JAMAICAN NATIONAL IN BRITAIN SAYS HE WOULD RATHER DIE THAN RETURN TO JAMAICA

A dad who was saved at the last minute from deportation to Jamaica has spoken out about his ordeal.

Adam Goulbourne, 26, from Bristol had said he would rather die than be flown to the Carribbean.

On Monday night he was taken to a coach with dozens of other detainees destined to be flown out on a controversial flight to the Caribbean island.

But upon arrival an officer got onboard and said four passengers would be going back to the detention centre.

The relieved Dad was one of those who was saved at the very last minute.

“I was terrified,” said Adam. “I’ve got to wait until Friday now for a bail hearing. I’m hoping by the end of the week I could be back in Bristol.”

0_Adam-Goulbourne.jpg
Adam Goulbourne with his family(Image: Bristol Post WS)
RELATED ARTICLES

Emergency law to block automatic early release of terrorists clears Commons

Websites risk being blocked entirely if they refuse to follow new Ofcom rules
Adam has lived in England since he was six years old and cannot remember life outside of the UK.

In 2017, he was found guilty of intent to supply Class A drugs and spent two years in prison before being released in April last year.

MOST READ

‘Ghost ship’ from African coast washes up on Irish shore following Storm Dennis

Wife brutally publicly shames cheating husband – but some say she’s gone too far

Girl, 8, dies after being ‘raped by 16 men including her relatives’
Since then he has been fighting a legal battle to remain in the UK to care for his mother, who suffered a stroke last year, and his three daughters aged six, four, and three.

At the end of 2019 judges turned down his case and his final hope was pinned on his solicitor being able to win a last-minute reprieve from the courts, which he managed during the early hours of Tuesday.

It has been reported that, in total, 25 other people who were set to be deported stayed.

“I would rather die than be sent to Jamaica,” said Adam. “I don’t know anyone there. I will just be another dead British kid on the streets.

“Since leaving prison I’ve spent every day with my daughters. I’ve been able to spend all my time with them. To not be able to see them every day now, to be separated from my kids, I would rather die.”

Since being released from prison he has acted as his mum’s carer after she lost all movement on the right side of her body.

The law was changed in 2012 to allow the deportation of criminals to their birth country, despite them being raised in Britain.

7 thoughts on “JAMAICAN NATIONAL IN BRITAIN SAYS HE WOULD RATHER DIE THAN RETURN TO JAMAICA

1. Feel it for dem still, leaving all you know, but Jamaica much nicer than the UK in my opinion, I’ve moved back to Jamaica by choice six years ago and hardly regret it! Yeah things can better wid but from yuh nuh lazy and can hustle money out here fi mek, Third World countries provide nuff opportunity if yuh eyes open wide.

2. What a ras oath…follow through :nerd
    Unu no worthy enough di dead and bury ina Jamaica soil.

Me can proud fi say Jamaica all day everyday. All when me fly out fi a bit.

1. Sistagirl PP that’s why mi Spirit tek yuh so much…you’re a Real Patriot too enuh I swear!!!Fulltime dem stop gwaan like Jamaica a di worst or an automatic death sentence!!!

3. THAT’S THE PROBLEM. HE’S 26 YEARS OLD AND DONT KNOW SELLING DRUGS IS PLAYED OUT. EVERYBODY CAN’T BE “THE MAN” OR “THE DON”. GO LEARN A TRADE AND WORK. ALL THE OLD DRUGGIST THEM ARE WORKING THEM 9 TO 5.

YOU GET A CHANCE TO BETTER YOURSELVES AND MOST DON’T. JAMAICAN MAN WILL GET SOMEONE TO REALLY HELP THEM AND STIL TRY DISS UP THE WIVES WITH OTHER WOMAN WHO CANT HELP THEM.

4. There are some ppl who have had horrible life experiences in Jamaica and equate the country with their trauma and would never visit it again. Some born in places where the energy of the place is on a different wavelength from their personal energy.

May we all find that place that allows our soul to bloom and bring peace and joy to our inner being.