SMADDY SEH KARTEL SON BABY MOTHER FI KETCH A CHARGE

THE EDITOR, Madam:

It is rather unfortunate that at a time like this, when our children’s advocates should be vocal, they are so silent. What am I speaking of, you may ask? It is the case of a young lady, at 18 years old, becoming pregnant by Adidja ‘Vybz Kartel’ Palmer’s 15-year-old son. This, according to our rule of law, constitutes statutory rape.

It is rather disheartening to witness the hypocrisy in discussion on the issue across various platforms, with many seeing it as something to be lauded. Had it been a 15-year-old girl and an 18-year-old male, we would have been singing a different sankey.

What is even more frightening is that the grandparents-to-be are so caught up in the celebration that they have hosted a baby shower for the pair. What has our society come to? Let us not be fooled, if this were to happen in other countries, that young lady would be facing criminal charges – and she should be.

I beg us also not to turn a blind eye to a situation that begs for a child to raise a child. In some of the social-media comments, several persons seem to find no issue with the situation, saying they couple would have enough money to care for the child. Money is not what raises a child. A child needs to be supported emotionally, educationally, psychologically and physically as well.

Young Palmer, in the hype of this all, might not understand the consequences of his decision, and we pray he may be fortunate enough not to experience any too grave.

Let us stop this cycle that supports children raising children, which, in more cases than we wish to admit, often results in paternal absenteeism. Let us not praise the foolish choices of our youth, but instead, teach our teens to make better choices, and if they should have sex, teach them to practise it in a safe manner.

ASHEKI SPOONER

Executive Director

18 thoughts on “SMADDY SEH KARTEL SON BABY MOTHER FI KETCH A CHARGE

1. A little time spent in jail would cool down her jumpy jumpy front. She is an adult and he is a child so there is nothing to argue about. She should be charged with a sex crime but instead people are making this child feel like he is “the M-A-N” as if teenage pregnancy is some sort of accomplishment. Too many double standards here.

1. All di bwoy mada fi get charge to … go look back met put up him pick wid him grandfather 4 years ago when him graduate from prep school .. slackness

2. The boy a 14 when the child conceive him lef Stella marris 4 year now when hjm a -11 … a December a him bday so all who a se him a 16 is wrong … the woman right if it was the other way ppl woulda cuss we di mada a uphold slackness .. him still a go school September when girls get kicked out of school and haffi go special school and foota hype need to a cancellation a support foolishness

3. Foota hype reason like an illerate sometimes.Talk if him daughter get pregnant at 15 him nuh business.
    Is the man I hear ever say that about them daughter.

4. Foota hype reason like an illiterate sometimes.Talk if him daughter get pregnant at 15 him nuh business.
    Is the man I hear ever say that about them daughter.

5. I noticed that the cake they cut says happy 18th birthday at the “shower” and I somehow hoped the details of the young man being 15 was in error. I heard the idiot foota saying of this is factual then he is proud of youth.
    The parent(s) saw it fit to spend lavishly to rent the best looking chairs and other effects for the happy couple. Let’s just hope that the parents were not proud but decided to uplift the young woman up during these times as pregnancies with unworthy partners and the aftermath can create havoc on a woman’s self esteem.
    Dear baby mama to be, safe delivery. Perhaps at the exact moment when you feel your skin tear to make room for the baby’s shoulders as it exits your birth canal it will help to put things into perspective. Hopefully you are enrolled in a university and can go forth and set a good example for your child.

6. Change her for what she love who she love how much man weh a 30plus and 40 plus breed little gyal and nuh guh jail

7. Having read this and now have the ages of both parties, I agree that the young lady DID commit a crime and should be punished by law. Rape is rape and there should be no double standard

8. By the sounds of it that punny has been very busy. Alleged Grandma, if you’re listening please do a DNA as soon as the baby pop out.