best!!! For some they feel some type of fulfillment because they are able to show off on each other & brag & the sad part is some of the people inna dance 24/7 have dem priorities wrong & don’t have dry $hit inna dem rass…
As an American, the dancehall became addictive to me out of respect and admiration of Jamaican culture…at first…I would attend dances to listen to music after a hard week’s work… Eventually, as Mamacita so accurately put it, you become familiar with people; who’s who, what crew do you belong to and most importantly “who are you wearing” Each dance was like getting ready for prom or the grammy’s…. outfits custom made or straight out the pages of Vouge/Elle Harper’s etc… Although I do not attend dances that often anymore, I truly enjoyed my “Good Ole Days” and am thankful. When I look back over my life, some of my fondest memories are in the dancehall… Blessup Jamaica RESPECT!