THE BLACKER THE BERRY THE SWEETER THE JUICE BY KENDRICK LAMAR DECODED

This is the first song I have decoded only because the song speaks to us as Jamaicans so much and where respect is given respect is due!
I can’t say how much respect I have for Kendrick Lamar for doing this track and all the reviews I have seen so far have not touched the core of the words of this powerful song. The incorporation of Marcus Garvey in it along with Dancehall artiste Assassin shows he is really paying homage to his forefathers and genres that were before him and made his time possible.

http://youtu.be/6AhXSoKa8xw
Marcus Garvey, when he came to the United States he saw that there was a hole in the black culture. Blacks were comfortable with feeling inferior so when Lamar mentioned him on this track and left out Martin Luther King Junior and Malcolm X I knew he IS after something much bigger than just blacks being free. He was after black empowerment, black movement, black unity and a return to Africa.

White , Chinese, Caucasian are all races that came from the black race and even with this knowledge , black people who are the genius of the race don’t want to be black. Kendrick knows he is from the race of all races and he is proud to be black. He is not only proud to be black, he wouldn’t mind seeing his color everywhere because he is owns it. Black is truth, black is everything.
Black people getting up early protesting makes him feel proud , they laying their lives down, won’t change anything but it motivates him seeing black people die for a cause. Blacks are strong and should never give up or break, don’t ”crack” we are a strong people..
He just like all the other blacks who sit by and do nothing , Lamar thinks he is the biggest hypocrite of 2015 because by now we should have learned from all our struggles, however its a new year and sadly nothing will change.Pent up feelings , the pretentious smiles that has to give other races all end now and he knows after they hear all this ,for sure there will be discomfort,broken friendships don’t matter in fact its expected. So, he says goodbye to the hypocritical friendships before they get offended, knowing they will take offense because they have been hypocrites too. Whites have guarded their feelings and are well aware of the black man’s shrouded feelings all which stem from systematic, constructed, calculated jealousy. African-American as they would say but, he, Lamar the emancipated negro knows where he is from and knows that he is African because there is no such thing as African-American. He asks to be pardoned but he isn’t sorry , fully aware of where he came from , his beginnings were in a village.
Black people are the foundation of mankind and everything ”above” started from us who are now seen as those below. He wants the world to know, truly how he really feels on this track. Underneath hypocritically forged friendships Kendrick feels that there is a plot to end the culture of blacks, the petty jealousy that began the plot led to hatred of his race. The size of the penis and nose that doesn’t really matter fed this jealousy that was felt by other races and caused them to call us monkeys of which Lamar is proud to be, fully aware of what he is. It’s our hair , its our nose but our dick is bigger than yours. The hate is real but they can’t take away the essence of black, the style of black because black is everything.
The things stolen from the black race to make other races rich, keeping them down and while they blame blacks for their own violence . Kendrick wants them to know they made him and just as they stole Marcus Garvey’s name and character, he is now a negro emancipated. He is real and has seen the truth, a real nigga.
Emancipated , yet still treated as slaves in a system designed enslave blacks because of their color. Blacks go through their struggles only because they are black. What was stolen from us our gold, minerals now hang in chains around or necks. The chains we now wear as jewelry were why we were chained
When all is said and done we are doomed from birth if we are born blacks, the scars are still there, our slave masters are there waiting for us to make a wrong move. We should remember that we are black, even though blacks are on the block, all races start from blacks. Not only blacks but everyone should note that.
Again the biggest hypocrite, the hidden feelings all who have been hiding can now feel free when they get Kendrick’s message. Blacks remain irrelevant to society,jails are made for blacks, where they are chained and someone is getting rich off those blacks behind bars.
They stole our religion, our minds, all with the intention to manipulate, steal its all calculated. The church, the jails those are all lies. Black people are not free only whites are but to hate blacks they must hate themselves, because black is the foundation, the mother of all nations, the beginning of all races. To hate black is to hate self, themselves. Black culture is powerful, its what they are after, to kill that is to control the whole black race
Africa was the first to have a civilization , religion, language those who went to Africa were jealous of this. A successful black is sought out, investigated but to have anything black people have to remain under the radar if they expect to keep the ”killing” they have made. Lamar is aware, he is awake, not humble about who he is and won’t be humbled/tamed by their devices, blacks are meant to be powerful.
Black people, when will you continue to be hypocrites, this life we are given here was plotted out, planned. Its a game all constructed and in effect for generations. Its petty, there isn’t a real reason for it, black men who are not masculine enough they are to blame because they are not man enough to see through it all or stand up for anything.
The looks that were thought of as nothing, with the new emancipation its possible to see through the facade . They want to kill but instead they select blacks who are look to get rich quick and play them against each other, it was like this in Africa. One kingdom seeking to build while destroying the other. Others before him saw the self hatred, the greed and the need to empower , we celebrate black history when there is nothing really to celebrate. Marcus Garvey tried and blacks destroyed him so like Garvey’s many speeches this song won’t make any changes and another black man will die for nothing and blacks will cry. Its hypocrisy that we cry and know what will bring change but nothing will change. We can do all the black things, blacks are expected to do the calculated things and do them even while being well aware but kill their own.
He has no answers not no solutions, cause but no effect. All is hopeless, we will not be free.
***I didn’t have the time to go over and make corrections so I will do it at some point today and fix the errors. This is a means to strike up a conversation about race here in America***
The Blacker The Berry LYRICS
Kendrick Lamar
Ft: Assassin
Produced By: Boi-1da & Terrace Martin
Verified Annotations By: Michael Chabon
FacebookTwitter Embed Follow
[Produced by Boi-1da & Terrace Martin]
[Intro]
Everything black, I don’t want black
I want everything black, I ain’t need black
Some white, some black, I ain’t mean black
I want everything black
Everything black, want all things black
I don’t need black, want everything black
Don’t need black, Our eyes ain’t black
I own black, own everything black
[Bridge]
Six in the morn’, fire in the street
Burn, baby, burn, that’s all I wanna see
And sometimes I get off watchin’ you die in vain
It’s such a shame they may call me crazy
They may say I suffer from schizophrenia or somethin’
But homie, you made me
Black don’t crack, my nigga
[Verse 1]
I’m the biggest hypocrite of 2015
Once I finish this, witnesses will convey just what I mean
Been feeling this way since I was 16, came to my senses
You never liked us anyway, f**k your friendship, I meant it
I’m African-American, I’m African
I’m black as the moon, heritage of a small village
Pardon my residence
Came from the bottom of mankind
My hair is nappy, my dick is big, my nose is round and wide
You hate me don’t you?
You hate my people, your plan is to terminate my culture
You’re f**kin’ evil I want you to recognize that I’m a proud monkey
You vandalize my perception but can’t take style from me
And this is more than confession
I mean I might press the button just so you know my discretion
I’m guardin’ my feelings, I know that you feel it
You sabotage my community, makin’ a killin’
You made me a killer, emancipation of a real nigga
[Pre-Hook]
The blacker the berry, the sweeter the juice
The blacker the berry, the bigger I shoot
[Hook: Assassin]
I said they treat me like a slave, cah’ me black
Woi, we feel a whole heap of pain, cah’ we black
And man a say they put me in a chain, cah’ we black
Imagine now, big gold chain full of rocks
How you no see the whip, left scars pon’ me back
But now we have a big whip, parked pon’ the block
All them say we doomed from the start, cah’ we black
Remember this, every race start from the block, just remember that
[Verse 2]
Once I finish this, witnesses will convey just what I mean
I mean, it’s evident that I’m irrelevant to society
That’s what you’re telling me, penitentiary would only hire me
Curse me till I’m dead
Church me with your fake prophesizing that I’mma be just another slave in my head
Institutionalize manipulation and lies
Reciprocation of freedom only live in your eyes
You hate me don’t you?
I know you hate me just as much as you hate yourself
Jealous of my wisdom and cards I dealt
Watchin’ me as I pull up, fill up my tank, then peel out
Muscle cars like pull ups, show you what these big wheels ’bout, ah
Black and successful, this black man meant to be special
CAT scans on my radar bitch, how can I help you?
How can I tell you I’m making a killin’?
You made me a killer, emancipation of a real nigga
[Pre-Hook]
[Hook]
[Verse 3]
When I finish this if you listenin’ then sure you will agree
This plot is bigger than me, it’s generational hatred
It’s genocism, it’s grimy, little justification
I’m African-American, I’m African
I’m black as the heart of a f**kin’ Aryan
I’m black as the name of Tyrone and Darius
Excuse my French but f**k you — no, f**k y’all
That’s as blunt as it gets, I know you hate me, don’t you?
You hate my people, I can tell cause it’s threats when I see you
I can tell cause your ways deceitful
Know I can tell because you’re in love with that Desert Eagle
Thinkin’ maliciously, he get a chain then you gone bleed him
It’s funny how Zulu and Xhosa might go to war
Two tribal armies that want to build and destroy
Remind me of these Compton Crip gangs that live next door
Beefin’ with Pirus, only death settle the score
So don’t matter how much I say I like to preach with the Panthers
Or tell Georgia State “Marcus Garvey got all the answers”
Or try to celebrate February like it’s my B-Day
Or eat watermelon, chicken, and Kool-Aid on weekdays
Or jump high enough to get Michael Jordan endorsements
Or watch BET cause urban support is important
So why did I weep when Trayvon Martin was in the street?
When gang banging make me kill a nigga blacker than me?
Hypocrite!

0 thoughts on “THE BLACKER THE BERRY THE SWEETER THE JUICE BY KENDRICK LAMAR DECODED

1. he is one of the only black rapper weh leff that dont get sucked in by the lifestyle…he is first then wale and j cole them kind of lukewarm still

2. One of the best articles you eva wrote i made my son listen to this song and close friends i listen it ova 20 times kendrick is the best

1. Yes he is a very good writer but I hope that those who love rap listen to the words and educate themselves into mental betterment. Its the mind frame Garvey sought to change because he saw that it was lacking in America’s blacks,2015 and aint a thing changed

3. I’m really impressed by this song had always liked Kendrick’s songs I’m even more pleased that Assassin was able to voice on this very liberating thought provoking and eye opening collab GOOD JOB ALL AROUND Metsy

1. Yeah I pray so too but sadly we live in a society where ppl gravitate to the lesser n depraved thinking in life smh

1. Sasco part madd too, who betta than him fi sing di hook..? unless a chronixx, Taurus or protoje….Tell di children di truth *bob marley*

4. Very deep, me a tell u..DEEP TO THE CORE…The message is clear. This is good rap music..We need more like him ina dancehall music too..