DI MARLEY DEM SEH DNA FI FABIAN MARLEY

F

THE family of Bob Marley is to make children of the late reggae icon available to compare DNA samples with that of singer Fabian Marley, who has been claiming publicly for the past two years to have been sired by the world-renowned artiste.

However, the arrangement doesn’t sit well with Fabian Marley, who is irked by the Marley family’s position that his DNA would not be compared with that of the man he has claimed to be his father.

On November 4, Marley family attorney Kevin Powell, a partner in the law firm Hylton Powell, responded to a letter from Keachea Dixon, the attorney for Fabian Marley, on the controversial issue.

“…we will make available one or more of Bob Marley’s children to complete the comparative DNA tests…,” the letter said.

“Your client’s request for his DNA to be matched with that of the deceased Robert Nesta Marley is unreasonable and not at all rational,” the letter continued. “It is completely out of the question and our clients will not even consider it.”

In light of the ardent position of the Marley family, Fabian Marley told the Jamaica Observer on Friday that he will be taking legal action to obtain Bob Marley’s DNA sample to conduct the relevant comparative test.

“I’m taking this to the court. I know I am a Marley. I never went to any of them for anything,” he told the Sunday Observer.

“I’m not going to match up DNA with any of the siblings. When I was ready to do this three years ago they turned me down. Mi nuh inna this,” he said.

The 47-year-old artiste, who goes by the moniker Gong Kid, told the newspaper previously that he was born in the inner-city community of Trench Town — from which Bob Marley rose to international prominence during the 1970s — as a result of a liaison between his mother Raphie ‘Peggy’ Munroe and the senior Marley.

Fabian Marley gave his birth date as July 27, 1968, and said all his official documents, including his birth certificate, have the Marley surname.

Marley, a father of numerous children, died in Florida in May 1981 from cancer at age 36.

Fabian Marley, who was on tour of Europe when he was informed that the Marley family had agreed to the DNA tests, said that his mother, who is residing in Florida, had told him that Bob Marley was his father.

Fabian Marley has, since 2013, made headlines with a claim that he’s the first son of the reggae icon. But the claim hasn’t gone down well with the Marley family, which has refused to acknowledge his sensational pronouncements.

The family had gone as far as having their attorneys issue the claimant a “cease and desist” order, warning him to refrain from using the Marley name. He was also told to quit claiming to be the son of the reggae legend, unless he supplied concrete evidence.

Fabian Marley’s manager, Clayton Thomas, who heads Massive Entertainment Group, said that a number of international record labels have expressed interest in his client, but that the outstanding issue of his paternity has been a setback.

“If the Marley family has nothing to prove, then what’s the problem?” he asked.

0 thoughts on “DI MARLEY DEM SEH DNA FI FABIAN MARLEY

1. Dem need to go DNA pan LAVA baby, dem too raas prejudice!!! Chances are he could be a MARLEY mi neva si a set of family i dislike suh jahknow like a dem mek demselves who dem is today!! Mi want him be di fuss born yuhsi man dem just too much for my liking RITA fi memba a slum shi born and grow up ina a gwaan like cho mi cyaa tek how sum a wi tan! Is a wanda how shi naay disown DAMION MARLEY seeing dat shi seh CINDY FAMILY DEM PIMP R OUT DAS Y BOB MARLEY wrote PIMPESS PARADISE YUH SI DI ONE RITA she shi nuh easy

1. Just like how Norval’s family said Bob Marley was not his ? The same way there are doubts surrounding three of the children bearing his last name? Listen Bob Marley was just like any other poor man back then. It is not impossible. Just saying ….

2. The same cud have said abt kymani and others that arent ritaz kids di boy just need to do a DNA most a dem.long time big woman deh love tell dem kids lie abt who a dem pa suh let us see.how dis guh

3. If he is Bob’s kid DNA can come from any of Bob’s children or even his mother if Cedella was still married. All I know Rita is the smartest long suffering wife there is, through all di dis Bob dis har,she heng on cuz she know it would be more profitable in the end to be the widow of Bob, than his Ex-wife. Lol all dem side chicks,in the end is Rita lol-ing all the way to the bank.

4. Bredren do the DNA test and keep it moving… He’s probably up in arms about it because he knows he’s going to be internationally embarrassed if he isn’t.

5. I’ve known this guy from we were kids.We always used to tease him that he looked like Bob and him mus go ask his mom if she had a thing with Marley.He has locks from he was a child when his siblings or mom doesn’t and his mother couldn’t get him to trim…go figure

6. Manushka i agree wid yuh it real simple.why not do ah dna
    To find out de truth which will
    Bring credibility to his story.
    I wouldnt resist it would give
    Him entitlement to the name etc.
    But he is resisting which is
    Stupid since for yrs he claims
    This.
    Not cause bob did put on ah one
    Slappins pon him mumma dat mean
    Say is him fadda.
    I think him fraid to find out
    The truth it would devastate
    Him if it come back an he is not.

7. I’m not sure how many ppl know about Rasta culture but it’s a fact that they don’t believe in using condoms!! In all probability no one knows fo sure jus how many kids Bob sired.DNA/paternity test doesn’t prove who IS the father but rather if ur NOT the father.thus dem mu let di yute do the test using bob’s dental records or DNA profile. How unno nuh know if Rita gave Bob jacket too? Rita u need fi mek dem test ur pickney fust!!

8. Well ziggy marley said in an interview that Fabian is not his brother ….said his father introduced him to all his brothers and his father would never hide any of his children

9. Good Morning Met and Metters,
    Mi curious fi know if him madda used to rerk at a Bank before shi migrate….. Causen sey di name soun velly velly familiah.

Does anyone know?

10. If Fabian proves to be Bob pickney dat dethrone Ziggy as him fuss born and as Bunny Wailer say long time, AH NUFF “MARLEY PICKNEYS” AH CLAIM TO BE MARLEY AND THEY ARE NOT!!! So Cedella and Rohan in my opinion can GWEH. Everybody KNOW say Sharon was adopted.

Higher heights fe Fabian…God NAH SLEEP!

Greedy, wanga-gut, craven, licky licky…Puppa Jeezas ah de same ting mi ah say over and over but ALL describe de MARLEY CHILDREN XCEPT Kymani cause him mi know personally