BOLT SEH HIM NUH PLEASED

Bolt not satisfied with 19.89 seconds
…says he can tell he is not in top shape

BOLT

BOLT… Over time, I’ll be fine, I’ll just keep doing the work. (Photos: AFP)

Jamaica’s Usain Bolt turned in a workman-like performance to win the men’s 200m in 19.89 seconds (-0.3 m/s) at the London Muller Anniversary Games and proved his readiness to defend his titles at the Olympic Games in Brazil next month.

However, Bolt, who was running for the first time since he withdrew from the Jamaican Senior Championships on July 1, was not satisfied with his performance.

“I don’t want to see it again. I wasn’t that impressed,” said Bolt.

Alonzo Edwards of Panama was second in 20.04 with Adam Gemili of Great Britain third in 20.07. Jamaica’s Nickel Ashmeade faded badly into eighth with 20.51 seconds.

“It’s my first race back from my slight injury problem.

“I can tell I’m not in really top shape. In training everything is OK but I need races to run myself into shape.

“I’ll have to do that in Rio and hopefully get myself back up to speed,” he informed.

But worryingly for his competitors, this was Bolt’s first 200m race for the season and to open with 19.89 seconds sends a strong message.

“I tried to go for the curb but I don’t think I executed well.

“The key thing is I came out here and won but I’m always hungry for more,” said Bolt.

“I’m getting there, I’m not fully in shape, I need more work. But over time, I’ll be fine, I’ll just keep doing the work,” he reiterated.

Bolt is now the fifth fastest in the world over the distance this year behind Americans Lashawn Merritt (19.74), Justin Gatlin (19.75), Ameer Webb (19.85) and his Racers’ Track Club training partner Miguel Francis of Antigua (19.88).

Jamaica’s Stephenie-Ann McPherson finished with a flourish and grabbed second spot in the 400m in 50.40 seconds.

The outstanding Shaunae Miller of the Bahamas won easily in a world-leading 49.55 seconds. Americans Natasha Hastings and Francena McCocory were third and fourth in 50.49 and 50.73 seconds respectively. Christine Ohuruogu of Great Britain was fifth in a season best 51.05 seconds.

With only two 400m Diamond Race meets remaining, Miller leads with 30 points, five ahead of McPherson on 25 points with Hastings in third with 18 points. Jamaica’s former Diamond League winner, Novlene Williams-Mills, who did not participate yesterday is fourth with 17 points.

Jamaica’s Julian Forte was fifth in the men’s 100m in 10.11 seconds (+0.4 mps). Frenchman Jimmy Vicaut won in 10.02 ahead of American Isiah Young with 10.07 seconds and European champion Churandy Martina of the Netherlands third in 10.10. Marvin Bracy of the USA was fourth in 10.11 seconds.

Veteran Kim Collins of St Kitts and Nevis once again pulled up apparently injured and jogged across the line in 12.08 seconds.

The two-day London Muller Anniversary Games continue today where Jamaica’s sprint queen, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce will contest the 100m along with Christania Williams, Simone Facey and Remona Burchell.

Jamaica Beijing World Championship bronze medallist, O’Dayne Richards, will be hoping to improve on his season’s best of 20.82m when he lines up in the men’s shot put alongside Americans Joe Kovacs, Kurt Roberts and Darrell Hill. Germany’s David Storl and Tom Walsh from New Zealand.

In form, Damar Forbes will be hoping to continue his recent good form in the long jump while Chanice Porter will compete in the long jump alongside Jessica Ennis-Hill of Great Britain.

One thought on “BOLT SEH HIM NUH PLEASED

1. Come on Usain, don’t beat up on yourself now Hon. You gave it your best, and only your best is good enough! It puts a big smile on my face when I hear a non-Jamaican big you up! Nuff love Usain! Keep on keeping on Hon!