PJ PATTERSON SEH SUPPORT NESTA CARTER

Former Prime Minister PJ Patterson has come out in full support of embattled sprinter Nesta Carter, who failed a drug test in a recent retesting of samples from the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China.

Patterson, who was the lead counsel in the defence team that exonerated double 200m Olympic champion Veronica Campbell-Brown in 2014 of any doping violation, said the country must rally behind Carter.

While speaking at a function in honour of the great Jamaican sprinter Dennis Johnson at the Alhambra Inn on Tuesday night, Patterson raised some intriguing questions.

“First of all, when our athletes triumph we all rejoice and we bask in their glory,” Patterson said, adding that they deserve our support when they face difficulties and challenges as well.

PJ
Carter, who won bronze in the 100m at the 2013 World Championship and who has been a key member of Jamaica’s 4x100m relay teams, tested positive for the stimulant Methylhexanamine.
“Our position is clear as a country, we don’t support doping in any form. When accusations are levelled at those who have competed at the highest level and over those years have never been found wanting, we have an obligation to rally and ensure that they get an adequate defence and this is something in which all of us as Jamaicans have to be involved,” said Patterson.

“We are defending our good name as a country, our athletic stars and one who has an unblemished record, who was tested before, during and immediately after the Beijing Olympics and no noxious substance was detected,” he added.

“The particular substance for which he has been charged was not itself on the ban list in 2008, but the IOC is contending that it is related to other prohibited substances, that is open to challenge on a scientific basis,” the very astute Patterson noted.

Patterson, who served as the sixth prime minister of Jamaica between 1992 and 2006, said there are questions that need to be answered.

“But another question arises, the testing for the offending substance existed and was available then, so one must ask, why was it not found then?”

“Eight years after, the chain of custody must be very carefully examined at every link…one must also consider with fading memories, how is one going to be called upon to reproduce, in detail, what was taken,” he pointed out.

7 thoughts on “PJ PATTERSON SEH SUPPORT NESTA CARTER

1. To be honest I didn’t know it was Nester that stands accused….I support you Mr. Carter.

2. PJ, we should not condone or support cheaters. We should support our athletes whether they are triumphant or failures–if they compete fairly. Cheating is a totally different ball game–those who cheat are embarrassing Jamaica…

1. “The particular substance for which he has been charged was not itself on the ban list in 2008, but the IOC is contending that it is related to other prohibited substances, that is open to challenge on a scientific basis,” the very astute Patterson noted.

Them test a sample from 2008 and find something that was not on the ban list until recently. How is he a cheater? Every little thing is a problem and athletes have to be extremely careful even in using certain ointments because of what they contain because it might give them a positive result for something that they are not even using for any enhancement purposes. This is what PJ is talking about. Stop jumping to conclusions and support our athletes. It’s not fair for them to test his sample from 2008 for a substance that was not on the ban list until now and then punish him for it

3. Mr Patterson should outline the steps we must take in order to lend support. Me wudda like fi support but me nuh know what fi do