Sizzla no longer welcomed at Netherlands’ Melkweg festival- BUT CHECK DI BOTTOM A DI ARTICLE

AMSTERDAM, Netherlands (CMC) – Organisers have withdrawn a request for Jamaican dancehall singer, Sizzla to perform at the ‘Melkweg’ show later this year because of his anti-gay lyrics, the promoters have said.

They said Sizzla, whose real name is Miguel Collins, was due to perform at the March 16 show and that patrons who had already purchased tickets would be refunded.

Melkweg said it had been made aware of Sizzla’s performance at a recent show in Jamaica where he did a song against gay relationships.

Melkweg said it does not want to provide a stage to anyone who sings such “very hurtful and hateful lyrics”.

In 2007, Sizzla signed a document renouncing previous anti-gay statements. He had also promised not to sing anti-gay songs on European stages.

0 thoughts on “Sizzla no longer welcomed at Netherlands’ Melkweg festival- BUT CHECK DI BOTTOM A DI ARTICLE

1. So sizzle sign documents begging the gays pardon in 2007. Well them can do anything to him now, so see it they are gonna take every gig away from you. I truly believe he was a scapegoat at sting for real. Smh

2. So, Met, afta all dem papa signing deh, why him change him mind an go pan stage go lick out gay people , him fi get sey him sign it or wah?

Dem need to stop effing wid dem kids food/school money, just do the job dem pay u fi do an keep u opinion to u self. That’s how me look at it.

3. seeit deh now. him realize too late, say him “bow” an ah try ketch himself, too late!
    A contract is binding, do your job and keep it moving.
    Sizzla agreed to something he was not in agreement with, he agreed not to partake in any form off anti-gayism, lyrically or vocally and he reniged. Can’t do dat when contracts are involved: this will cripple him financially!!! :berduka

4. So true wat appen @ “sting” the european promoters who previously booked him in 2007, cancelled him out of their march, 2014 line-up! Their not even giving him a chance to perform; they themselves have made the signed contract, null an void based on gay rights, MAD!!!

5. Prolly him jus Change him mind,cuz sometime wen di artis dem refrain from bunin di fish dem, dem still find somthing fi attack dem bout, suh di man prolly jus seh f**k it, mi damn if mi do, an mi damn if mi dont lol

6. It amazese that all dese ppl r acting like this is a new side to Sizzla, How much years he been talkin about di wicked Babylonians, Pope, n Fish?? Rasta man nah apologize to no batty boy :bola

7. As far as I see it if he didnt sign, he wudnt b able to perform. He can sign n still go up dere n sing wadeva, afta show dun promoter wud jus have to deal wid it. Beenie sign n still sing him song dem same way

8. the contract state European stages!!! him never know seh a stage show like sting would get him into this! so dem ban gay lyrics a Jamaica technically?!

9. YUH KNOW MI NEVA DID AH GO SEH A WORDDDDDD IN ENGLISH OR FRENCH BOUT NASTY LAING AND HIM FREAKY FREN WEH WON’T LEAVE PPL BOTTOM IN JESUS’ PEACE, BUT DIS SHIT AH TEK DI PISS NOWWWW!!!! RIGHT NOW IF YUH CUT MI YUH WON’T SEE ONE OUNCE AH BLOOD, DI WAY HOW MI DARKKKK! ALL DI TRY MI TRY FI HOLD MI TONGUE FROM DI FIRST TOPIC BUST! AAHH BWAAY!

WEH MI WUDDA LIKE SMADDY TELL MI, AH WHEN SINCE NASTY SHIT UP BATTY LAING BECOME SO “CONCERNED” BOUT HIM DUTTY GHETTO SPLASH???? PPL GET SHOT, FACE GET STOMP OUT, NUMEROUS SEVERE UNJURIES HAVE BEEN SUSTAINED FROM HOARDS OF BOTTLES….YOU NAME IT, IT GWAAN AH STING 30 TIMES OVA…SUH MI WUDDA LIKE SMADDY TELL MI AH WAH DI NEW FOUND PURITY IS ALL ABOUT?????

AND MI NUH INNA NUH INNA NUH HEAP A LONG ARGUMENT WID NOOOOOOBODY EITHER, MORE THAN MI AH GO SAY: SCHOOL CHILDREN IN ENGLAND KNOW WHO SIZZLA KALONJI IS, AND WHAT HE IS ABOUT, AND IF THEY KNOW NOTHING ELSE ABOUT HIM, THEY SHOULD ALLLLL KNOW THAT YOU CCAANNOOTT TELL HIM WHAT TO DO, AS THAT IS WHERE THE PROBLEM IS GUARANTEED TO BEGIN, BET UNNU LAST DOLLAR PON DAT! LASTLY HE IS NOT A NEW ARTISTE JUST CRAWLING OUTTA DI WOODWORKS, SUH MI NUH KNOW WEH DI SHOCK AND DISGUST FAH???

NOW AS FI TRETCH OUT CROTCHES NETHERLANDS, DIS NUH NEW NEEDA, DATS WHY DEM DID SEND FI HIM FROM BEST OF DI BEST, FI COME BACK OVA DEH WEH HIM JUST LEF, FI CARRY HIM GUH COURT AND DEPORT HIM OUTTA EUROPE….BECAWS HE WENT TO PERFORM AND THEY WANTED HIM TO SIGN THAT F’ING PAPER, BOWING TO DI FAGS, AND HE DIDN’T, BUT INSTEAD, AGREED TO A MILDER REQUEST TO NOT PERFORM HIS SONGS PORTRAYING VIOLENCE AGAINST THEM….DEN AFTA HIM PERFORM AND LEF COME BACK AH MERICA FI CONTINUE HIM TOUR (DIS WAS RECENTLY AFTA DI SIGNING WID DAME DASH), AND DO BEST AH DI BEST, DEM SEND BACK FI HIM, CLAIMING HE PERFORMED ANTI ABNORMALITY MUSIC…DEN SHORTLY AFTA NASTY UNCLE SAM FOLLOW SUIT….UNNU BL@$ DCLAAT LUDDY!!!!! F@$ KING SET AH GERMS!

LAING AND HIM FREN, AND DUTTY NETHERLANDS, AND NASTY MERICA, KISS MI AND MI ASS!!!!

10. a backlash inevitable when you choose not to play white man rules. Sizzla know the road for years an don’t care . Laing know the global road come different all advertisement, sponsors and the wider global audience not gonna tolerate certain things . New era now ,dance hall is a product to be sold and repackaged to a wider audience,minus the rough edges. Organizers booking Sizzla for sting played a neat hand in keeping the corporate dons happy. You’ve been warned ppl more to come..

11. I am a bit confused. Did Sizzla sign a contract to NEVER sing anti-gay lyrics or to not sing them on European stage? Because the last sentence stated: that he promised not to sing them on European stages. Somebody please clarify this for me

12. This dude wasting his career fighting a losing battle. These people are who they are. They now own the ‘tickets’ of entry to every 1st world nation. Just leave these people alone. Yu notice all Capleton has toned down the rhetoric in recent years. Right now, look deh… Kalonji soon cyaan pass Norman Manley. smh!

13. OK NOW WE ARE DESCENDING DOWN THIS SLIPPERY SLOPE OF CONSENT WID DI BATTY GAYS AND CARPET MUNCHERS. ME SEE A ARTICLE THE OTHER DAY WHERE THE PEDOPHILES ARE NOW SAYING THIER RIGHTS ARE BEING VIOLATED AND THEY HAVE THE RIGHT TO LOVE LIKKLE PICKNEY. THEM SEH THEM BEING DISCRIMINATED LIKE THE BAATTY BWOY AND MUNCHER DEM. SO NEXT TING WE KNOW WE LIKKLE PICKNEY SOON FALL VICTIM AND WE NAH GO HAVE A LEG FI TANUPPAN. THOSE WHO DO NOT TAKE A STAND SHALL FALL VICTIM. ME NO KNOW WHY THEM NO GO AFRICA AND TELL CERTAIN AFRICAN NATION WHAT DEM CAN AND CANNOT SAY. DEM WILL LOSE NOT ONLY DEM HOOD BUT DEM LIFE. A LIKKLE JAMDUNG DEM A TEK SET PON. SIZZLA FI JUST HOLD UP HIM HEAD THE LORD WILL VINDICATE HIM NO MATTER HOW DI BATTY GAYS DEM A RAIL. GOD A GOD