NOTORIOUS GANG LEADER KILLED

Suspected ‘Jarrett St. Shooter’ killed

Following a bullet-filled confrontation with men in Belmont, St. James, on Tuesday, March 12, the police are reporting that one of two men killed – 36-year-old Kayon Wellington, was the reputed leader of the St. James-based Dean’s Lane Gang, and was responsible for a number of murders and robberies in and around the parish.

The police are also reporting that Wellington, who is otherwise called ‘Scatta’, was also involved in Sunday’s (March 10) high-profile double murder and multi-million-dollar robbery along Jarrett Street, in which Hawkeye security guard, Canute Earle, and 41-year-old Floyd Wilson, were killed.

THE RIGHT MAN

Despite some residents protesting Wellington’s death, the police are maintaining that they got the right man. According to the lawmen, Wellington’s criminal exploits date as far back to 2003, when he was fingered as a person of interest for crimes involving murders, shootings, and wounding with intent.

In 2013, the police relate, Wellington was implicated in the murder of Keniel Richards in Belmont. In January of 2018, Wellington was then implicated in the murder of Kevin Lindo on McCatty Street, and in 2019, the murders of Omar Watkins and Lloyd Johnson on Barnett Street.

THE FIERY ENCOUNTER

According to information reaching this newsroom, targeted raids were carried out across the parish for illegal firearms, wanted men and persons of interests, which included Wellington. Intelligence led the lawmen to a two-storey dwelling house in the Belmont community, where two men allegedly challenged the officers. After receiving backup, according to reports, the lawmen were able to gain control of the situation, and after the shooting subsided, two men were found suffering from gunshot wounds, one of whom was Wellington.

Wellington’s house in Belmont, St. James, the scene of the alleged shootout with the police on Tuesday
The men were transported to the Cornwall Regional Hospital, where they were pronounced dead.

RESIDENTS CRY FOUL

Even as the lawmen remain confident that their intelligence-gathering efforts correctly led them to Wellington, some Belmont community members are expressing dissatisfaction in what they believe was the unwarranted slaying of an innocent man.

“I was here washing and a get up mi get up fi throw weh di waata,” began one resident who spoke to the Western Mirror on condition of anonymity. “When mi look down there – because his (Wellington) house faces mine so I could see over there, mi see a man lean up pon the side of the house.” The resident reportedly alerted her husband to what she had seen, and not long after, police had surrounded the house of the deceased.

“The whole yard was surrounded by police,” the resident confirmed, adding that by that point, she made her way to the front of her house to closer observe what was happening. “I told my mother, and the guys who were out by the front, that police had surrounded Kayon’s house, but before I could finish, mi hear a barrage a gunshots… mi cyaa believe seh police just come kill di pickney suh!”

She continued: “If him do something, carry him gwaan a jail – a man is innocent until proven guilty, so carry him gwaan a prison.” The resident further shared that security personnel soon flooded the community, and were asking persons to return to their homes. It was further revealed that a basic school that was close by had to halt its activities and had its students lie on the ground, until the area had been fully secured by the lawmen.

“A dem come wid di bag a shooting because even one a di man dem wa dem kill was a man of unsound mind, him head nuh good and dem kill him,” she concluded.

FAMILY MEMBER SPEAKS

“A work mi deh and mi get di call seh police come shoot him” a female cousin of the deceased shared. “We neva have no incident in the community, so mi surprise seh police come in here, raid a house and shoot a man (Wellington) inna him bed when him a sleep.”

She further explained that Wellington bought and sold cars, and had been relatively immobile since he was previously shot in an incident with the police – a matter which was before the court. “Right now, we sad, we hurt and we in pain. Him a neva somebody weh give trouble, a somebody weh always stay in and deh pon him phone… so right now, mi just nuh know.”

The incident reportedly took place around 2:18 p.m.

27 thoughts on “NOTORIOUS GANG LEADER KILLED

1. Let mi si if mi understanding this clear, the x6 driver who shot and kill the youth in Kingston who’s gun was under some police woman name,who walk free wen all the evidence is pointed to him..no if buts are Maybe now the police tek days to find this man n 2 others who they claim did the robbery, not even take him in to find out who else is involved,them kill on the spot and said he was the mastermind behind it… if Jamaica isn’t the most corrupt country in the world I am not alive, I’m either dead or sleeping this whole time.. if a nu police did this robbery and plan to kill the youth and pin it on him I quit living..

2. No idea if this man was a badman or not. He just might have been, but it seems the police did this to have someone to pin that robbery on. The robbery had telltale signs of extensive weapon training, not your regular everyday “badman”. People are saying that this man was not even able to move around quickly, but dead men tell no tales.

IDK just seems like typical corrupt police coverup. I haven’t heard much talk of the other parties involved, just the police saying they got the right man and nothing more.

3. Really now! So ur conflating the two incidents? One has nothing to do with the other. #nosocietyisjust. Puss and dawg nuh ave di same luck. This guy was an outright thug, regardless of what his goodly neighbours profess. You’ve forfeited the choice to live to a ripe old age once ur a murderer…repeat murderer at that. So he was allegedly murdered in return…isnt that some form of karmic justice! Good riddance!

4. If you all could read you would see where it says that when lawmen arrived, they were challenged. That may or may not be true. Let’s say it is true… now you’re a threat to police and they have a right to kill you. I do not like to compare to other countries but I am almost positive if it was here in the US, the same actions would’ve been carried out. Now if they were to bring them to jail you all would be saying “why them never kill him? Wasting tax payers dollars.”

Let’s wait for facts and then we speak!

5. 1 bad eyewitness ;D

work mi deh and mi get di call seh police come shoot him” a female cousin of the deceased shared. “We neva have no incident in the community, so mi surprise seh police come in here, raid a house and shoot a man (Wellington) inna him bed when him a sleep.”

2 You full a shit.

She further explained that Wellington bought and sold cars, and had been relatively immobile since he was previously shot in an incident with the police – a matter which was before the court. “Right now, we sad, we hurt and we in pain. Him a neva somebody weh give trouble, a somebody weh always stay in and deh pon him phone… so right now, mi just nuh know.”

***Dear Cousin, where him find money to buy and sell cars since him a recluse?

Neighbor oman,the time you tek a report to you man and the man dem pon de front a yu careless yard how you find time fi know who fired first and what tek place after the lawful entry upon the residence?

Another one down. What a thing when gangsta a wear tight pants and a push slippaz wid him cane-row hair 😀 😀

6. :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

Wha one have fi do wid de other?

X6 man make him case reach courthouse. Yah gwan like dem “thuggy thuggy” yah ago inna handcuff peacefully.

Either way, a next thug down.

1. Butch I can’t stand your ass, sometimes you fi just see ppl comment and move right along. We get it you’re a police advocate. Stop acting like this isn’t Jamaican.

1. You and who don’t like me can go crawl right up inna dah boy yah grave.

MET pay the rass bills round here fi me logon and comment and Me sure as fuck a pay me light, phone, internet and cable bill…so me comment where and when the fuck me feel like.

Eat shit!

Me is a JDF/JCF advocate fi life! Yu dirty foot bitches can’t stop that. Go play wid unu criminal dead family and friends and lo me.

No smear no de pon me family last name. Our security and political members serve with honor, pride and integrity! Grow fi you own dem fi walk de good walk. :ngakak

Can tell when unu raise inna one room, behind zinc an a box food out a puppy mouth :maho

Have a great go fuck yu self week.

7. I know I’m fool no one have to tell mi but I lived in n around bad man n truth mi nuff time they get blame jus bcuz of the crime wen they are is prison.. su all who nu like my speach please live good n good will follow you

8. Jamaicans that live abroad smh he was suing the police force, and was winning the case. They trail him from court and kill him typical police style google Kentucky the dj from town police hit his vehicle, they wanted him to pay them, he refused and they killed him the worst police force in the world beggy beggy battyboy police them smfh

1. What an insult to Kentucky Kid that you would associate his demise with this case!

Apple and oranges.

Btw, Foreign full a battyman police. Lets start with the faggots who found pleasure in sodomizing a black man wid broom stick in a full police station.

The US military full a faggots till dem have fi pass law fi protect dem…

“BOTTOMS UP” :toast :ngakak

9. Suh bad man nuh can gi orders from prison? U mek it look like police nuh know who a gi trouble. The culture of extra judicial killings will neva stop until dutty gunman stop kill ppl.

10. What u guys mean by what 1 thing have to do with the other?.. it’s clear to me that you guys don’t see that the police and the justice system in Jamaica is corrupt.. the reason I bring back the x6 case is bcuz that man murder the youth n bcuz he have money he walk free.. now if u rob n kill are you just kill bcuz u can it still call murder.. the police dem a mobay could find this man n kill him within days and their argument is they have strong leads and it was a shootout.. first thing came to my mind is,after this well know gangster commit a robbery like that he wasn’t on the look out for the police, just in case anything leads back to him? The police dem a mobay tek people idiot.. a same way dem kill Mario Dean n blame the inmates.. that’s why wen dem rass bun dem mi nu sorry fi dem.. me want a safe and clean n better Jamaica but a di police dem wi fi get rid of first.. them is the most corrupt organization in Jamaica.. me know badman weh police call n tell him everybody who bring them name a station n all a dem fren.. how can that be wen yu supposed to put a shot inna him head.. the same badman kill around 6 r 7 people b4 them kill him

1. This site provides you anonymity to send in information that will help in cleaning up corruption. You should use it to expose the police and the criminal you mentioned.

Many of you don’t notice up to now the social impact that this very site can cause outside of dancehall mixups…use it wisely.

11. Max..everybody know corruption rife a Jamaica and life nuh fair. The point still remains…murderer day come.

1. So let me ask unno something,police nu involve inna organize crime a Jamaica? Chucky brown nu just gone a prison,one more nu deh behind bars inna di uchence gang.. phantom oh u want mi call people name on here? That is not what I visit here for is is read what’s on here n to put my social comments towards what I read.. su don’t come tell me but ur for police n shit, is 4 of my family are members of the JCF.. so need I say no more.. shawty how me chat too much? It the police supposed to hold a press conference n explain to to Jamaican police how the got the information n slove the crime so quickly so the people can feel safe and have faith inna dem..I don’t like the police in Jamaica bcuz everytime them stop me a gun inna my face.. wen mi ask if I pose any threats they said a wi work wi a du n sometimes no answer just license and registration..if the police dem did a du them job rite we wouldn’t have reached where we are today with the crime.. that’s all me have fi seh I’m with this topic.. wen met post something else then catch my eyes I will put my 2 cents in.. peace love n respect

12. Max u chat too much, shut the hell up and mek people who know the facts tell us what is going on so we can analyze things n figure it out ourselves. 1. Was this man ever involved in any wrong doing, das what I want to know. 2. If the police kill him wrongfully those cops need to feel the full length of the law. 3. Is that man involved in any gang activities. Andrew pang could pass for a pastor das how quiet him did look, looks has nothing to do with a person capability.

13. anyways all that chatter aside, he is a known badman, my friends know him too, not sure if he did the robbery, but he is not innocent and him don’t sell no rass car. Pathetic!