DANCEHALL MAN CHARGED WITH MONEY LAUNDERING 2.36M

An East Orange man was charged today with conspiring to transact in criminal proceeds involving $2.36 million in funds obtained through a business email scheme, U.S. Attorney Craig Carpenito announced.

According to Federal officials, Mr. Samora Patterson, 40, is charged by complaint with one count of conspiring to transact in criminal proceeds. He is scheduled to make his initial appearance this afternoon before U.S. Magistrate Judge Steven C. Mannion in Newark federal court.

According to the complaint:

In March 2015, three related real estate companies entered into a multi-million dollar transaction to sell certain commercial real estate properties. “Title Company A” was the closing agent for the transaction.

Officials say on May 7, 2015, immediately before the transaction was scheduled to close, hackers impersonating the president of the three real estate companies sent a fraudulent email to Title Company A with wire instructions for the net closing proceeds.

The fraudulent wire instructions directed Title Company A to wire $2.36 million to an account controlled by Patterson.

Over the next several days, Patterson withdrew the $2.36 million from his account through cashier’s checks and cash accoding to officials.

The count with which Patterson is charged carries a maximum potential penalty of 10 years in prison and a $250,000 fine, or twice the gross gain or loss from the offense.

U .S. Attorney Carpenito credited special agents of the FBI, under the direction of Special Agent in Charge Gregory W. Ehrie, with the investigation leading to today’s charge.

The government is represented by Assistant U.S. Attorney Sean M. Sherman of the U.S. Attorney’s Office Public Protection Unit in Newark.

12 thoughts on “DANCEHALL MAN CHARGED WITH MONEY LAUNDERING 2.36M

1. Anyone knows the number for his girlfriend/wife,I just want to console her while he’s going to be away..**

2. Hype life anuh e z life. Go rub off some time sir ..,maybe after , one of your concubines (he or she by the look of things) :cd will still fart pon yu.

3. Him ago prison prison.. I hope him put some of that million to good use n have house car etc in Jamaica cause him ago get deported deported as well

4. Your dirty deeds always catch up to you eventually and him don’t even straight inna Donald trump country. I hoped old food Michelle have some a di restaurant money to help him wid lawyer fee n stuff!

5. its sad, michelle is a real crosses and the man fool like duck, all hype and what’s left ?? nothing. she is just like the girls that go there, she fuck off the hype man dem and use the there girlfriends and baby mommas etc, all the men that go there end up in some mess.

6. :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

Unu thiefT till it funny how unu live and get catch! :ngakak

7. Samora have him good good gyal dat live over jersey city side or close to jersey city, plus him married fi get him papers to some yankee gyal an still no get papers and go tek up wid michelle old crosses woman weh caan navigate har life or nobody else own!!!. we all know michelle a old crosses but bad to bad she no have nothing fi do wid Sam crimes this was ongoing cases from 2015 that was never closed n it just a catch up to him now, so stop put blame pon other ppl for him criminal activities periodt. if uun go do research instead a talk shit uun will see the case was open since 2015 chase bank was involved chase big lawyer dem get them remove from di indictment so now them finally catch up to Samora Patterson. him did a try him best to put all him wrong doing behind but past just a come back fi bite him data all.